We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real bargain on California Coast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Leon, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real bargain on California Coast.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The whole property is an exceptional find on this coast--well groomed, lush foliage, quiet; large, well appointed room--great ocean view; huge balcony; free covered parking and breakfast (we did not try the breakfast). Very accessible to area attractions. AND the price is right!!

Room Tip: Second level or higher for great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We would like to thank you for writing a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that your stay was enjoyable and suited all your needs. We take pride in this property and the location is wonderful. It is a true gem in Encinitas.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    203
    81
    60
    26
See reviews for
269
140
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The check in was easy and Misha was very kind. Had 3 other friends stay in rooms here as well. I couldn't believe how large the rooms were!! Nice to have space! I have to say, we had a nice color of paint in our room, cream & rust. Made our room nice & bright but My friend had a nice color, green but it made their room extremely dark. A few stains on carpet, to be expected I suppose. The breakfast was perfect, quick, easy, and complimentary
We would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad this location served you well. We are also glad you enjoyed the new paint color in the rooms. We recently added this touch to all our second floor double queen bed rooms. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and all the other amenites this hotel has to offer. The rooms are very spacious and with the nice balcony it makes for a very comfortable stay. We are in the process of doing deep cleaning in our rooms and this will take care of the carpet issues. We do want to keep up a standard of a clean property. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for four nights over Christmas. We had a gorgeous ocean view from the lovely balcony and got a good deal through Priceline, but the beds were way too soft, just needed to be replaced, and the rollaway bed was pretty awful. I woke up every morning with the metal frame sticking me in the side and my body sunken in the middle while my head was far higher on the giant pillows. It also had a strange air to it, almost chemical-ish and we woke every morning feeling dehydrated and uncomfortable. So, the sleeping wasn't great. But it worked wonderfully in the free breakfast, friendly staff, and amazing location. I was able to go do some work by the pool and there's even a little park area with a bench under a beautiful tree.
We wouldn't stay there again, but it could be great with new beds and something done about the air?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. It is our goal that every guest leave satisfied and I would like to know how we can remedy this negative experience into a good one. Please call me and I will be happy to recitfy the situation and be able to know which room it was specifically so we can repair the room and replace the beds. I will also ask the housekeeping what products they have been using. We do not want any guests to leave unsatified.

Please call me at 760-942-7455 and I look forward to assisting you.
Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We didn't have high expectations for our stay in Encinitas, but the Best Western was a very pleasant surprise. My wife and I (grandma and grandpa) and our two grandchildren age 2 and 6 needed a place in Encinitas and settled for the Best Western. It was great. The check-in was very quick and pleasant (nice lobby). Parking was very easy (big area, under cover), room was very large and clean, beds were very comfortable (two queens), patio was large with a nice view (partial ocean and park across the street), breakfast was excellent for me and the grand kids (eggs, pancakes, waffles, cereal, juices, fruit donuts, pastries etc.). I will stay here every time I stay in Encinitas (which will be often).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachhaygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad we surpassed your expectations and surprised you.
We pride ourselves on our service, cleanliness and comfort. It certainly pleases all the staff that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to serving you and your family again in the future. Have a wonderful new year!

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed twice at this Hotel. On one occassion we took the family to Legoland and stayed at one of their suites. The suites were very clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable, however the sofa bed mattress was not. I recommend that you ask for a folding bed instead. Legoland was not too far away (about 15 minutes drive).

On a separate occassion we stayed there on our way back from Baja California. We stayed at a standard room and again the room was very clean and the bed comfortable.

The rooms are very spacious. The breakfast area is awesome and the breakfast is pretty good. The location is great as the hotel is located near a nice seaside town. The service is pretty good. Staff was friendly and helpful.

There a plenty of good restaurants nearby, but I recommend the nearby Mexican restaurant. Ask the staff at the lobby and they will guide you to the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your delightful review. We are pleased you had an excellent time here in Encinitas and at Best Western Encinitas. The downtown is charming and we are proud of our "small town" feel. Most of our staff lives in town and they take pride in assisting our guests with recommendations and tips about Encinitas.

We look forward to seeing you here again at the hotel.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM USA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the BW Moonlight Beach twice during a recent trip to Southern California. At the front desk, Misha and other staff members were very courteous and professional. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. It is an older property but it is well maintained. You can hear the Coaster - we asked for a quiet room and felt the noise was minimal. For the price, it is an excellent place to stay. There is a beautiful park across the street - perfect place to take children. We travel to Encinitas several times a year and we will come back to this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tjstjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It certainly pleases us that you had a great stay. We do pride ourselves on our location and our excellent staff. Thank you for mentioning Misha and the rest of the staff. We love to do all that we can to accomidate our guests.

We hope to see you soon again. Do call us directly and we will be happy to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Encinitas is a seaside community just North of La Jolla. The BW Inn is in easy walking distance of beach and restaurants. The rooms are spacious, all have a balcony, and you can see the ocean. You should stay here. But, Christina, our room #101) was great, but it could use an easy chair (or some such piece of furniture).

People, this hotel is a gem and is well worth the money. Give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank camusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Valued Guest for your wonderful review. We are pleased you found the location suitable for you needs during your stay in Encinitas. It is refreshing to hear positive reviews and we thank you for that. The third floor king beds do have leather armchairs, I encourage you to try those rooms during your next visit. The suites will be getting armchairs in the near future.

We appreiciate you as a guest and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.1 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.3 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
36 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach

Property: Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Address: 85 Encinitas Blvd, Encinitas, CA 92024-3625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque shoreline of Moonlight Beach, Encinitas Inn & Suites, a Best Western International Hotel, is the perfect place for business or pleasure. Just 30 minutes from the San Diego International Airport, the hotel is at the center of all major San Diego attractions. We at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites in California pride ourselves in providing prompt and friendly service to our customers. Enjoy your visit in Encinitas while staying in our comfortable and spacious rooms of Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites equipped with all the amenities you'll need. Check out the current rates and visit our specials for the latest discounts available to our online visitors. All the rooms at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, remote controlled cable television including HBO, king and queen size beds, coffee maker, hairdryer, refrigerator, air-conditioning etc., make your visit memorable and relaxing. King and Queen Suites are some of the specialties, which we provide to our customers. Enjoy a day relaxing around our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Encinitas Inn And Suites At Moonlight Beach
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Best Western Encinitas Hotel
Encinitas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing