We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Value Close to the Moonlight Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Reviewed September 24, 2009

This Hotel was actually pretty nice. The rooms are standard but decent in size. I found their beds to be comfortable compared to other hotels I have stayed in. There is a fridge, microwave, and iron in the rooms. The property is a little older but it’s well kept and the staff was very friendly. It’s not on the ocean, but you are literally a minute drive if that from Moonlight Beach which is great. They also have a decent continental breakfast, but if you want something more substantive there is a Denny’s on site which is very convenient. If you’re looking for a good place in north county San Diego that’s close to the beach and right off the freeway (I-5) without spending too much money then this place is for you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZNATIVE18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 706 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

Where to begin?!? This place is horrible! The rooms are so dirty it is disgusting. We stayed at the Days Inn in Encinitas while attending a youth soccer tournament. Everyone family on the team reported the same issues and concerns. The rooms have not been thoroughly cleaned in a long time.

The sheets and the pillow cases had stains. Not just some, but all. There was mold in the bathtub and on the shower curtains. Not just a little bit, but a lot. It smelled moldy. There cobwebs in the ceiling and large stains on the carpeting. I can go on and on.

Probably the most disgusting aspect of the hotel was the urine smell on the walkways. It is obvious that previous guests have relieved themselves on the walkways outside and that they have not been washed down. Since the air conditioning units face the walkways, if you stay at the Days Inn, make sure are prepared to smell urine in your room if you elect to use the AC unit. Or, you can just suffer the heat as we did.

So, if you absolutely have to stay at this hotel, make sure you bring a sleeping bag. You will be happy you did.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eagle1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

My sister and I stayed at the Days Inn in Encinitas for 6 nights for a 'budget' break. The room was clean and well equipped for what we needed. Staff were friendly and breakfast was included but sometimes there was a wait to be able to sit down. You could also get a coffee throughout the day. The pool was never busy and clean and tidy and the hotel itself was about 10 minutes walk from the beach and the strip which had numerous shops and bars, although some of these were on the pricey side. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We liked this hotel the best during our stay (13 days in western USA). Clean rooms, cleaned everyday, location good, moonlight beach, shops, restaurants all nearby. Price was good, and stuff at the reception were soo nice. I truly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauli666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Unfortunately I was in Encinitas for the weekend of the classic car show and most hotels were booked. During my stay at Days Inn, I was woken up by a car revving its engine outside our room at 7 AM on a Saturday. The room is NOT sound proof. The room was also very small and basic. The location was a plus, as it is right off I5 and close to the town center. The price seemed like a good deal compared to other hotels in town. This is a very basic hotel and I would only recommend it as a stop over.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I booked this hotem through orbitz after checking reviews on tripadvisor.
This is indeed a very basic hotel. I booked for about $70 a night which is a great price. It is right off the highway, Not on the beach so if you're looking for a view - this is not it...
The room is clean and average size for a 2 queen bed. There is some hanging space for clothes (open not a closet). There is a fridge whch was important to me...everything else very standard, rv, coffeemaker all that...
The bathroom is nice and clean which is always my #1...
The staff are VERY nice.
Breakfast not hot. Just a few pastries and bagels and butter.
Location is great.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 101seasonedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

Near freeway exit; pleasant staff; continental breakfast; guest laundry & snack vending machines; cable TV; swimming pool; a Denny's right next door & 3 or 4 other eateries in the small shopping plaza which is a short walk across the road. If available, I recommend a room at the back of the building, on the top floor and near the elevator to avoid stairs and/or a long walk around the perimeter balcony & potential noise from overhead guests and the passing automotive traffic and to enjoy a better view (the wooded hillside) from your room's window.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1627Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
0.1 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
0.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn - Encinitas
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
129 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#7 of 9 in Encinitas
182 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach

Address: 133 Encinitas Blvd, Encinitas, CA 92024-3641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range: $64 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Days Inn Encinitas - Moonlight Beach hotel and enjoy a welcoming staff and rooms at a great rate. Free parking for your vehicle and a convenient location near Interstate 5 make it easy to visit popular local attractions. Just one mile from our Encinitas, hotel, Moonlight Beach is the ideal spot for swimming, surfing, fishing or soaking up some rays on a sunny afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Encinitas Moonlight Beach Near Legoland Hotel Encinitas
Encinitas Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing