We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Davis, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel choice”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

When staying in the Encinitas area give this property a try. It has been recently renovated and the rooms are of a good size and comfortable. Note that our room did not have any drawers for storing clothing for a multi-day stay. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was a good size. Room service staff was very good but the front desk staff quality was average. The breakfast (included) was good. Value for the property was good compared to other properties in this area. Location is excellent.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a recently remodeled room. It seems that the entire third floor may fit the bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr-Zach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you had a nice stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It means a lot to us. We are happy that the location served you well. The hotel is close to everything in Encinitas, 3 blocks from the beach and a block away from the historic downtown Encinitas. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the deluxe continental breakfast. We do invite you to return again back to Encinitas and back to Best Western.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    203
    81
    60
    26
See reviews for
269
140
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Love staying at this Best Western in Encinitas. Convenient location and easy walk to Moonlight Beach , the beautiful park across the street and to downtown Encinitas shops and restaurants. Prefer the third floor King room, remodeled with dark wood and especially the nice sized shower. no tub in this unit, although others have shower tub combination. Bed is extremely comfortable. Nice to have the single cup K coffee maker for fresh hot coffee and they provide ceramic cups. The large patio with ocean view in the distance is a plus. Nice to check out waves and weather before heading to the beach. Recommend booking directly with hotel or Best Western for best rates. Breakfast room is lovely, outside cabana by the pool. Typical continental style and quality has varied during previous visits, so we just headed to downtown for plent of variety.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the third floor room, king beds. They all have been remodeled. The pillowtop beds are very comfortable and it is nice to see the ocean from the balcony. Many of our guests do enjoy the Keurig Coffeemakers and we are pleased we could offer these amenities. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you for being our guest.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I searched long and hard for a place to stay on our vacation. I had three criteria:
1. The room had to be a suite so that we could have more space & privacy
2. The room had a kitchenette so we could save money on meals
3. The location was near the beach

Additionally, I looked for a place that offered a free breakfast and was reasonably priced.

This seemed like the jackpot. I booked a package through southwest vacations.

The room had a kitchenette, but no pots, pans, silverware, or plates. What's the point???

Their breakfast was a half step above cereal and muffins. While they did offer bacon and eggs. I kid you not when I say I have never seen bacon look so unappealing. Everything was microwaved. The eggs were sad versions of cheese omelettes made with Velveeta (loved it as a kid, would like something healthier as an adult). So, we ate breakfast out for remaining 4 days :-(

The hotel placed. $500 hold for the 5 days we were there and we discovered upon checkout that that didn't show that we'd paid already. It took two trips to the front desk to get it cleared up. They were going to double charge us! Their front desk staff were unable to explain how they were correcting the issue because they seemed to lack any significant customer service skills. They were polite but I still left wondering if I was going to be charged because I couldn't get them to articulate where the mix up was and any sense of a reassuring dialogue letting me know I was not going to be overcharged.

Very bad impression overall. Not worth the money I saved. I expected more from Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starbuckslvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry to hear about your negative experience here at the hotel. Your opinions are very important to us. Everything you have stated is valid and we are very sorry. If your room was prepaid it is true that we should not have authorized your card. I will inform the Front Desk of this issue. We care about our guests and your stay should have been flawless.

I do invite you to return, I will be happy to make sure that every part of your stay went well.

Warmly,

Christina Beltran 760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I expected this hotel to simply be a place to sleep, but it was better than expected. The location is great. It's an easy walk to the main restaurant area of Encinitas and the beach. The room was a great size with a huge balcony. The main area of the room looked recently renovated, but the bathroom wasn't up to the same standard. I was told that an exercise room is in the works. The included breakfast is basic, but adequate for the rate. Affordable place to do a North San Diego county trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to give other guests your feedback. We are pleased that hotel was better than you expected. We are in a great location, close to Moonlight Beach and one block away from the historic downtown Encinitas. It is true that our balconies are a great feature to the hotel. They provide such a getaway and are an added bonus to our oversized and spacious rooms.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

this is the finest BW i stay at. The staff is tops. I always look forward going to this location. It would be nice if they cold upgrade the decor. But its nice as it is. Other than that,its as close to Hilton.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Lou

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is our goal to have every guest leaved satistifed. We take pride in our work and we are proud of this property and location.

We will have a new fitness center later this spring. We are consisitantly doing new projects to upgrade the hotel to enhance the guest experience.

Thank you

Christina Beltran 760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at this Best Western. It had a nice patio off of the room. The front office staff was very helpful and accomadating (Thanks Isaiah and Merlinda). Bed was comfortable. Close enough to the beach to walk to. Also, close to the bus and train depots, so if one wanted to catch the tram or bus into San Deigo, it was really easy. Rooms could use some updating. However it was very homey. Internet was great! Would love to see a fitness room added to this inn. It is walking distance from many good restaurants and shops. It sits on a bluff facing the ocean. Even though the trains went by at night, it wasn't a problem sleeping. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ytigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for this great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites. We are proud of the property and the location. We are pleased that the staff took good care of you during your visit. We do hope to see you soon again.

Christina Beltran 760-942-7455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel has recently been renovated, which it desperately needed. The location close to beaches, shops and restaurants is great. Denny's restaurant shares the same parking lot, as does Tomiko Japanese restaurant. If you want a quieter room, ask for one overlooking the ocean, the rooms overlooking the garden are closer to IH5 and are quite noisy. The small garden is where people take their pets for walks. Very nice breakfast room overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Kay S

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the recent updates to the property do please you. We do love our pets here at Best Western Encinitas. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. It does offer a great start to the day.

We do hope you will join us again. We thank you for staying with us.

Christina Beltran 760-942-74155
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.1 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.3 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
36 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach

Property: Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Address: 85 Encinitas Blvd, Encinitas, CA 92024-3625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque shoreline of Moonlight Beach, Encinitas Inn & Suites, a Best Western International Hotel, is the perfect place for business or pleasure. Just 30 minutes from the San Diego International Airport, the hotel is at the center of all major San Diego attractions. We at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites in California pride ourselves in providing prompt and friendly service to our customers. Enjoy your visit in Encinitas while staying in our comfortable and spacious rooms of Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites equipped with all the amenities you'll need. Check out the current rates and visit our specials for the latest discounts available to our online visitors. All the rooms at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, remote controlled cable television including HBO, king and queen size beds, coffee maker, hairdryer, refrigerator, air-conditioning etc., make your visit memorable and relaxing. King and Queen Suites are some of the specialties, which we provide to our customers. Enjoy a day relaxing around our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Encinitas Inn And Suites At Moonlight Beach
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Best Western Encinitas Hotel
Encinitas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing