We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another little gem.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of California Avocado Grill

California Avocado Grill
Ranked #83 of 338 Restaurants in Escondido
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: San Diego North County's Ultimate Restaurant for Avocado Lovers is NOW OPEN in Historic Downtown Escondido. California Avocado Grill offers a variety of California Cuisine highlighted with fresh avocados. Come try our Crab Stuffed Avocado on the Half Shell, Guacamole, Chicken Avocado Cashew Salad, Curry Thai Tacos or Custom made Avocado Pistachio Ice Cream on one of our two outdoor patios or in our main dining room along with our select wine and unique craft beers. We look forward to serving you!
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Another little gem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Now we didn't sample everything but what we did was delicious. The small tortilla soup as a side dish with our main was packed with fresh ingredients including the freshest tastiest avocado I have ever had. Guacomole likewise was fresh and tasty. The burgers had real beef. Bun was a little soft however. The avocado caprese sandwich was very good.

The restaurant is run by the family that has the farm that supplies the avo's hence the emphasis on avocado that is fresh and tasty. Not sure what happens when they are not in season? They sell avocado oil from the restaurant as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great refreshing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We enjoyed the guacomole and chips, shrimp cilantro salad, and caprese sandwich. All of the items were delicious, Very pleasant wait staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique and a Must For Avacado Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

California Avacado Grill is located in the heart of downtown Escondido. This little restaurant is charming, causual and full of delicious avacado creations. They have a great bar and wine selection to completment their menu. Have you ever had avacado pistachio homemade ice cream? It is excellent!!!! Avacado chicken cashew salad made with local fresh salad greens...excellent! Sit out on the front street side patio on a Friday night and take in Escondido's delightful Cruising Grand. This charming restaurant is ideal for couples, family/friends and small special events.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kelleyfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small But Special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Enjoy the freshness, varied spices, and savory blends, that are added to each dish: my favorites are both the unique tacos, all the sloppy good burgers, and the ​grilled avocado caprese sandwich... the little salad, or soup you get with most are a treat as well... the unique avocado pistachio ice cream is my pick for those who have to have dessert.

This is a small mom & pop type place, so don't expect anything large or extravagant, but everything is kept very clean, and brightly decorated, with lots of 'al fresco' seating, which I like... the Owner, Alex MacLachlan is often on premises too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Avocado Lovers Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Delicious sandwiches, salads, and soups. Everything includes avocados to make the meal a true Southern California treat. Friendly services and casual bar atmosphere. Outdoor seating plentiful in back. Also European style sidewalk ambiance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LutheranLadySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Avocado Grill also viewed

 

Been to California Avocado Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing