We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property is average but location is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here Feb 15-16. The hotel itself is an older property, somewhat outdated, but clean and comfortable so that's the main thing. Its about 2 blocks from a nice beach and a ten minute walk from downtown Encinitas with all of its dining and drinking options. We arrived around noon Saturday and since it was too early to check in the desk staff said it was ok if we parked in the garage and walked down to the beach for a while. We came back around 3:00 and checked in. After we got settled in the room we had intended to wash up at the sink a little then head back out to eat. There were only 2 towels in the room and no wash cloths or hand towels. I had noticed some of the cleaning staff with their carts when we were heading to our room, so I went back out and asked them for some wash cloths and hand towels and the girl said she didn't have any. So I went back to the room and called the front desk and asked if someone could bring us some and he said "absolutely, I'll send someone right over with some". We waited an hour and no one came so we used the 2 towels we had to clean up with then went out to eat. When we got back a couple hours or so later still no one had been. Not sure why there seemed to be a shortage of wash cloths, but if there aren't enough to go around maybe someone should buy more or make sure the ones you do have are cleaned in time for your incoming guests? Other than that, no problems with the stay. Due to its very convenient location we would consider staying here again after we checked out what other options we have nearby.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GUMO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear rwkCedarParkTx,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience here at Best Western Encinitas. We are glad the location served you well. It is great to be able to walk to Moonlight Beach or walk to the historic downtown Encinitas.. We are in the process of renovated our entire third floor king beds, with travertine tile, glass enclosed shower doors and rain showerheads. It has transformed the bathroom to sheer luxury. We invite you to return to the hotel to experience our new rooms.

Warmly,

Christina Beltran 760-942-7455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 587 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Nice clean hotel, in walking distance to downtown Encinitas and the beach....good nightlife, plenty of places to eat and drink....We would definitely be back to visit again and we will be staying at this Best Western

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Robert H
We are pleased you enjoyed Best Western Encinitas and the historic downtown area. We are proud of our hotel rooms. We keep them clean and fresh and they are very spacious. We currently are in the process of remodeling the entire third floor of the hotel. We invite you to come see us again.

Warmly,
Christina Beltran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We enjoy staying at this hotel for it's comfortable beds, large private balcony, perfect weather and great views of the ocean if you get the right room. The parking is covered and free. We will continue to return to this location for everything it offers you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cmartinez45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear cmartinez45

Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again. We are in the process of a renovation. We have remodeled our third floor rooms, with travertine tile in the shower, glass enclosed showers and rain shower heads. We have many other plans to improve our hotel.

We aim to please..

Warmly,
Christina Beltran 760-942-7455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel was located 2 blocks from the beach. Very convenient! Staff was very nice and gave great advice for dining options. Room was very clean. Bed is way too soft for my comfort, but the kids liked it just fine. Breakfast was typical for hotel food, not that great but of for a morning or two.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Matthew P

Thank you Matthew for a great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The location that we do have is amazing and how can you beat being anywhere else but Encinitas. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warmly,

Christina Beltran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have stayed here for as long as 3 days and on 3 or more occasions. Very professional staff, warm and friendly. Pool is great as are views, can walk to beach (2 1/2 blocks)), breakfast area expansive, clean and sufficient. All children we saw were controlled and well behaved. Many restaurantrs, lounges and stores within walking distance. We will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Miles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Miles H

Thanks again, for writing a wonderful review. We are so pleased you return and enjoy your stay each and every time..

Until next time,

Christina Beltran
760-942-7455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The location is great .Moonlight Beach is a great destination anytime of year . Staff friendly but the hotel is doing renovations that are needed .Full rate at this time might be a little over priced . But when complete will be worth the value . At this time the restaurant at the location is not open .And would provide more value if it was . The pool appeared to be in good shape and had access for special needs . But the Jacuzzi was in need of new plaster . Again with moonlight beach as close as it is who needs a pool or Jacuzzi ..That's my opinion .The room we stayed in was just redone .But lacked the final finishing touches The bed was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in BY FAR better than most hotels for the money .In the future I would stay again .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate the review you have posted. You are correct in saying how great the location is to Moonlight Beach. Being three blocks away makes it great to leave the car in the garage and walk one block downtown and three to the beach. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beds. It is very important to us that the beds be comfortable for the guest.


We do hope you will stay with us again.

We will have more details done with the hotel remodeling in the near future. We have completed the fitness center and installed new granite vanities.

Warmly,

Christina Beltran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January 2014. Our room (323) was clean and appeared to have been recently remodelled with new-looking carpet; it also had a large balcony with partial ocean view; a very comfortable king bed; flat screen TV (with a countdown timer that shuts it off-don't leave the room if you are watching something important!); a computer desk and chair; armchair; small table and 2 chairs; a Keurig with tea and coffee and 2 real mugs; lots of lighting; strong wi-fi; and a key-locked safe which was large enough to accommodate my 13" laptop and my wife's iPad. We liked being able to lock up our valuables and take the key with us. The pool area is quite large and is clean and well-maintained. The cabana room where you eat breakfast is clean and can accommodate at least 45-50 people so you shouldn't be squeezed for space at breakfast. There is a laundry room and fitness centre (neither of which we used).

Negatively, in this fairly large room, there was only one (small) garbage can which filled up with 3-4 cans and a take-out container; there was no microwave and only the smallest available (I would guess it to be 1.6 cu. ft.) bar fridge which sat on the floor; the arm on the computer chair was loose; table/dresser/desk tops were marked; there were a couple chipped tiles; the clothes line in the shower was missing one end; there was chipped drywall next to the sink etc. Overall the room was fine but not 'brand new'.

Breakfast was just OK-the same cheese omelettes that seem to be a staple in BWs everywhere, bacon, cold cereals, pastries, waffles, coffee, juices, bagels, yogurt etc.

Some of the common areas need some attention and updating: the elevators look dirty but are just well-used; all the rooms have outside access and these 'breezeways' could be cleaner. The ice machine on the 3rd floor didn't work. You will hear barking dogs at times so ask for a room far removed from any pet designated areas.

Be aware that Encinitas Blvd. is a major conduit for traffic in both directions for the I-5. Coming off the I-5, you have no direct left-turn access to the BW. You will see the hotel and ground-level BW signs but if you drive to what appears to be the entrance, there is a 'No Left Turn' sign so you will have to find an area to turn around. Two suggestions: once you leave the I-5 and are on Encinitas Blvd. you have to immediately get into the left lane and turn at the first light (no road name visible) at the Day's Inn/ Denny's parking lot. Then take an immediate right turn behind the first row of parking. Each morning this area of the parking lot contained small groups of 20 or so young men-possibly day labourers waiting for work? Alternatively,you could exit on Santa Fe (one exit before or after Encinitas Blvd depending on your direction of travel), head west for 1/2 mile to Vulcan, turn right (north) on Vulcan for about a mile to Encinitas Blvd, then turn right (east) on Encinitas Blvd and the hotel will be on your right. This 'detour' takes less than 2 minutes and might save you a headache. Also, leaving the hotel and trying to turn left (west - to the Pacific Coast Highway e.g.) requires some aggressive driving and some good luck as you hope for a break in traffic.

Having said all of this, the hotel is clean, generally quiet and safe. It is close to the I-5 and the PCH which has several good restaurants within a 20-30 minute walk. Walking distance to the ocean-but the mostly uphill walk back could be a struggle (LOL). We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodelled room; as quiet as possible; away from pet-friendly rooms (if barking dogs bothe...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MesaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear MesaMac

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It sure means a lot to us and to future guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the points your brought up are valid points.
We are in the process of an upcoming renovation, which will take a few years. We are aware of the said problems and look to rectify each and every one.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Christina Beltran 760-942-7455

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
253 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn - Encinitas
3.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach

Address: 85 Encinitas Blvd, Encinitas, CA 92024-3625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range: $143 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque shoreline of Moonlight Beach, Encinitas Inn & Suites, a Best Western International Hotel, is the perfect place for business or pleasure. Just 30 minutes from the San Diego International Airport, the hotel is at the center of all major San Diego attractions. We at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites in California pride ourselves in providing prompt and friendly service to our customers. Enjoy your visit in Encinitas while staying in our comfortable and spacious rooms of Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites equipped with all the amenities you'll need. Check out the current rates and visit our specials for the latest discounts available to our online visitors. All the rooms at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, remote controlled cable television including HBO, king and queen size beds, coffee maker, hairdryer, refrigerator, air-conditioning etc., make your visit memorable and relaxing. King and Queen Suites are some of the specialties, which we provide to our customers. Enjoy a day relaxing around our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Encinitas Inn And Suites At Moonlight Beach
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Best Western Encinitas Hotel
Encinitas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing