We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent sandwiches”
Review of Hungry Bear Sub Shop - CLOSED

Hungry Bear Sub Shop
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Escondido, California
1 review
“excellent sandwiches”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The sandwiches are huge and ingredients are fresh. Great local place to grab a quick meal.
Tasty treats!! Been coming here for a couple years now and continue enjoying the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mo-local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Center, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stand-out Subs”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Sub shops are everywhere and a generic OK sandwich is easy to find, but you really have to be a standout to survive the competition. Hungry Bear Sub Shop definitely stands out--I don't know why anyone would go to any other sub shop after eating there.

The giant wall menu alone takes 10 minutes to look over, SO many choices. They have steak subs, burger subs, and breakfast subs also. The 6 egg hickory smoked bacon & cheese omelet sub sounded phenomenal but I had to postpone that for another hungrier day. My husband just ordered a Greek chicken salad and I wondered why the guy asked if we wanted anything else. I found out why--the salad was huge, we could easily have split it.

The man at the register was very patient with my not-so-quick response at making all these on-the-spot decisons--bread or roll? Type of bread, size of sandwich, type of sandwich, which cheese, which toppings, dressing? 3 or 4 types of peppers. Chips? Drink? Which one and what size? I almost got the chicken cordon bleu sub, but decided last minute on white albacore tuna instead, which was delicious. The bread is baked fresh daily, was very soft not hard and heavy. There's a plethora of toppings and the regular (not giant) size sub was big enough to swallow me. A great variety of refrigerated stock teas, lemonade, etc. The only thing I would like them to change would be to offer larger sizes of potato chip bags. The tiny bags offered would barely take up any room in a 3rd grader's lunch box. They need to provide more substantial sizes to last through the gargantuan sandwiches. Food, service, all A+.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank itropicbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best sub in town. ”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Hungry Bear several times. The people that work there are great.....but the food is not. will not go back.

Helpful?
Thank Judi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Family size subs- but you'll eat it all”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great local place. They are super friendly and the menu is outstanding. The subs are pricey- but they are huge (two meals worth each). Fresh and very tasty. They are all custom made and there is always a short line to order. There is seating inside and outside on the patio. Look for coupons for free drink and chips in the local papers. Go here and eat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SterlingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Everyone is always very nice here! They have great options, and really good Sandwiches. I usually get a large and split it in half. Everything here is always fresh, would definitely recommend stopping by for a bite!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing