We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killer food -super good deal”
Review of Juanitas Taco Shop

Juanitas Taco Shop
Ranked #17 of 300 Restaurants in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Killer food -super good deal”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Finally ate here after seeing it on the road for years and am so happy. Great food and inexpensive. Get the tostada or carnitas tacos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulmichellemartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    39
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I dropped into Juanitas early evening on the way back to my motel. On opening the door, the guy behind the counter warmly welcomed me, I couldn't even begin to come to terms with the menu so I asked for his advice. He recommended a California Burrito and then proceeded to describe the ingredients in some detail but as I understood about one in every five words I simply nodded, smiled and ordered one.

Ok, a California Burrito is FRENCH FRIES, steak and cheese in a tortilla! What the hell? A couple of these would be amazing after a few hours of solid drinking, but sober I could only feel my arteries clogging with saturated fat.

Can see myself returning but will order more thoughtfully next time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Appoooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Juanitas a local secret.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you love southern Californian mexican food, you will love this place. Their specialty is carnitas, and its fantastic. So is everything on the menu. The atmosphere is interesting. The place is small and certainly not fancy. But the food is fabulous and the price is right. It's hard to find better value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Islandheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very tasty cheap Mexican food!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stopped in for burritos - carne asado, pollo and steak. All well prepared and exactly as we ordered. Nice crispy chips and spicy salsa were very good too. The green sauce is awesome and it's definitely worth picking up some pickled carrots from the bin - they are very tasty. Overall, solid authentic food. Would return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Carne Asada in North County”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

And their hot sauce is fantastic too! I love that it is never too crowded, since it is a little bit a way from the strand of shops in Encinitas. I have loved everything I have ordered here. I have never had a mediocre experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmilyOhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juanitas Taco Shop also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Juanitas Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing