We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying hard”
Review of Motel Mediteran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel Mediteran
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place has absolutely no curb appeal and from the outside looks like a tacky "no-tell, motel" but they have really done some work on the interiors. I wanted a decent place to stay for a 4 night business trip and the rates on a "king size suite" were very attractive. Unfortunately, it was not a suite as I expected (kitchen area, living room area) but a "spa suite" which meant they had spent a considerable amount of money turning the bathroom into a nicely tiled room with large jacuzzi tub and television. The bath room was about the same size as the bedroom, which was smaller than an average American hotel room. Very clean, great bed, everything worked well, just quite a bit smaller than I'd imagined for a "suite". Great price for what you get, though. The breakfast is one of the lamest I have ever seen - cheap muffins, cornflakes, bad coffee and hard boiled eggs in the reception area. I didn't bother eating there but wasn't counting on it anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bushey_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Motel Mediteran
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 350 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Absolutely the worst Motel ever. The room was nothing like the pictures on the site. When we checked in there were cobwebs in the corners even though the maid had just cleaned in there. I brought this discrepancy to the manager and refused to accept the room. He then charged me a day of rental to go somewhere else that would guarantee a clean room. The continental breakfast included cereal that hung on the office wall and a hard boiled egg. Don't waste your money.

Room Tip: Wouldn't stay there.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 733navvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Was greatly impressed with this motel. Can't beat the price, $55 for a king room, which was spotless, newly renovated, in fact, the bathroom was so clean it seemed brand new. There was a desk, free wi-fi, mini fridge, microwave, and a small table with 2 chairs in the room too. Had more amenities than many of the major chains. Also included, a continental breakfast, was great. Waffles you made to order, fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, coffee, hardboiled eggs, etc.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Was on the edge of the city, but that wasn't a problem for us. Close to the San Diego Wild Animal Park....I would recommend this to EVERYONE. Glad we chose to stay at the Motel Mediteran.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jentsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have stayed there a few times over the past few years (as have other family members). Not fancy, but it is clean and quiet and comfortable. There is a pretty decent continental breakfast for a two-star motel. It has free wi-fi. Not luxurious, but but a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shastabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is the best motel I've stayed on my trip in California. You get so much for the price.
Big clean rooms with an aircon, fridge and microwave!
Friendly Staff
and the best is the breakfast I've had in America: fresh waffles, toast, bagles, fruits, orange juice, jam, cream cheese, coffee,...
The way to the city is not too bad. It takes about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I rented my mom a room here for her visit while I was working in the area. We were completely pleased overall with the whole experience. And my mom used to be the manager of an award winning hotel. The room was clean the staff was friendly and helpful. And it was affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

About 35-40 minutes inland from the coast, Motel Mediteran is about five minutes from the I-15. Stayed here for four days with really no complaints. Staff was friendly and accommodating, room was clean, and the area seemingly safe. 40" TV, fridge, freezing-cool A/C, microwave, iron/board on request.

Get up early for the breakfast if possible, as it gets a little crowded and cramped in the small lobby. Also hope they get a second waffle-maker :-).

As for bed-bugs, we saw no indication of them in our room (105). Though we shall see in a few days... Always take quarantine precautions whenever possible with clothing/blankets, etc.

We will definitely consider this again next time I'm out to San Diego.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escondido hotels
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
4.1 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Escondido Lodge
Escondido Lodge
#9 of 16 in Escondido
57 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Escondido
Super 8 Escondido
#12 of 16 in Escondido
249 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#14 of 16 in Escondido
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Mediteran

Address: 2336 S Escondido Blvd, Escondido, CA 92025-7028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: $62 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Mediteran 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A independant motel with Franchise Quality...you will be impressed. Your home away from home. All newly renovated and Furnished 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Mediteran Hotel Escondido
Mediteran Hotel Escondido
Mediteran Motel Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing