We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Moonlight Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Moonlight Beach
Ranked #3 of 5 Encinitas B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very much enjoyed my stay in this charming B&B, the bed was very comfortable and window overlooked a little garden outside. The breakfast with fruit, homemade baked good and coffee was perfect and on the morning when I awoke to a rainey day there was a fire in the fireplace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoooMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    23
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
70
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We can't say enough about the Inn at Moonlight Beach B&B. We stayed in the serenity suite and the name sums it up. Comfortable, bright and airy! Lots of windows to let in the warm California breezes. Ann made incredible baked goods for each breakfast, so delicious and the fresh fruit was out of this world. We can't wait to get back to the west coast and stay again in Encinitas at the Inn at Moonlight Beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marthaips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We felt right at home & enjoyed the backyard daily. The location can't be beat -- an easy walk to everything: shopping, restaurants & the beach. Ann was delightful & made special gluten-free muffins just for us, plus had great recommendations for eating out & things to do. Not only will we come back, but want to go back to Encinitas just to stay there!

Room Tip: The Seabreeze was our pick just because there was no footboard. Could be dangerous when you're 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minicooperhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here and it was wonderful. Very picturesque and stylishly furnished, a wide choice of healthy breakfast options and Ann was a great hostess. Just a 10 minute walk from downtown Encinitas and a host of eating places and shops. Also close to the train into San Diego if you want a break from driving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troll001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Even though I was disappointed that we were not directly on beach, I can find nothing to complain about this quaint inn. The information/emails sent prior to arrival explained everything about check in, etc. One email included a several page list of favorite restaurants in area.
Ann, was extremely nice, friendly and helpful. Her homemade breads for breakfast were wonderful. We stayed in Serenity Suite which was a very large 2 bedroom suite,with eating area and kitchen, as well as outside patio. Breakfast was delivered to room!
Room was well appointed and comfortable. There is a train that runs often very close to inn. The noice did not bother us since we live in an urban area. We slept with all the windows open.
There are water features everywhere, and it was delightful to sit on patio, or read in bed with door open and hear the fountain.
There were hummingbird feeders, and many hummingbirds flying around. So delightful to watch.
Would stay at this inn again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slhwk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We didn't actually stay here because the owner would not return our multiple phone calls. We were not able to book online as we only wanted to stay one night and you need to call for single night reservations. We left several messages and not one was returned. They obviously feel they have enough business and don't care to attract new customers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunefeld, Owner at Inn at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We regret that this customer had difficult time reaching us. Single night stays CAN be made directly on the website. As explained on the site, Most B&Bs Require a Minimum 2-Night Stay.
We DO Allow Single Night Stays.... Our reservation system will accept a week-day single-night-stay starting 21 days prior to the check-in date. A weekend single-night-stay reservation will be accepted by the system beginning the Sunday preceding the weekend check-in. See http://www.innatmoonlightbeach.com/discounts.html for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed 9/16 to 9/20.
Well kept B&B. The proprietors, Ann and Terry provide all the little things necessary for a enjoyable stay - they get it!. Their web site says it all. Delicious breakfast start each day. Comfortable beds. Chairs, umbrellas, coolers and ice, towels, boogie boards for the beach. Good references for restaurants. Very convenient for almost anything you want to do along the pacific coast only about 1/2 hour north of San Diego. And yes, the trains do go by pretty close but only for a few seconds, so no real distraction - we never were wakened by the noise. Bottom line, if you like B&Bs give high consideration to this Inn, I think you will enjoy it. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilltopdunwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunefeld, Owner at Inn at Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are so happy that Mr and Mrs "Hilltop" enjoyed their stay. Terry works hard to create realistic expectations on our website and, when guests check-in, he and I do everything possible to make their stay a memorable one. ~ Ann Dunham, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.2 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
0.2 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Legoland Moonlight Beach
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Moonlight Beach

Property: Inn at Moonlight Beach
Address: 105 N. Vulcan Ave, Encinitas, CA 92024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, I'm Mitra Sohrabi. Welcome to my boutique Inn at Moonlight Beach Bed & Breakfast in Encinitas overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We're located on a hillside overlooking Moonlight Beach in the quaint little beach town of Encinitas. The beach is just 2 blocks away; my rooms and suites recall a lovely French Country Inn with private baths, wi-fi & refrigerator. Each morning I'll bake you mouthwatering home-made, warm-from-the-oven pastries with your breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing