We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great value for the area”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I was visiting some friends in Encinitas and their space (and peace) is limited with a couple of kids. When I saw the price at this Best Western--the decision to stay right down the block was a no-brainer.

It's nothing fancy, but the property was clean, the room was comfortable and the staff was friendly. The costmetics could use some updating and the pool could definitely have used some heat. However, if you are looking for a good place to sleep in a town where most rooms cost at least twice the price, this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank errynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate your feedback. Please call us directly. We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Christina Beltran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    203
    81
    60
    26
See reviews for
269
140
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
soulfit
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We actually live in Encinitas but we had some work done on our house so we moved into this Best Western with 2 children and 2 dogs for 5 days. Overall, it was great. We had a pet friendly room with a king bed,sofa bed, balcony and kitchenette. The room was big, the kitchenette and bathroom were really outdated. The staff was amazing, very helpful bringing us whatever we needed (Evelyn was especially helpful and kind). There were quite afew dogs there, so it was a very dog friendly place (and we have big dogs). They have a little grass area out in front of our room. There was a pool and jacuzzi that was nice to have for our kids. This hotel was perfect for what we needed and very reasonable.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room by the grass area if you have dogs and if not, ask for a room facing the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soulfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to tell guests of your experience here.

We look forward to seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This property has excellent rooms, fantastic beds and linens, and all the amenities you can expect at a BW hotel. Our Kingsize bed room had a comfortable seating area, a desk to work on, fridge, large safe and a good size balcony with deck chairs. Will stay here again and again.
Please note that the room had only a bathroom with a large shower stall. No bath tub which is the way to go. If you want to soak check out the pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We value your opinion and appreciate the time you have taken to write this.

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Pros: For a family, the suite with kitchenette was very convenient and nice with granite counters and flat screen TVs. Main bed very comfortable. The decent-sized pool was a bit cool in spring, but the jacuzzi was plenty warm. The included breakfast each morning is a very nice touch. The walk to the beach is reasonably close if you don't have to carry too much stuff (about 3 short blocks?). Room cleaning staff were busily efficient.
Cons: No supplies were originally provided with kitchen. Had to call for plates, forks, and bottle opener, but these were eventually provided. We didn't ask for a view, but did get a large balcony with partial view of ocean in distance. Did NOT like looking right out at the cell towers (disguised as flagpoles) near the adjacent restaurant, as I couldn't help imagining the cellular radiation mushrooming down onto us all night as we slept.

Room Tip: I overheard someone else raving about their view. I personally would request a room as far away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your opinion. We value your perspective and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had a suite which included a separate room for us while our daughter slept in the sofa bed in the main room (which is situated directly in front of the door to the separate room making midnight trips to the bathroom hazardous.) Bed was comfortable although the morning sounds from the Cruiser train were a bit loud. The kitchenette was nice in form over function (absolutely nothing in any of the cupboards, although apparently you can request kitchen items from the front desk). The room was very clean and neat. The bathroom was a bit dated, with low water pressure and a broken switch for the heat lamp. Breakfast was adequate, and the whirlpool was nice, although the pool was a bit cool for "heated". Our only real complaint was the last night of our stay: we had noticed throughout the day contractors working on the room next to ours which was not a problem. Until we returned from dinner and tried to go to sleep to discover that the contractors were still working at 9 o'clock at night and apparently painting the dividing wall which was very noisy. We made two calls to the front desk asking them to have the workers stop for the night which got a return call back stating that if it was a problem for us they would be happy to give us another room. Of course, we responded 'no' since we were all in bed and trying to sleep, but then the noise did stop.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your review today. I am glad you had a nice time in one of our suites. I am sorry that you were not aware of the fact that the kitchen items were available upon request. I will it be known to the staff that they should mention this option to guests at the check in time. I am sorry that the noise from the maintence department occured. Usually the work ends at 4.00 pm. I will also mention this concern to that department. The hotel takes great pride in offering good service and we want all our guests to feel at ease and comfortable. Should you decide to visit us again, I assure you that you will have a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We had a problem with the hotel the last time we stayed here. The manager offerred us a complementary room to make amends.
Our second stay was much better. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room had a great view.
The hotel is old, but the rooms have been updated.
Overall we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are glad you came a second time. We are pleased that this visit was better than your last visit. Please let call us directly and we will be happy to assist you and offer you the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our family of two adults and two teens stayed here for a week on spring vacation. The property was easy to find and centrally located as a starting point for driving north to the LA area or south to San Diego. (about 25 miles from the SD airport)

The breakfast was quite adequate and the serving dishes promptly restocked during the busy time of the morning by the pleasant attendent. We had a double queen room that was very spacious and we enjoyed the large balcony. There were quite a number of guests but our room was quiet and comfortable. The beds felt great after busy days of sight-seeing.

It was a little cool during our stay but we did use the pool and hot tub once and they were both well kept and enjoyable. The bathroom for our room was clean but the fixtures a little bit dated and fair to poor water pressure in the shower - a minor issue. There is a nice parking garage with convenient elevator access. Overall, we would definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thistledew4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbelt, Manager at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
We are so pleased to here that this hotel satisfied your needs during your stay here in Encinitas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.1 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.3 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
36 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach

Property: Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Address: 85 Encinitas Blvd, Encinitas, CA 92024-3625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque shoreline of Moonlight Beach, Encinitas Inn & Suites, a Best Western International Hotel, is the perfect place for business or pleasure. Just 30 minutes from the San Diego International Airport, the hotel is at the center of all major San Diego attractions. We at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites in California pride ourselves in providing prompt and friendly service to our customers. Enjoy your visit in Encinitas while staying in our comfortable and spacious rooms of Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites equipped with all the amenities you'll need. Check out the current rates and visit our specials for the latest discounts available to our online visitors. All the rooms at Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites are exceptionally clean and comfortable. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, remote controlled cable television including HBO, king and queen size beds, coffee maker, hairdryer, refrigerator, air-conditioning etc., make your visit memorable and relaxing. King and Queen Suites are some of the specialties, which we provide to our customers. Enjoy a day relaxing around our pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Encinitas Inn And Suites At Moonlight Beach
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Best Western Encinitas Hotel
Encinitas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing