We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Economical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Inn Encinitas Near Legoland
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Reviewed November 2, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Encinitas Near Legoland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 322 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Terrance R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Howard Johnson at Leucadia may not be the most luxurious property in San Diego, but in the realm of location, it’s pretty tough to beat.

The hotel itself seemed pretty standard, very clean and tidy, standard amenities, very quiet, everything you’d expect. The pool was a little small, but I’ll get back to that in a minute. One tip for those of you like me who are late sleepers and try to give the cleaning staff a break and not make them clean your room each and every day, USE THE DO NOT DISTURB SIGN! The hotel is located directly adjacent to the Interstate 5 freeway, and if your room is facing the freeway, you cannot hear anything through the door even if you are both standing directly in front of the door. So if you and your significant other value your privacy, hang that sign on the door knob the night before! This poor lady nearly had to see my sizable rear end twice before we figured that one out. Word to the wise: request a room on the other side of the freeway. Other than that little snafu, the hotel staff was very courteous. We checked in around 1900, and they facilitated our request for the top floor (third floor). We didn’t bother with the continental breakfast, or even bother to see if there was one, but I’ll touch on that later.

This place has a fantastic locale. Leucadia is right by Encinitas, which is right next door to Oceanside, and there are tons to do in both places. When you leave the hotel, turn left, go through about three lights, you’ll be treated to one of the most breathtaking views in San Diego. You’ll be right on the beach, but you’ll also be above the beach at Leucadia Sea Bluffs. This is such a beautiful little cove, and the best part is that not many people know about it. Jump in the car and head down there around 1730 and you’ll get a great sunset or even head out around noon when the sun is up high and enjoy a gorgeous view. With access to a beautiful beach like that, you’ll definitely bypass the rather small pool at the Howard Johnson.

There are also a plethora of eateries in the area. There’s a great little Mexican food spot right next to the Bluffs, or if you go the other way, there’s a bunch of places to eat. Who needs any continental breakfast? It’s way worth it to take a short trip around the corner and treat yourself to a descent meal. There’s virtually no down side to this place, a smart traveler should love it!

Room Tip: Request a room on the opposite side of the freeway!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cervantez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I enjoy my stay. Room was clean and the bed comfortable. I would recommend a bigger tv.
Most people have flat screens at home. It would mark them feel more at home. If your customers feel that way, they will most likely use your hotel again. I travel for my job and your rooms are as good as Hilton or holiday inn except they have flat screens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank GEORGE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Average hotel. Front office staff remediated problem with first room, by assigning another room that was suitable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank MEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We planned to visit San Diego Zoo last week and also decided to stay at Howard Johnson Encinitas. Check-in was very welcoming, Julian at the desk was very polite and friendly which made us feel welcomed. We met Mr. Steve the GM of the hotel, he was professional and knowledgeable. Finally we got to the room, the room wasn't that wide but the way they put things in place makes it spacious, sofa was nice and clean. It's a good idea that the sink is separate from the bath and toilet. Fridge, microwave, coffee brewer and all that stuff was available in the room. We are on the ground floor and the outside pool and Jacuzzi was right in front of our door (one of the things that made us happy). We needed some extra towels and plate for the microwave and Rob, the night personnel was very kind and gave us what we needed (thanks man). The pool and Jacuzzi was clean and water is clear, thanks to Mauricio the maintenance of the hotel (good job). After that relaxing Jacuzzi, we wanted to go bar hopping and Rob at the desk was very helpful, he gave us direction to the area. On our way back we saw David the night audit, he was friendly, thoughtful and funny. The night was very quite, the bed was very comfortable. They also have a lot of channels on the television. In the morning they have a complimentary breakfast for all the guest no matter what rate you paid. Thanks for all the staff at Howard Johnson Encinitas we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel has gone down hill since our last stay. We always stayed every year, but sadly we will not be returning. staf member , Rob was a rude demeaning arrogant jerk kid. No customer service skills at all.
The rooms were gross, and we had extra guests: Fleas!!!! it was an awful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
0.9 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn - Encinitas
1.1 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#7 of 9 in Encinitas
182 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Encinitas Near Legoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Encinitas Near Legoland

Address: 607 Leucadia Blvd, Interstate 5 & Leucadia Blvd, Encinitas, CA 92024-2333 (Formerly Howard Johnson Encinitas Near Legoland Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range: $72 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Encinitas Near Legoland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 5, the Quality Inn® Encinitas Near Legoland hotel lets you relax and focus on the people and experiences you came for. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions to explore near our pet-friendly hotel in Encinitas, including several North San Diego County beaches and: Del Mar Fairgrounds Cal Pacific Orchid Farms Flower Fields Forum Carlsbad Carlsbad Premium Outlets You can also easily get to Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo, which are both just a short drive away. Our Value Qs deliver professional, responsive and friendly service, as well as amenities that give you more for your hard-earned money like a conference room that can accommodate up to 30 event attendees, a business center and an outdoor heated pool and hot tub, plus: Free hot, fresh and healthy breakfast Free WiFi Free weekday newspaper Free coffee Free parking We have tickets on sale to Legoland California available at the front desk. Each guest room offers a refreshing shower, flat-screen TV, hair dryer and pillow-top mattress, along with an iron and ironing board. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket—because we know how much you value a good night’s sleep. Select rooms come with kitchenettes, microwaves, refrigerators, sofa sleepers and desks. Get your money’s worth at the Quality Inn Encinitas Near Legoland. Encinitas hotels like ours offer the best hotel rates and the best amenities, so you can focus on the people and travel memories that really matter. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Encinitas Near Legoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Diego Encinitas Hotel Encinitas
Howard Johnson Encinitas
Encinitas Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing