We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but a few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place but a few problems”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The wifi was extreme slow to non functional for a hotel of this price range, the staff finally moved me to a new room with a wifi hotspot in the room and it worked ok in the early afternoon, but as soon as the hotel started filling up it slowed down to a crawl also. The housekeeper were a little slack also, I found peanuts on the floor from a previous guest. Also they still have the old school non HD tvs.
Good breakfast and comfortable room overall the staff was sympathetic and understood about the wifi problems. The facility was in the process of updating all the bathrooms which were very nice with new fixtures, granite countertops and marble tiles. Crazy amount of handicap handrails.

Room Tip: Don't get room 122, the pool gate slams and it reverberate in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    138
    45
    21
    13
See reviews for
173
81
30
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, CA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very basic hotel with basic rooms and basic breakfast. It really wasn't bad, just nothing special. But the price was right. My daughter & I enjoyed the hot tub in the evening. The bed was fine but basic. Sheets had a rip in them. Bathroom was very basic and towels were small.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovingsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca East Bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in Escondido because this hotel was run efficiently. It was clean quiet,and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic and had something for everybody to enjoy....Thank you Best Western Escondido!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good price, great location for our other appointments and activies. The Brigintine dinner recomendation with comp sideorder to boot was superb. Thank you. Forgot to mention to the manager that the phone was unpluged and the tub faucet leaked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Escondido H, General Manager at Best Western Escondido Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us. We strive to make your stay comfortable, and assist you in any way that we can. Happy to enjoyed the Brigantine dinner suggestion. Sorry for the hassle of the phone being unplugged. We are in the process of renovating all the bathrooms in the hotel - new tubs, tile, lighting, paint! They looks great! We would love to have you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've travelled to Escondido for many years and found that our reception at the Best Western has always been like returning to a comfortable, clean, home of a favorite relative. The rooms, ammenities, service, breakfasts and hospitality have always been of the highest value. Located within easy access of all the North County and Escondido. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the corner suites are spacious and well appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is right off the freeway, it's clean and the service was nice. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were well kept. Parking was convenient. It was a nice San Diego evening so we left our window open. The back parking lot was a little noisy. The noise wasn't the fault of the hotel, that would be the fault of people just being rude at 2am. Its not like we heard them whispering, no they were yelling up at another window. So all in all the hotel is a good value and I would return & recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having vacationed in California several times now, we have come to believe that Best Western is the most consistently good chain hotel in it's class. This was no exception, and one of the best BW we have stayed in. Very clean and spacious with a king bed in very condition. We just spent one night here while traveling around southern Cal. The breakfast choices were limited but everything was good. It is advertised as a contintental breakfast, which is a fair description. The pool area looked nice, although we did not use it. It is very convenient from the highway, being about half a minute off I-15.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gperr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Escondido H, General Manager at Best Western Escondido Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
You review is important to us, and we thank you for taking the time. We will share your positive experience with our excellent staff. We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel through the Southern California area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#15 of 16 in Escondido
36 reviews
6.4 mi away
Welk Resort San Diego
Welk Resort San Diego
#2 of 16 in Escondido
1,481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Escondido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Escondido Hotel

Property: Best Western Escondido Hotel
Address: 1700 Seven Oakes Rd, Escondido, CA 92026-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Escondido Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel is committed to providing the best in customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. This pet-friendly hotel is located near many area attractions including Iceoplex®, Legoland®, Sea World®, California Center for the Arts, San Diego Zoo Safari Park, several wineries, golfing, fishing, theaters, restaurants and casinos.This Escondido, California hotel offers thoughtfully-appointed guest rooms, including two-room suites and family suites, each with free high-speed wireless Internet, microwave, refrigerator and cable television with 75 channels including HBO® and ESPN®. Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning with hot waffles. Additional amenities include a business center, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.For superior customer service and a very convenient location in Escondido, California, make a reservation at this great hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Escondido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Escondido
Escondido Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing