We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cenote never disappoints”
Review of Cenote Grill

Cenote Grill
Ranked #2 of 341 Restaurants in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cenote never disappoints”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

In a vote by diners in San Diego County, Cenote won best Mexican food. Who needs to hear more? Not your everyday TexMex, but unique dishes with less fat and more flavor ( not just chili, but actual flavor) . Quality ingredients and exceptional talent in the kitchen add up to a fun eating experience. My favorites are the Shrimp Modelo and the fish tacos, though lately the taquitos are working their way up my list. My husband can't resist the Cenote Burrito, wet with extra cheese. Small dining area so be prepared to wait a bit on weekends, but well worth the wait. They are also open for lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    50
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We love this neighborhood bistro - great Mexican style food at great prices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bonnetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good, fresh food”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Very good Mexican food in a little, clean strip mall. Wish they had a full bar. The wine margaritas are yucky. Sangria is good though.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank KACVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mexican Hideaway”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have been going to El Cenote (The Sink Hole) for years and always had a great meal. There is a short wait now that the word is spreading, but it is worth every minute. Great daily specials in a small intimate restaurant. Enjoy this treasure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsteinerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
213 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We tried Cenote based on several good reviews. The restaurant is clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful and the menu had many choices. We should have been suspicious immediately, however; the chips were stale and the red and green salsas were uninspired. Second, there were no Latino customers or staff. I had the three sope dinner (beef, chicken, pork). The meat was OK but the beans and rice were flavorless and lettuce was piled for inches over the meat. The sopes were overcooked and hard. It was really a case of the small amount of meat being hidden in a salad. My wife had a combo plate of fish taco, enchilada and chile relleno. The fish was good but was overwhelmed with topings so it could not be picked up. The chile and enchilada were overcooked. They must be able to do better but we were not impressed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocks_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenote Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cenote Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing