We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring for a Caravan experience”

San Diego Zoo Safari Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
San Diego Zoo Safari Park
Ranked #1 of 54 things to do in Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Step into an adventure like no other at the San Diego Zoo Safari Park! Your exciting safari experience includes seeing herds of rhinos, giraffes, antelope, zebras, and more roaming natural habitats, a choice of guided safari expeditions, and beautiful walking trails to see exotic animals. Come experience the excitement of getting up close and personal with rare Sumatran tigers at Tiger Trail, the Safari Park's newest experience!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Midland, MI
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Spring for a Caravan experience”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Attempts to make this park more interactive are pretty successful, but the prices have gone up. Still, it is a very, very worthwhile excursion for all ages. This zoo is a breeding facility, and there are lots of young animals of various species. The grazing animals can be seen in a vast plains area, unlike other zoos. The best way to do this is to pay $90 a ticket for a two-hour caravan ride. Groups are small (15 people tops) and you travel in the rear of a shaded, open-bed truck. Water is provided, and its pretty comfortable. Get out your cameras, because you are right there in with the animals. My family has done this twice. The most recent time, we hit the jackpot -- our group was able to feed Rothschild giraffes and Greater One-Horned White Rhinos, both endangered species. I never thought I'd touch a rhino much less feed one! (the giraffes can't be touched, but you can feel their tongues when they reach for the leaves you are feeding them. Cool!) As the weather gets warmer, the earliest morning or very late afternoon rides are when the animals are most active.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Opinion8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,020
    700
    233
    89
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
173 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very Nice But Not Cheap”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I guess it is true what they say, you get what you pay for. The Safari Park is a departure from the normal zoo scene in that the animals are not shut up in tight restrictive cages but have an opportunity to stretch their legs a bit. The plains type herd animals have a very large area, sans iron bars, where they can intermingle, feed and breed. Please wear comfortable walking shoes, hat, camera and sunscreen as you'll get plenty of opportunities to stretch your legs too. Costs are a bit on the high side. Parking is $10 per car, entry into the park is a little over $40 per person (though this does include a tram ride around the park), a specialty drink from a refreshment stand is over $9. More interactive tours include the 2-hour animal feeding opportunity at $95 per person. You can see how this could rapidly add up for a family. Bathrooms are plentiful and clean.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ammochief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Trip to Southern California”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Was very impressed with this venue. A very different experience from the zoo. Loved the Afrian Tram! More educational then I thought it would be. The guide really knew her stuff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So long Wild Animal Park”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I use to love this place but once the park was changed to a Safari theme, it lost its charm. Gone is the exceptional monorail ride, replaced with a cheesy large golf cart type tram. It covers so much less of the park and the ride is no longer included with admission. No longer a member due to the changes

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ChampagneGirl0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Get ready to take a long walk just to see different animals”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Visited this zoo thinking all animals would be quite close to each other, but for every 5 different species, you had to walk a great amount to see. I was only in the city for a couple of days, and didn't want to spend half of my time there taking a long walk to see different animals. I made my way down to the lion's enclosure, but when I got there, they were so far from sight.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shasta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Zoo Safari Park also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Zoo Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing