We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Leucadia Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leucadia Beach Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Encinitas B&B and Inns
Cedarhurst, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very clean,sweet rooms with a one block walk to beach.Centrally located to everything! I lived in Leucadia in 1977 and even though it has been built up more,the Inn seems like nothing changed.So quaint! I would stay there every time !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
25
34
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, cozy... casual, convenient, cost-effective critter-friendly. Offers most basics you need. Lots of dining and businesses close by.

Weather was chilly, rooms were cold, and use of portable space heater was necessary. Noise from Amtraks and freights several times per hour 24/7. Trains were not as annoying as road traffic, but they leave a nasty soot on everything, even with windows closed. Public beach access is at least a 15-minute walk.

No ice machine, but freezer is big enough to hold a bought bag. The lack of room phones could be a serious issue in an emergency arises when someone is alone and can't get to/use use their own cell.

Management staff is often MIA, a.k.a., not in the office or anywhere in sight. They leave a note that they are on premises. This is a wee bit too laid back; it would be wiser to have a round the clock presence.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DelilahDreggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

we stayed at this beautiful motel and had a great time, we initially planned two days but ended up 10 days there because it was so nice!!!! the lady at the front desk even helped us and gave us many good tips in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My friend and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this quaint but well equipped inn. The room was clean and came with a kitchenette, which we made full use of. The staff was extremely helpful with some extra needs that I had for faxing and copying during my stay. They could not have been more accommodating. Should I ever need a place in Encinitas (or close-by) in the future, I shall be calling them first.

Room Tip: We could hear the train at night, but too us it was a comforting sound. The wall unit fan worked pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S-Girl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I booked a room at this inn the day before. Although I live in south San Diego, I really just needed a change of scenery and to feel like I was on vacation even if I couldn't go far. 30 minutes away from home and a stay here was exactly what I needed. I felt like I was in a whole new place. Outside were small wooden lawn chairs with pillows, a small trickling fountain, tables with turquoise umbrellas and beautiful pink and red flowers. Inside, the room was adorably decorated, clean, simple, roomy and comfortable. The kitchen was stocked, the TV had plenty of channels, there was more than enough space and more than that, the staff was kind, friendly and understanding. The location was prime - on the main highway and less than a five minute drive from everything you could want - shopping, food, surfing, coffee, etc.
I could not have been happier with my decision to stay here, and I recommend anyone looking for the perfect local experience in Encinitas or Leucadia do the same - it is infinitely better than any Hilton or Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia11B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the room in the one story u-shaped section near the office and were worried about the traffic and train noise but those really weren't too much of a problem, however the unevenly burbling "fountain" right outside the door would have been annoying but we were able to unplug it.
We didn't mind the walk to and from the beach each morning (Grandview Beach http://www.beachcalifornia.com/grandv.html ) but on a hot day it would be a tad long. We enjoyed the Just Peachy fruit market right next door.
Never met or even talked with any of the staff. No one was around or available when we checked in (9:30pm) and out (8 am) 4 days later. There was no answer to the "off hours" phone number when we called. Luckily the key was waiting for us when we arrived, we were out during most of the days and didn't have any problems with the room. There was a key drop for check out. Our room had always been tidied up when we returned each night. The chairs in the room are cute ceramic tiled ones but cold and uncomfortable to sit in.
We probably will not stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leucadia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I wanted something affordable but not a motel and this for the price is a wonderful retreat, great location, near beach and can walk to the cute town...the room has tile, clean, character, nice decor, micro,fridge, stovetop, etc, thick fluffy towels, pretty bedspread...nice touches!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
1.9 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.7 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#8 of 9 in Encinitas
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.8 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leucadia Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leucadia Beach Inn

Property: Leucadia Beach Inn
Address: 1322 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-1442
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leucadia Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Leucadia Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leucadia Beach Hotel Encinitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing