We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth going out of your way for”
Review of Firefly Grill and Wine Bar - CLOSED

Firefly Grill and Wine Bar
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mountain Vista Dr.
Description: North County's Sexiest Place to Sip. Seasonal menu featuring local ingredients. Award winning wine list featuring 30 wines by the glass with an additional 100 by the bottle.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way for”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Jim runs a gourmet restaurant that does not act like it. Everything we have ever had here has been excellent. You can make a meal of the hors d'oevres, you can share main courses and you should try the theme nights when he has wine pairings. Without a doubt an underrated gem. Sometimes a bit pricey but not always.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Happy Hour(s)”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stopped at the Firefly for a light dinner. We were seated in the restaurant and given menus and we felt after checking out the offerings, that we didn't want quite as much food, although the set menu with wines was appealing. We got up to leave and the hostess asked us if we would prefer the small plates which just happened to all be half price, including the wine, as it was still Happy Hour. We were thrilled and proceeded to have some of the best food on our vacation at a bargain price. $34 for the two of us included a generous pour of wine and four shared places, lettuce wedge with blue cheese dressing, blue cheese mac and cheese, sirloin tip with mashed potatoes and a trio plate with olives, shrimp and date wrapped with bacon. Highly recommend this restaurant, particularly at Happy Hour!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeamerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A fantastic end to a day of wine tasting”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent the day visiting the wineries of Temecula Valley...Firefly was a wonderful place to spend some time unwinding from our winery hopping...An extensive wine listing tied to a varied menu...We could not ask for anything additional...Our server anticipated our dersire for a relaxing quiet dinner...She made our evening very special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great happy hour!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was the fourth time I've met friends for a late afternoon happy hour, Saturday no less. Delicious choice of appetizers, served on beautiful plates, half of the usual prices. A selection of special martinis for $5 and wines are offered, too. I enjoyed a deep-bodied Malbec with the tenderloin beef bites with brie on a bed of mashed potatoes (heaven!), a wedge salad the kitchen kindly split for us (without asking, nice touch), crabcakes (lots of crab, a nice dose of garlic), and the Tapas Trio- bacon-wraqpped dates (so unbelievably good), an assortment of olives, and shrimp with a tasty romanesco sauce. Our server couldn't have been more accomodating, present at the right time, and friendly.Dinner service was beginning and we saw tables of happy diners with lovely plates.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank af3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobram, Australia
1 review
“Most amazing food we have ever eaten.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our family loved our meal so much while on holidays that we made a point of returning again before we returned home. We thoroughly enjoyed all three courses. The staff were very friendly, the service was great and the atmosphere was wonderful. At forty years of age both myself and my husband have never eaten better food. Our two teenage children thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We have paid the same amount at family restaurants were the meals were nowhere near as delicious nor had staff looking after our dining experience as though we were the most important people in their establishment. We will return for this amazing food next time we come to Queensland.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly Grill and Wine Bar also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing