We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on 10th July for one night. Great value for money in a clean, fresh room with all the comforts we needed for a single night. The woman on reception gave us a great restaurant tip for the evening. The stay was completed with a great chat with the manager who originated from Watford - just 11 miles from home! Would certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvilC1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    41
    16
    13
See reviews for
50
47
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We needed a clean, conveniently located room halfway between Oceanside and San Diego. We found one at the Rodeway Inn. It was quiet and clean and the staff was very nice. There was a nice breakfast in the morning!
It was also located next to a nice oyster house and a few other spots for dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tror2132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I thought the rooms were just "okay". The bed was comfortable enough and the bathrooms were actually rather big. The couch has some stains on it. The breakfast was pretty weak and limited. I wish they had more of a variety. But other than that, it was a good experience. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Would I stay here again? Yea.

There's not much in the area. The 7-11 is a 15-20 minute walk away. And downtown Encinitas is less then a 10 minute bus ride away. However from Encinitas, you can catch the coaster train to San Diego which is cool and convenient if your looking to spending the day down there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you, your comments are very much appreciated for future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very disappointing experience. Dirty room, unhelpful staff. Would not return. We were combining work with a beach stay and stayed several times over several weeks. The staff were very indifferent to our requests. The room was dirty, linen not changed (yes!). The breakfast buffet was disappointing. There was a surprising amount of street noise as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

What's it worth to you to avoid having to unplugged a toilet? Apparently not much if you work the front desk of this place.

The bog in my room got plugged so instead of whining about it, I went and asked for a plunger. Plumbing at my home is kinda crap (pun intended), so I'm pretty handy with one of those things. Plus, I didn't think the old Dutch gal at the front desk was gonna be a big help.

She was so truculent that she didn't even bother getting me the plunger....she told me where it was and told me to get it myself. Did not even seem interested in why I might need one...or whether sewage might be spewing into adjoining rooms.

Anyway, I fixed the problem, returned the plunger and kinda shrugged that she didn't give a crap (oops!) that I had spared her from dealing with a nasty problem.

So I go back later and ask if it's possible to print out three tickets to a local attraction that I bought online. And she gave me a flat-out "NO".

No...the toilet in my room will not "accidentally" get plugged again. But I will call her out on TripAdvisor. Any guest who unplugs his own bog at least deserves three pages from the printer....unless you stay here.

But honestly, the place is just fine if you can avoid her.

Room Tip: Flush the toilet before you unpack your bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weej1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Ocean Inn changed it's name to a Rodeway Inn, part of Choice Hotels, at the beginning of 2013. Same place, I think it's a value but not a 4 star hotel. Just a good location, you can walk 3 long blocks to Grandview, and there are decent places to walk to. No pool so no kids, so the crowd tends to be older and quieter. Set your values low and this is a decent place!

Room Tip: Go west for less traffic/train noise. Not as bad as other hotels closer to the 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimtreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
1.9 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Legoland Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn - Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Property: Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Address: 1444 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Choice Hotels so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Encinitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing