We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Vintana Wine + Dine
Reserve with OpenTable
Vintana Wine + Dine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 341 Restaurants in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: I-15 Freeway
Description: Located on the Penthouse Level of the Lexus Centre of Escondido, Vintana offers a modern take on California Cuisine and picturesque views of the Escondido town and countryside.
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went for our anniversary and came away very pleased. The ceviche tostada is outstanding. Service was very god. Try to sit in the upper row of booths where the noise is a little lower.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveTignor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    107
    56
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food in a very different setting!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our first time eating inside a Lexus dealership but what an experience. We went with great friends and really enjoyed the food and hospitality we received. The food is very fresh and prepared exactly the way you want. I specifically asked for a healthier preparation of the fish using olive oil and that was not a problem at all. The server knew each dish and was more than happy to explain the ingredients. She visited the right number of times too. Lastly, Cynthia Peterson, the manager, was very gracious and checked in a few times to make sure the wine was superb and the dinner was prepared well. Many thanks to her for making our experience incredible. Looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScubaDiver9184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Different Venue - Great View, Service and Food!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I've done a fair amount of travel in my 61 years and I was raised in Philadelphia, a city with many great and unusual restaurants. As such, I've experienced first-class wining and dining in many different cities and countries.

However, Vintana in Escondido has to be one of the most architecturally dramatic venues for a restaurant I've ever experienced. It's a high-end eatery and watering hole perched on the entire penthouse level of a multistory luxury auto dealership. At first blush, it doesn't sound like "linguine and Lexus" would work, but it does... in spades!

I met some friends there for cocktails and appetizers.

I arrived first and pulled my rental car (I was on a business trip) up and around the formal circular drive (colored fountains and all) in front of the main entrance to the Lexus dealership. A courtesy valet takes your car and sure enough, next thing you are walking through a very dramatic multistory glass lobby with new cars displayed for sale on either side. It all has a very Daniel Craig-as-the-new-James-Bond feeling to it. I'm getting a bit more resigned and cynical as I age, however, I was genuinely getting excited to see Vintana itself.

A large all-glass and stainless steel elevator whisks you from the ground floor and opens up in the sitting area for the formal bar. The host station for the formal dining room is to your left and the bar and outdoor patio are to your right.

The decor does not disappoint. I must have wandered around for 6 or 7 minutes sizing up the place. Although very large square footage wise, the overall space has been broken up to flow tastefully from one experience to the next.

There are distinctly different spaces including alfresco dining outdoors on the patio, a formal bar with a huge supply of high-end booze, wines, and beers, a very cozy sitting area that's great for conversation, a large reception/training room (may be shared with the dealership??), a retail store area with wines and gourmet items, a formal dining room with broad expanses of glass looking out over Escondido, and a snappy looking private dining room that would be great for corporate or private functions.

My friends arrived a little late, but we immediately ordered Cosmo martinis, which were very well made and not chintzy on the pour. These cocktails were followed by a couple of rounds of house Merlot, which was quite good.

None of us had eaten, so we decided to order up some appetizers. We had Darrens Belly Roll (sushi), Chorizo Mussels, Mexican Prawns, and Lobster Bisque soup (wow!). It was all beautifully presented and delicious. Portions were on the slightly smallish side, however, we thoroughly enjoyed each item that was served.

Throughout our 2 1/2 hours in the bar lounge, there was very nice soft music piped in and the servers were very friendly, professional, and attentive. Vintana is well staffed, so you shouldn't have to wait long for attention :)

Food and drink prices are on the high side, but not unreasonable given the venue overhead and level of service.

Dressy casual would be the appropriate attire.

I'll definitely return and would love to attend a private function there.

Just a great place to meet friends, enjoy a special night out, or to host a business meal. Hat's off the the Cohens who operate several distinctive eateries around San Diego County. You really got it right with Vintana... a memorable experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SamKephart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The Cohn Family does it again!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Not only does each Cohn restaurant hit the mark as far as service an excellence from the kitchen but each place they own is a lot of fun. So it goes with Vintana, which of course, brings to mind Ventana, a favorite in the Big Sur Area for decades. Vintana is new and fresh and such a delight to visit. Yes, in keeping with 333 at the beach in Oceanside, there are over 100 vodkas to choose from and the happy hour prices are very reasonable. When you enter, there is an intoxicating aroma of leather as you pass by deep and comfy leather sofas to enjoy and racks and racks of wonderful wines to choose from. They even have some very reasonable take away wines at $10 and even less. The entire place is basically a window table but we were whisked away to one right on a window with the hills of Escondido and the 15 freeway and the best view of all the new Lexus vehicles as the restaurant partnered with the very stylish Escondido Lexus Dealership in a most inventive way. Put this all together with some of the most tasty and beautifully presented food in North County and that is why we have been back 3 times and are proud to invite our friends. OK so go for the Lobster Bisque or the Chorizo Mussels (no lie, they are to die for) Fish and Chips are so very different and so good. Whatever Chef Deborah is serving up as a special is always good too. Then just go crazy for the Mud Pie, the old fashioned way...mmmm good. Our last visit we had a face to face with co-owner Lesley Cohn and she is such a delight. The Cohn's are true professionals as each of their restaurants have staffs that are well trained, and give excellent service and the kitchens are superior in quality and taste. Go there...you will be happy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in unique setting”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Friends suggested this attractive restaurant. Didn't know what to expect walking entering via a colorful fountain complete with music ( very "las Vegas" style) through the Lexus dealership but found the restaurant very attractive, service, food great and a panoramic view of Escondido area. Our waiter (and his assitants) were knowledgeable about food choices and wine and very attentive to our needs and requests! We brought our own wine and paid the corkage fee as we had some great wine to share; so can not speak about the restaurant wine list or drinks. My husband and I shared the mussels for appetizer which were tender and in a delicious sauce with chirizo. Popovers were served with the appetizers with a wonderful butter sauce. They were very good but would have liked them a bit warmer. Our friends had the Brie appetizer which they thought was very good also. For main dishes, I had the trout and my husband had the bison ribs. Both very good, perpared perfectly and presented attratively. Our friends had the trio and salmon which also were excellent. For dessert we all shared the mud pie which was delicious!!! Would definitely recommend this restaurant when in this area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintana Wine + Dine also viewed

 

Been to Vintana Wine + Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing