We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the Chicken Milanese -- with Polenta and Arrugula -- unbelievably good.”

Via Italia Trattoria
Ranked #107 of 295 Restaurants in Encinitas
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between D & E Street
Transit: Coaster train Station is right behind the restaurant. If you are coming from San Diego downtown or Oceanside is the best transportation! Check the schedule at http://www.gonctd.com/coaster
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try the Chicken Milanese -- with Polenta and Arrugula -- unbelievably good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

And the wines available behind the bar are excellent as well. Needless to say the service is always quick and friendly. A very good choice in Encinitas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    4
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but not stellar. No regrets about eating here.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Food was enjoyable but not stellar. Service acceptable but not fantastic. Atmosphere noisy and drafty. I am happy I ate here, but not eager to return. Fish was very fresh and enjoyable; minestrone was tasteless. Veggies and seafood soup were very good. Squash ravioli was ejoyable. Dinner for two with wine = $120.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

As a party of 4, we had a calzone, 2 pizzas and a plate of fresh rigatoni with chicken, sun-dried tomatoes and a brandy-wine sauce. The meals were terrific (we shared everything). It was quite obvious that this place has a knowledgeable kitchen, as well as a dedicated serving staff. Don't miss this spot in Encinitas if you like well-prepared and reasonably-priced Italian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Syvde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Italian Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Cozy atmosphere and friendly waiters make this as good as the food served. Great dishes and all home made pasta. Nice bar area over looking the Encinitas main drag. Have not had dinner here yet but will since lunch was great and the dinner menu looks even better. Celebrating 40 years together and the bartender gave us some free champagne. Nice people.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

On our way from Del Mar to Las Vegzas we wanted to have some nice seafood for dinner while we were along the coast and while driving we spotted their big seafood sign so we stopped for dinner. We were very pleased at the quality of the food. The Italian gentleman who we pressumed was the owner seemed to be always in a rush. He could have taken a little bit more time to exchange pleasantries with his guests afterall he is in the hospitality business but other than this minor pr flaw, the food was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linrabCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Italia Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Via Italia Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing