We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience San Diego Zoo Safari Park
from $54.00
More Info
from $91.00
More Info
from $86.40
More Info
from $39.00
More Info
Reviews (3,644)
Filter reviews
3,476 results
Traveler rating
2,343
752
242
90
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,343
752
242
90
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheetah run tram ride african tram african safari bird show caravan tour zip line giraffes and rhinos tiger exhibit cart safari roar and snore african animals natural environment endangered species hot air balloon baby gorilla conservation efforts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,476 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We have been Keeper's Club Members the last few years and enjoy being able to go anytime to the Park and spend as much or as little time there as we want. Living in Escondido also helps with ease of getting there.

Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This place is fantastic. It is easy to get to and the parking is ample and close by. The park is huge and there is an awful lot to see here. The exhibits are wonderful and it is so nice to see these animals in their natural habitat. A lot of effort has clearly gone into planning it to be that way. The safari tram is a must do. It is phenomenal and bring your video camera. The people here are extremely nice and there are a ton of volunteers all over the place willing to help out and show you how to get some place. The only criticism I would have is that there is a long distance in between exhibits at times where there was nothing to see and sometimes there were dead ends we had to back track and waste time to get to another exhibit. But overall it is a must do if you are anywhere near San Diego.

Thank L9829FUjeffk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We loved every minute of our day here. It was a close drive from our condo in Escondido.
We stayed until 3:30pm to see the panther run. What a treat!

Thank JBernard20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Absolutely fantastic place to go to with anyone and everyone! So glad we visited. Very interesting and informative. The tram tour was great.

Thank PHILLYPHAZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well worth the drive out of the city. Herds of elephants, giraffe, rhinos. No cages, mother animals with new babies roaming freely. Amazing giant cassowaries in the new Australia exhibit, and a mob of kangaroos you can walk right up to. Good food too! You can see what Kenya &Tanzania are like without the long flight!

Thank Renatte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not crowded on Friday this week. Plenty of exhibits and animals. We walked the entire park to get to the safari tram. Worth the twenty minute walk each way. Guide was knowledgeable and saw a lot of animals. No kids with us, but definitely for kids.

Thank Mora1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Based on the reviews we almost didn't go to the Safari Park. I'm so glad we did.
There was so much to see! We ended up arriving later and spent 5 hours here but we only saw half the park so we came back the next day to see the other half.

I love the variety of things to see and do. We took strolls in the several gardens that they had. We petted a wallaby. Watched the cheetah run. Our daughter had fun in the little splash pad area. Along with the variety of animals to see.

It can get pricey if you add all the activities but will the tram that goes through the park you don't really need to add any of the caravans on. We ended up doing the hot air balloon, which was nice to see the park from up top.

I would suggest wearing comfortable shoes because it is quite a trek through the park. Also looking up deals online because we bought tickets 15 dollars off before heading here, and those savings can add up.

And a big plus is everyone here is so friendly and informative.

2  Thank Jonathon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impression was not the best - you have to pay $15 for parking before the heavy $54 admission (per ticket). We took the pill. After that we had a pleasant experience. Personally I found that it was the best zoo I have ever visited. The bird show was great (not something you would expect). Ditto for the Cheetah run, the gorillas, giraffes, elephants, shuttle ride... Okay it was a bit expensive, but there were only two of us, and at least we think that the money was used to help in the preservation of the animals and their close-to-nature habitat. Well done.

1  Thank Jeanmarc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were particularly interested in the “Cheetah Safari Experience” that we had head about from a friend that saw this a few years ago and it was the real reason that we took the long ride out there for San Diego. Be aware, that it is at least a 30 minutes car ride (no traffic) from the San Diego Zoo, which means about a $50 rideshare each way. We did both in one day because we started very early at the San Diego Zoo, but for regular people I would recommend to spend one day at one venue and a different day at the other.

Cheetah Safari Experience - This is the primary reason that we sent to this the San Diego Safari Park and it did not disappoint. You can pay for this experience as you enter the park, but the number of attendants are limited to about 30 people from when we could see. This is at an area where the public is allowed and will congregate for the cheetah run, but you do get to sit right next to the action and have animal presentations just for you. before and after the cheetah run. We got to see a Caracal before the cheetah run and then we got to see the Cheetah after her runs, both up close and personal. There is no substitute for this experience alone, but you will also be feet away from a 100 yard cheetah run as they chase a toy pulled by a high speed pulls system. Today, the cheetah ran the course in 5.7 seconds and just fee away from us. We actually got to see it twice as the cheetah was up for a second run, which was only 5.9 seconds. It is a one of a kind experience and worth every cent. YOU WILL HAVE TO BUY A PARK PASS IN ADDITION TO THE COST OF THE CHEETAH SAFARI EXPERIENCE, SO BUDGET ACCORDINGLY. We did not have time nor a great amount of interest after this experience, as we were there late in the day and had plans with friends for dinner. The experience itself lasts about an hour or so and is very educational for all ages.

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and the food and drink in the park is acceptable, but beware...THE ONLY DIET COKE IN THE ENTIER PARK IS DECAFFEINATED. We were not happy about that twist and no one could explain why this was the case. Personal complaint that may not even affect you.

1  Thank blulou03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Safari Park has plenty of beautiful animals! Be prepared to walk, it's a massive property. We had lunch at the the Water Hole above the Kiijami Overlook. We felt like we were experiencing Africa, watching so many different species co-existing , cage free, in the same space.

1  Thank Brooke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews