We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Pleasant Experience”
Review of Motel Mediteran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel Mediteran
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The nice lady behind the counter asked that I review them on TripAdvisor and Yelp - but I had intended to anyway.

This motel is no frills, comfortable, quiet, clean - - and the next day I realized, friendly. It is interesting how a "Have a Nice Day" goes a long way. I booked the motel through Priceline, was looking for just one night's stay - as I had an early morning exam in San Diego and I was coming from LA.

The checkin was lightning fast which was awesome because I really had to pee after my drive. I also needed to study, and the place was very quiet and comfortable. Four large fluffy pillows that I propped up, with the flatscreen TV on low volume. Slept like a baby with a cool breeze wafting in my open window. Again, no sound even though I know there were residents right next door.

Next morning I discovered they had guest laundry facilities, which I took advantage of. Saw the grounds better, clean, green, well manicured lawns about. Price for laundry on par, no taking advantage. Had single use detergent and dryer sheets for purchase if interested.

Went for my free coffee and muffins, which really hit the spot. Again, nothing fancy but very comforting and good. Coffee fresh. I waited a bit to talk to someone about wi fi, as I was not able to get on the night before. She apologized and said there was a password. As I left with my coffee, she said "Have a Nice Day" with sincerity... I know, I know. It's ridiculous that this should not be a staple in customer service, but it isn 't.

Finally, when I checked out, she was concerned that I only had the small room. I was unaware, but I really didn't care. It was perfect, which I told her. It was so quiet and comfy it was just what the doctor ordered.

I plan on being back to hit some breweries. This is where I will stay, no doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bombshellbrewnuttes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 358 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for two nights.
Close to the SD Safaripark, which was the reason to book here.
It's about a 15 minutes drive to the park.
Room is not big and not small, just good. Queensize beds seem to be the smallest version, so even with a child next to you a little crammed.
Only thing that felt somewhat uncomfortable was that the room itself was a bit dark, but I guess this is what a motel is like, so not a dealbreaker.
Swimmingpool is a large bathtub, don't get your hopes up, but enough to cooldown.
Close to lots of fastfood-chains, gasstation next door. Neighboorhood felt rather safe.
Clean and well maintained.
Friendly owners, although a bit chaotic at times, for me this just enhanced the family-feel.
If you're really organised and picky, like the autistic kind, you might become nervous ;-).
Breakfast was the biggest surprise; wafflemaker was fun for the kid and overall great variety, also for those who came in late.
I guess you can't find much better, considering their rates it's a real good deal.

Room Tip: For parking next to your door, groundfloor. For no stamping feet above you, choose second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CeeGeeBeeBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My granddaughters and I came up to visit San Diego Safari Park. This hotel was nice and clean, very nice staff and wonderful continental breakfast! Safari Park only about 6 minutes away. Will stay again! Thanking you for the good experience!

Room Tip: get a room on the 2nd floor. good view of property and parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Nice and clean motel run by a very pleasant lady. Good size rooms. Continental breakfast was good. Convenient location, about half an hour drive from San Diego airport close to I-15. Grocery store and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is phenomenal. I got lost looking for it and one of the owners guided me in. When I arrived I was greeted with a smile and and spotless room. I could gush for hours or I could just say GO THERE!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Excellent service and sweetness of the owner. She gave us ideas for the kids activities as well as making me a smoothie to try! She made the stay feel warm and family friendly. I was there with my mom, neice and her daughter as well as my two girls. The rooms were clean and decent. We stayed on the bottom floor which was best for my mom (age 81) and right next to the breakfast. The kids loved the breakfast - it had everything from waffles, dry cereal, oatmeal, juice, hard-boiled eggs.... The owners were very accepting of me and my family and i thank her for making our stay to Escondido a nice one. (DSL en anglais - utilisez google translator..)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frenchcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
4.1 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Escondido Lodge
Escondido Lodge
#8 of 16 in Escondido
59 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Escondido
Super 8 Escondido
#14 of 16 in Escondido
254 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Mediteran

Address: 2336 S Escondido Blvd, Escondido, CA 92025-7028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: $54 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Mediteran 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A independant motel with Franchise Quality...you will be impressed. Your home away from home. All newly renovated and Furnished 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Mediteran Hotel Escondido
Mediteran Hotel Escondido
Mediteran Motel Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing