We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly managers and pretty place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Hurricane, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly managers and pretty place”
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed 8 days because of wedding festivities in the area. The managers were so very friendly and interested in us and our welfare. The room was a simple, usual room but very clean. The building was very attractive and the trumpet vines were all in bloom. It was so close to eating places, shopping, I-5, and the beaches. Overall the cost made it affordable for our long stay and it was an extremely pleasant experience. The Quail Botanical Gardens and the Self Realization Gardens are very close.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    62
    43
    16
    16
See reviews for
52
49
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

can't beat the location and price. clean, nice people, a little breakfast, what else could you ask for?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olddaddydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Vik Ganatra is a lovely man and good host. The Ocean Inn still has the charm of yesteryear - lovely smelling gum trees, surfers up the hill heading down the trail to the beach, fish tacos and lively small grocery stores nearby, the half way house guys playing cards nearby, the great breakfast places and quirky shops, good surf gear and shirts and short trip to town down the hill. This is what California used to be like and what I hope stays for a few more years.

Rory Wellings
Vancouver, BC, Canada

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 86868888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Just spent three days at the Ocean Inn. Quiet, clean, friendly. A marked difference from staying at the usual chains in the area. First off, the location is ideal if you prefer funky, interesting neighborhoods to malls. One of S. Cal's greatest coffee shops is a mile south and lots of cafes and shops line the road. A lovely 5-min walk to a super beach just S of Ponto. Really quite idyllic.

The staff was helpful and forthcoming and the rooms were very clean and everything worked well. Even the free internet impressed - genuinely high-speed cable, not the creakingly slow speeds I've experienced at the big chains.

During our stay last weekend, quiet nights and restful atmosphere. Definitely not a party spot - more family friendly. And the price was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Our Daughter & Family live in Encinitas and anytime we go to visit them we have stayed at the Ocean Inn during the last ten years. The rooms are always clean and well equipped. The Management and employees are very friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located near to the Beach, Shopping and access to the main Highways. The room rates have always been very reasonable.

Overall we have found the Ocean Inn a very comfortable and enjoyable place to stay.
Harvey & Donna Browning, Henderson, Nevada

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I stayed at the Ocean Inn for the second time this year and really enjoyed my stay. The room is spotlessly clean, very good value for money, internet access is free of charge, everything worked (shower, fridge, wake up call etc) it's 5 minutes from one of the nicest beaches in SoCal.... what's not to like? In addition, the people running the Inn are very nice and very helpful. I will definitely go back, there's no reason to stay anywhere more expensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leucadiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at the Ocean Inn. Colorful, bright, clean rooms - and no pungent chemically "air freshner" smell, whew! The hotel is a few minutes walk from the beach, but it's a lovely walk, through gorgious million dollar homes and blooming flora. Our room was quiet - we had no problem sleeping on the firm beds - and I loved catching the sight of the hotel's lovely climbing red bloomed vines as I gazed out the window. Will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martysIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
1.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.9 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn - Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Property: Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Address: 1444 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-1443 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Encinitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing