We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yuck!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yuck!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We got to the hotel late at night with two small children.I pulled back the sheets and they were so gross!! I made my husband take the gross, stained, hairy sheets off and go get new ones!!! The carpet was gross and I wouldnt let my kids walk on it without shoes. The curtains were old and dusty and looked like they needed to be thrown away. The "oj" in the morning wasnt oj or even tang....it was sunny delite. The people that ran the place were nice and helpful. The beach was not visable from the hotel and is actually pretty far away. Over all it was in a good location, the people were friendly, and it didnt have bed bugs! And there is a really cute great little coffee shop a few blocks away that had great food and nice staff.

Room Tip: get a room in the back away from the train and traffic.....and get a room on the bottom floor becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    61
    42
    16
    15
See reviews for
51
48
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We recently returned from a weeklong visit with our church group to beautiful San DIego and were fortunate to stay at the Ocean Inn Hotel. Victor and Kirti are wonderful caretakers and made our group of 13 feel most welcome and quite at home. The rooms are good sized and have everything necessary for a pleasant stay...including microwave and small refrigerator in each room. There is a great donut shop on the corner of 101 and Avocado, if you want to vary from the provided continental breakfast at the hotel (by the way... the coffee is delicious at Ocean Inn). And also, the German staff member is a delight! I didn't even mention the easy accessibility to the Ocean. We enjoyed our walks to the beach each morning and several evenings when we arrived back in time! All in all it was a wonderful stay ...especially the Sunday service at Elevate Church in Torrey Pines. If you are thinking of a visit to the greater San Diego area, Ocean Inn is a great place to call home base.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAbudgettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Ocean Inn is an older motor lodge near the Carlsbad state beach. The people are friendly, the rooms clean, and everything well maintained. The beds and pillows are hard and the units somewhat noisy due to the cars parking outside your window-bottom floor problem only. I had to give the place an average rating because the place is average. However, it is also somewhat charming and reminded me of travels with my parents as a kid.
I would recommend this little spot to a friend-because of its value, cleanliness and staff friendliness

Room Tip: second floor will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suze1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed two weeks in the hotel and had a great time. I enjoyed most that everybody was really frienldy. They had always time for a chat and you could also ask everything and get tips for the surrounding area.
The rooms were clean, had free wifi, refrigerator and a microwave. If you don't look for something luxory you will be happy.
I had a room at the back and so it was very quite. I didn't hear the trains and the street in the night - I'm als not sure if the trains really run during the night.
If you have a car, you have plenty of restaurants within a 2 minutes drive in Encinitas. There are also many shops around and the Carlsbad Premium Outlets are only 15 minutes away. San Diego is a 30 minutes drive away. You can walk to a beach - but be aware that you can't use the beach at high tide and that you have to walk down a few steps. There are many other beaches around at the whole coast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn - Encinitas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank yoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very easy to locate, quiet, easy to get around. We looked around the area abit but in the end decided on Ocean Inn. Rates offered was the best, my family of 4 stayed there for 5 days. The office person Victor is really a very nice guy. He told us places of interest to go, deals, always greeting with a friendly smile and gesture, ready to help. The room was great, everything was working as it should. There was air conditioning as well as a ceiling fan. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We like the upstair unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank km h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Ocean Inn was perfect for our quick stay in Encinitas. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, was walking distance to great restaurants, and we could walk to the beach and the local farmers market. Victor and his wife run a great hotel. They are very hospitable, friendly and very knowledgeable of the local area, not to mention great to have a laugh with. We would definitely stop by again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

There is nothing special about this place. Its your basic hotel room. Shower is smal, ifyour planning on staying here bring your own soap and whatever you use to shower. Tv did not work in my room. Lights next to bed didnt work, no ceiling fan like they said, ac in room was very very dirty on the inside! Breakfast is the danish packages you would get at a bulk store (sams club, costco) toast orange juice and coffee not such a great breakfast. Beach is awesome to see from above but not fun to walk down tge long path with surfers and there boards in the way. Beach is really rocky in some areas. But hotel is about 11miles from ocean side. Ive never stayed in a hotel like this before and i personally hope i never do again. If your used to staying in 5 star hotels you will hate this.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmjhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
1.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn - Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Property: Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Address: 1444 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Encinitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing