We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommend Welk Original Villas (RCI 1540)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Recommend Welk Original Villas (RCI 1540)”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We have come here a number of times, it is a very nice place. Actually, it is 3 different resorts at one address, a large property. There is a VERY significant difference in the 3 resorts.

In the "original villas", RCI 1540, it is very quiet, you can park near your condo, many of which are on the golf course. It is a "home away from home", full kitchen, washer and dryer in all units of this resort. There are only 8 steps up or down, it is single story or two story only, unlike "Villas On The Greens" that can have 30 steps, seems like more, or "Mountain Villas" which is just a big hotel style building. All units are nicely furnished however in "Villas On The Greens" the studio (small "1 bedroom" without a fireplace or a washer and dryer) is quite cramped compared to other units. We do NOT recommend staying in these units. Also, the noise level between units in the VOG is awful compared to the other 2 resorts on this property, the walls are just far too thin, so much so that the TV next door drowned out ours like it was in our own room! :o( Also, the desk where you pick up your parking pass, they will do ANYTHING in their power to get you to go to a presentation, just say NO. It isn't worth the small incentive they give you to go to a presentation. There are a lot of programs for kids of all ages, wine tasting, tours to Hollywood if you are not a CA resident, even Disneyland is somewhat close by. Other than the few major faults (noisy, small VOG and pushy sales) the whole place is one of the nicest timeshares in CA, and the rooms are larger than what you will find along the CA coast, except as noted about Villas On The Greens.

Room Tip: Request villa on the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank OptimistBetrayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    490
    174
    94
    109
See reviews for
744
447
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Our family was invited for a tour of the facilities as potential buyers and were told to bring all of our children. When we arrived and check our children into their play area, I mentioned to the caregiver that our son was high functioning autistic but that he had no issues or problems... I was only telling then this so that they would no question his quirkiness. Instead of being even remotely accomodating, we were informed that they were not "licensed for his kind" and were asked to get him out of the room. Despite the fact that he is in a public school.. takes mainstream classes, and looks and acts pretty much like a "normal kid," we we told to get him out. After this, a manager who checked us in stated that our son should not have been invited, gave us our gifts, and we were told to leave. Open minded? Nope. Accomodating? Nope... ADA report? Hell ya....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank dare60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the mountain villas. By far this was the best time share we have ever stayed at and if we visit San diego again, this will be our first choice. We loved the location in the mountains. It was quiet but within 45 minutes of everything. Temecula is only 20 minutes away if you want get dinner or shop without going into the city. The accomodations are outstanding. Everything was in great condition and spotless. The bed is very comfortable and large. They have a firplace in both the living room and bedroom. The shower was graet and the kitchen perfect. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Valley, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Welk Resorts has everything except a beach. It has two golf courses, several pools(including the state's largest), live theater and a shopping area, including a small market. It even has a local farmer's market with local produce, crafts and international foods. Planned activities are available for both adults and children. It is a reasonable distance from both San Diego zoo complexes, Sea World, Disneyland and Knotts Berry Farm. It is in a rural area, but is also close to cosmopolitan San Diego. Accomodations are beautiful, service is excellent. My husband and I return to Welk often.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annambg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North County San Diego
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We love WELK RESORT! We spent 10 days there in May and really enjoyed all they had to offer. Great pools, great GOLF, great accomodations. Close to San Diego and points North as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancycand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Don't let their marketing trick you into going to preview their resort in exchange for a free vacation somewhere extraordinary. They make a lot of empty promises and won't give you any details until you show up at the resort. We were told we'd get two free flights to Hawaii and 2 nights' free stay, with the option of extending the trip with discounted prices for accommodations, just for showing up and seeing the place and telling our friends about it, with no obligation to buy. At least they can't force you to buy anything, but they try awefully hard to get you to sign up for *something* so that they can then pester you into upgrading. When we didn't sign any contracts, then they told us rather brusquely that our 'free Hawaiian vacation' was a flight late on Tuesday to Hawaii with return early the following Thursday morning, giving one day to spend in Hawaii, and they won't even confirm your travel day or flights until possibly a few weeks in advance. You're also not guaranteed to get the days you request. At this point we said good riddance and never even tried as it sounds like the travel company you have to book through doesn't return calls, won't confirm anything, and requires you to send more money before they even tell you your flight details. The whole thing is a scam. Also beware of where the resort is actually located--it may be several hours' drive from the destination it's advertised to be at, in the middle of nowhere.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
150 Thank xxxx0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This place is lovely. The staff were exceptionally nice and very helpful. The rooms were well maintained.

Unfortunately the weather was not too good for a couple of days but we were quite happy staying in with every amenity you could ask for.

Yes, you do need a car but the beach is about 30 minutes away and I would really recommend visiting Carlsbad and the area is lovely.

There are plenty of shops and restaurants within a 15/30 minute drive and a visit to San Diego Zoo is well worth it.

Please do not be put off by other people's bad reviews - we have travelled a lot and were very happy with the accommodation. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suepurdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
6.4 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
12.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
21.5 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#32 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
16.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Property: Welk Resort San Diego
Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing