We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Ocean Inn was perfect for our quick stay in Encinitas. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, was walking distance to great restaurants, and we could walk to the beach and the local farmers market. Victor and his wife run a great hotel. They are very hospitable, friendly and very knowledgeable of the local area, not to mention great to have a laugh with. We would definitely stop by again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

There is nothing special about this place. Its your basic hotel room. Shower is smal, ifyour planning on staying here bring your own soap and whatever you use to shower. Tv did not work in my room. Lights next to bed didnt work, no ceiling fan like they said, ac in room was very very dirty on the inside! Breakfast is the danish packages you would get at a bulk store (sams club, costco) toast orange juice and coffee not such a great breakfast. Beach is awesome to see from above but not fun to walk down tge long path with surfers and there boards in the way. Beach is really rocky in some areas. But hotel is about 11miles from ocean side. Ive never stayed in a hotel like this before and i personally hope i never do again. If your used to staying in 5 star hotels you will hate this.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmjhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are OK with simple accommodations. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and the room was very clean. But the towels and pillows were not luxury. And the breakfast I would skip. But if you bring your own pillow, and are OK with simple, then this is your place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travel_simple_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I like good deals. So this hotel was in the right place and the price was right too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RebaKPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My son was stationed at Camp Pendleton and he knew i would be travelling with a family friend so he suggested we stay outisde Oceanside. He didn't feel that Oceanside was "safe" for two women traveling alone. We chose Ocean Inn Hotel. From my very first phone call to make the reservation to our departure, I never doubted our decision. We were made very welcome and comfortable. They gave us wonderful sugestions for dinner and sightseeing. Our room was spotless and the beds were comfortable. It was so quiet. If you are looking for nightlife though, this is not the place. However, it was perfect for us. If you are looking for a quiet, clean hotel with wonderful staff, at an affordable price, this is the place for you. I would definitely return.

.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank MSKBZW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My family stayed here for a weekend while attending a friend's wedding in Carlsbad. For me, the room rates are a little high for what is basically a clean and adequate place to stay for the night, although it seems like reasonable value for the area based on comparing with other places on the internet (we've never stayed in the area before so can't speak from personal experience). No frills - the amenities, bedding, and fixtures don't seem to have been updated in quite some time, and the room was a little dark, although the free wi-fi is a big plus and worked fine for us. The staff are uniformly excellent, very friendly and helpful. Beds are on the firm side, which was fine for us. The beach is physically nearby as the crow flies, but we had to walk a good way to find an access point to the beach (which involved a lot of damp stairs and negotiating around surfers with surfboards). Breakfast is basically toast, packaged danishes, and coffee and orange juice. The hotel is right on the highway, and could be noisy for the rooms on that side of the hotel - our room was away from the street so it was very quiet. For what it is, it's perfectly reasonable, but nothing "special" if you're looking for something more than just a place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kyopo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We only stayed one night before moving on to more comfortable accommodations. The room was dark and cramped and had the old motel feel. Something about old motel bedspreads and decor from the 70s just creeps me out. Also, old pillows and mattresses just seem dirty to me. There was a very nice gentleman working at the front desk when we checked out and we enjoyed talking with him.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachmamaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
1.5 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn - Encinitas
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
2.3 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,090 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#21 of 36 in Carlsbad
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn - Encinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Encinitas

Address: 1444 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-1443 (Formerly Ocean Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range: $63 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Encinitas 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Encinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Encinitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing