We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel - Close to Beaches of southern CA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Azusa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Close to Beaches of southern CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Have stayed here several times always clean, well kept, professional staff, nice pool, nicr jacuzzi, beautifully landscaped grounds. some nice views of ocean in distance from the third floor and close walk to beach. Moderately priced. Can easily bike to beach at Carlsbad, or Solano.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Miles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Miles H

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that the hotel suited all your needs and that you were satisfied. We are fortunate to have a property that is so close to Moonlight Beach (3 blocks) and near the historic downtown Encinitas. We have lovely ocean views and park views from our balconies. Encinitas is a special town and we are so glad you were able to enjoy it. The staff takes great pride in taking care of each and every one of our guests. Our fitness center is now open and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    195
    75
    59
    23
See reviews for
252
137
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ensenada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The room was huge. King bed on one side, and queen on the other. Divider between. Both had LCD TVs. Internet was fast. Room was clean. Beds were clean. No odd smells. Balcony was big also. Had smaller apts in college. Heater wasn't up to the task. Set it at 78* to warm up the room while we went to dinner. Never got above 70* whole night. This was out only complaint. I would stay again though. Area is an upper class area. Sits on a hill. Denny's is next door for breakfast. You can walk there. Lots of parking. Freeway was 1/2 mile way or so. Very quiet hotel. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ronald D

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Best Western Encinitas. We have a very special property with oversized rooms, all with private balconies. It is wonderful to watch the sunset or look at the park across the street. The area is great in that we are near Moonlight Beach and the historic downtown Encinitas. We do hope you will visit us once again.

Kind Regards,
Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The staff at the BW Encinitas took care of my family members as if they were their own. They helped me setup prepaid hotel reservations so i could have guests visit me in the hospital with very little hassle and ensured a smooth check-in and a wonderful stay. Thanks Best Western!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear James V

Outstanding Customer Care is what we aim to do each and every time. We love our guests and do want each and every guest to feel at home and at ease. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we value your business. Best Western Encinitas is a wonderful property in an exceptional city. Everyone who works here takes pride in their work and wants to make sure that every guest has the "Encinitas Experience".

Warmly,
Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was at a conference at Del Mar and could have stayed at any number of hotels, and in fact last time stayed at the Marriott at Dell mar. I didn't care for them so looked elsewhere. I enjoyed the consistency of experience at Best Western so looked around. Not only was this hotel less expensive than the ones in Del Mar, but had better freeway access during rush hour.
(Although rush hour around here is not a nice thing- it is a train-wreck of too many people going too many places in too many cars all at the same time)

We had an initial problem with internet reception and a non working phone- but they were handled by the staff putting us in better room closer to the wifi source and as well accommodating our service dog even better than I expected.

It was a tad noisy in the area but that was only a minor issue- since we were on a major intersection, ambulances, traffic noise, police sirens etc were common but not frequent..

This seems to be an older hotel working its way back to the top. The staff is very helpful. Initially the empty restaurant across from reception was a bit off-putting. It felt like a small ghost town, but the rooms were spacious had good beds and served as a great place ot escape to from the conference. The beach and the town are wonderful to wander around in. There is literally nothing to wander around in on the beach side of Del mar, However Encinitas has plenty to do.

I was surprised the prices here were so good. In the past we stayed at Del Mar and found the prices about 30% higher -- and its only 5 miles away. In Del Mar the Marriott rooms were smaller, less well appointed and smelled of sea weedy types stuff. I haven't been back for a couple of years but that experience at Marriott made me look elsewhere this time and Best Western at Encinitas was just right.

It has a nice pool and hot tub area as well as complimentary breakfast in the morning. It had standard eggs and bacon etc. typical western high on the carbs breakfast, but the addition of yogurt, eggs etc made it pretty decent and a welcome pit stop in the morning.

Perhaps some of the furniture is a little older and a little crankier, but so am I. :-) None if it was a problem though. The place was clean so I was happy. At the end of the stay we were surprised more people hadn't found this neat little place on the coast to stay. And the balconies are huge and you can sit out and depending on the room see the ocean or other directions. The balcony is big enough to do Tai Chi Chih on and leave enough room for a sun bather.

They had just reopened the fitness room.

All in all I would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid rooms under and around the fitness area( floor 2)- although exercise stops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mithra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mithra

It was great to read your review. It pleases us very much that you chose us over any other locations especially in Del Mar. Encinitas is a very special place and we were glad you were able to enjoy it. Best Western Encinitas is a great value. We are great that the staff was able to accommodate you after the initial concerns that you had.

Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to serving you again.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino
Level Contributor
195 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was recommeded to us by several people. Our stay was excellent. 3-4 blocks from the beach, balcony view of the beach, clean rooms, comfortable beds, staff was very helpful, swimming pool and jacuzzi clean, breakfast very good, and location to downtown about 3 blocks. We definitely would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Michael G

Thank you for writing such a great review here on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate it. We are pleased that the location and our amenities suited all your needs. It pleases us that you came here by recommendation and that we were up to par. We are pleased to inform that our fitness center is in and we are in the process of installing new granite vanities for our sinks. We take great pride in our property and look forward to serving you again.

Warmly,

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

very old and poorly kept up . price too high for the quality . would not stay there again. the y did not even have a microwave in the room . They should really consider updating the decor . I do have to say that the front desk personal were quite friendly and pleasant. Free breakfast was okay.I have too say i was pleased they had free breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Borunda

Thank your review. We are sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We will revaluate the housekeeping procedures with the staff. Our mission is to provide clean, comfy rooms with excellent service. We are sorry that we failed you in this instance. We are glad that the front desk was helpful and pleasant. We are also pleased that you saw the value in the free deluxe continental breakfast. We do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.
Warmly,
Christina Beltran
760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very clean hotel, comfy bed, extremely friendly and helpful staff. I stayed just one night and the furnishings were quite new. The breakfast was the typical hotel chain food but fresh. A selection of fruit too. the coffee was good, not weak like most hotel chains. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Linda H

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you found the hotel to be very clean and that it suited all your needs. We do take pride in taking care of our guests. Cleanliness and excellent customer service are our priorities.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thank you for being our guest.

Warmly,
Christina Beltran
760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.1 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Legoland Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.8 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
Address: 85 Encinitas Blvd., Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque shoreline of Moonlight Beach, Encinitas Inn & Suites, a Best Western International Hotel, is the perfect place for business or pleasure. Just 30 minutes from the San Diego International Airport, the hotel is at the center of all major San Diego attractions. We at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites in California pride ourselves in providing prompt and friendly service to our customers. Enjoy your visit in Encinitas while staying in our comfortable and spacious rooms of Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites equipped with all the amenities you'll need. Check out the current rates and visit our specials for the latest discounts available to our online visitors. All the rooms at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, remote controlled cable television including HBO, king and queen size beds, coffee maker, hairdryer, refrigerator, air-conditioning etc., make your visit memorable and relaxing. King and Queen Suites are some of the specialties, which we provide to our customers. Enjoy a day relaxing around our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Best Western Encinitas Inn And Suites At Moonlight Beach
Best Western Encinitas Hotel
Encinitas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing