We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of On the Border

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
On the Border
Ranked #143 of 340 Restaurants in Escondido
Restaurant details
Arizona
Level Contributor
312 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Easy access off the freeway. Went for lunch and was not crowded at all. Great service and the food was also very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonkArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

It's always busy but the food is so so. Nothing real original or risky but nothing disastrous either. Nice decor and somewhat attentive service. My plate was a cheese enchilada flank steak done rare. Came out fine.

Good for a happy hour or during a long run at the mall where it is located.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scapegoat51b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
217 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Mexican chain food - if that's what you're after”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had never been to On the Border and decided to give it a try. We're always looking for good Mexican food. The place is open, high ceilings, well lit and casual comfortable. The music playing was not Mexican but 70's-80's Classic Rock - a curious choice. It could be because there is a large bar area separate from the dining room. The service was great. Our waitress was prompt, attentive and had a good sense of humor. The chips and salsa were a little different -- the chips are a half tortilla and the salsa is served in individual bowls, probably because everybody re-dips. The chips were so-so for freshness and flavor. We tried the beer-battered fish tacos and thought they were OK as were the black beans and rice. Overall the food was just OK. I probably will try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocks_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Happy Hour and The Game”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great happy hour prices, good food and great service. Was their with a kid that ordered a bean and cheese burrito which came out with sauce and she is anti sauce. Our fault for not asking for no sauce, they didn't even flinch took and remade her a new one.

Highly recommend and will go again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing