We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach stay just north of San Diego” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beach stay just north of San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

An outstanding location for your San Diego and environs vacation; north of the city, but so close to La Jolla, Wild Animal Kingdom, and Legoland just couple miles away. I-5 just a block away, but you won't hear a thing because you're up way high overlooking the Pacific and the legendary Moonlight Beach. Walk across the street for one of the nicest playgrounds/parks in the county, and the Pacific is only about 2 blocks away. Walk to lunch and dinner and shopping in downtown Encinitas, leave the car in the parking garage. Large rooms/suites for families, lovely pool and complimentary breakfast 'up and away' from the madding crowds. Great cocktails and dinner in adjoining restaurant with views of ocean and sunset. Great value, where we stay when visiting our son and family in Carlsbad.

Room Tip: Request room closer to ocean for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneWNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful and informative review. It is great that you were able to paint a picture ofyour experience here in Encinitas. I am very happy this hotel suited the needs of your entire family. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    195
    75
    59
    23
See reviews for
252
137
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel on assignment with Outback Press last summer. This time we returned with our 40-pound Australian Heeler and requested one of the dog-friendly rooms in advance. The room was clean, large and comfortable, with a kitchenette and balcony. It was close to the free breakfast and near the pool. The "doggy potty" area was clean, convenient and had nice grass and benches. This was one of the best dog-friendly hotel experiences I have had. The room was a bit pricey compared to the rest in the area, but well worth it!! I'd return. BTW, Moonlight Beach does not allow dogs, but nearby Cardiff-by-the-Sea beach does. And I HIGHLY recommend St. Germain's Cafe for a dog-friendly experience on their patio. tc-AYP

Room Tip: Be sure to request dog friendly rooms in advance--they have only certain ones so that the pups don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tc-AYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreicate you staying with us again. We love our guests that do bring their pets. We understand how important they are to you. We are glad we can accomiate all guests, whether they need a pet-friendly room or not. We look forward to serving you soon again.

Thank you so much

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We enjoyed a recent stay on June 9th and 10th.....first time to experience this really
nice hotel close by the ocean. The room was large and had very nice decor.....
loved the large balcony with a view of the ocean. The bed was wonderful ad comfortable.
We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. Your opinion and feedback is very important to us. We welcome you to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you very much

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We arrived late last night, Sunday June 3 and checked in. The first thing we noticed was the musty smell in the elevator. Why the elevator was lined with carpet..I dunno, but in a humid climate, that needs to be replaced. We entered the room and still the slightly musty smell, but running the fan took care of that. My wife took off her shoes and socks in order to get things unpacked and get comfortable. She took a shower just before bed and she noticed her footprint in the bottom of the tub. We also had issues with the lock not locking, however maintanence took care of it no problem.

I did notified the desk this morning the room really needed cleaning and when we arrived back after a day in Legoland with the grandkids, there was that pesky bug carcass right there behind the door where it had been when we arrived....

Second big gripe, when the maintanence man was working on the door, he told us that the front desk had discount tickets to Legoland which would save us about ten bucks a ticket. GREAT we thought so when we went to the desk on our way out this morning, we asked and were told... "We're sorry, we are all out and they should have them at the front gate." Well, they did not have them at the front gate and my AAA discount only netted us a $7 discount.

Pluses... The breakfast is one of the better ones we have seen. The pool looks like it is properly maintained and it is just a hop skip and jump to a nice beach. The room are large and the shower works well. We will see how they respond when I call in the morning to have the room cleaned again...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingAZTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your opinion is very important to us. I am sorry about the state of your room, if you would like for us to move you to another room, we would be happy to do so. We have informed housekeeping of this issue and we are investivagating why this had occured. As far as the Legoland tickets, we apologize for this inconvience. We do get our tickets on consignment and there are limitations to this senerio. I am sorry that you were misinformed. I am making an adjustment on your room for all the troubles that have occured and I am sorry this affected your stay. Please contact me directly if you need anything else.
Thank you.
Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites for three nights in May 2012 before the Memorial Day weekend. The room was very good size and nicely furnished (somewhat exceptional for hotels of this category), and there was a large balcony with partial view of the ocean and the Monarch Beach. The bed was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was quite good. The hotel has easy access to the freeway (I-5). The best thing about the hotel was the price - very reasonable especially with AAA or senior discount rates. It would be difficult to match the price and quality anywhere in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay last spring in our hotel. We do take pride in making sure that each guest is statisfied with their experience here at Best Western Encinitas.
We appreciate you and look forward to serving you again.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel, the first was 11 years ago. We were interested to see if things had changed. It seemed like a friendlier place this time, and the rooms had been updated with wifi and a great big flat screen TV. The room was very comfortable, although we would have liked a firmer mattress. The breakfast was great, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We didn't have time to do all of the things that they suggested, so we'll have to do them next time. The noise of the passing trains was quite loud, but we got used to it after the first night. We definitely won't wait another 11 years to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SujoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you had an opportunity to try us again last May. We pride ourselves in our service and cleanliness. Thank you for your postive feedback and come back and see us soon.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich/Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and we liked the kitchenette. Yet, this hotel is a bit dated and we have to say that we have experienced better value for the money in other places we stayed at. One front desk employee was friendly and helpful, but was wearing an informal shirt instead of a uniform, and another one seemed somewhat distracted when we checked out. The noise from the coaster train was a bit disturbing. We appreciated the complimentary breakfast, but it was standard fare. All in all, we rate this as an average stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I have taken into account your concerns and have addressed those issues at hand. You, the guest are most important to us here at Best Western Encinitas. If there is anything I can do to recitfy the situation please call me directly. 760-942-7455. We value your opinion.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.1 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Legoland Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.8 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
Address: 85 Encinitas Blvd., Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque shoreline of Moonlight Beach, Encinitas Inn & Suites, a Best Western International Hotel, is the perfect place for business or pleasure. Just 30 minutes from the San Diego International Airport, the hotel is at the center of all major San Diego attractions. We at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites in California pride ourselves in providing prompt and friendly service to our customers. Enjoy your visit in Encinitas while staying in our comfortable and spacious rooms of Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites equipped with all the amenities you'll need. Check out the current rates and visit our specials for the latest discounts available to our online visitors. All the rooms at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, remote controlled cable television including HBO, king and queen size beds, coffee maker, hairdryer, refrigerator, air-conditioning etc., make your visit memorable and relaxing. King and Queen Suites are some of the specialties, which we provide to our customers. Enjoy a day relaxing around our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Best Western Encinitas Inn And Suites At Moonlight Beach
Best Western Encinitas Hotel
Encinitas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing