We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel Mediteran
Nearby Hotels
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Escondido Hotel(Escondido)(Great Value!)
$133
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$102
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escondido Lodge(Escondido)
$97
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Escondido Inn(Escondido)
$69
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
185
126
21
8
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
126
21
8
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari parkstone breweryhard boiled eggscontinental breakfastroom was cleanfree wifiwaffle makersan diegostay there againmicrowave and fridgeyogurta great place to stayup to datestayed one nightper nighteasy accessnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 365 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Was here in October on my way to San Diego and-wow,i was really surprised to find such a pearl.The Motel seems like it is totally remodeled,the rooms are very clean and the bathroom/shower is like in a better and more expensive Hotel.Was really the best motel on my three week trip and i enjoyed it.Staff was also very friendly and helpful.Thank you!!!!!!AAAAAA+

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sportsterking666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Its about 30 mins drive from Seaworld
Pleasant stay ...small rooms with nice decor but incredibly small rest rooms.
we had fresh muffins and fruits for Breakfast ... friendly front desk
good bargain since I paid 140$ for 3 days.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumar864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I am a frequent traveler, making about 10 to 15 trips per year, mostly preferring hotels / motels under $100 per night. Most of them are a plain or sometimes a pain experience.

But Motel Mediteran pleasantly surprised me with an excellent customer service, spacious and clean room, great bed and bath.

The staff need a special mention. They were very courteous and helpful, especially the gentleman who is the manager at the night.

All in all I am thoroughly impressed with the stay. Would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vr_ganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

- For $50/weeknight not a bad deal if you can deal with the fact that it's a motel.
- Would've rated cleanliness higher but found parts of a dead insect on the bed.
- On a noisy boulevard so if you're light sleeper this may pose a problem.
- The a/c created smoke and fire alarm went off.
- Free continental breakfast is just that.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I have to preface this review by saying that it really seems like the owners are trying their best to make this as nice as they can. However, given the fact that the room rates are quite low, there's only so much you can expect. As long as you set your expectations correctly, this place is fine - and would be a good option for certain travelers. Another note is that I believe there is a fairly wide variety of rooms available (from single queens to king suites), and our experience with one type of room might not translate to the other types of rooms.

We booked a two night stay at this motel through a reservation site that masks the name of the facility. The rate on that site was actually higher than any of the other rates offered through normal booking sites. I believe the star rating on that site was inflated, and would not have reserved the hotel directly. The motel does have some amenities you wouldn't expect at a typical "motel", but they don't make up for some basic comforts.

The room we got was in the rear section of the property, which is a one-story, roadside (1-star) motel sort of structure. Ours was the very last room next to the wall dividing the motel from the adjacent adult bookstore and club/lounge in the neighboring parking lot. Although the wall was tall enough that you couldn't see over it, it was somewhat disturbing for us, a couple travelling with a young child, to be next door to this kind of establishment. The good thing about the room was that it only had one connecting room, and the bathroom and closet were the only adjoining pieces (so if you closed the bathroom and closet doors, there was no audible noise from the adjoining room).

The room itself was very small (10 x 15). It had a poor quality mattress with squeaky springs, and the typical hotel bedding with comforter. The room was recently repainted, which was nice, and had a decent looking headboard and wall hanging. There was also a small nightstand, a small round table with two heavy chairs, a 'micro-fridge", and a TV on a stand that looked like it was from the 1980s (scuffs and all). Most of the furniture was in decent shape, except for the TV stand. The TV was okay, maybe 27 inches, but the remote had duct tape holding the battery door. There was also a large wall-unit A/C which did not have thermostat. You could only turn it to heat/fan/cool, but it would run the entire time. The most frustrating thing was that we had nowhere to put our luggage and still have walking room.

The bathroom was way too small as well - 4 x 4, not including a shower stall. There was no place to put toiletries. I made the mistake of setting something on the toilet tank lid. Since it was slightly rounded, my item ended up on the floor. There was only one towel bar and no hook on the door. This made it very hard to get ready in the mornings. They did have a hairdryer, though. When we first arrived, the toilet was actually a little dirty. There was a little strip that said "Sanitized" on the toilet - yet there were brown marks next to the flushing handle, and a black shoe print on the lid itself. Thank goodness I carry Lysol wipes.

My husband did take our son to the pool for the first time at this motel. It seemed nice enough and clean. Also, we did use the free Wi fi to access the internet. Those were two positives. The breakfast is nothing special - just typical continental.

All in all, this isn't the type of place I would choose to stay at in the future. There was just too little space for me to feel comfortable. But, that's just my personal preference. If you are on a tight budget and are expecting a typical "motel" experience, this place will be great for you. However, if you're expecting a slightly higher level of comfort, you should look elsewhere. Just make sure you understand what you're booking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews