We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A place for everyone to enjoy

A great family experience. Hike the many trails that take you through the landscapes from around... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Christine L
,
Hong Kong, China
Nice and peaceful visit, amazing display of plants from around the world

Visited the Gardens during a business trip as the zoo was too expensive. The gardens are broken... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
scotttU2747HV
Read all 473 reviews
  
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveler rating
291
135
21
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
135
21
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house children's area fruit trees bamboo forest new zealand for sale gift shop native plants few hours different parts of the world chocolate festival different varieties special events every month great place for kids couple of hours all ages
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

A great family experience. Hike the many trails that take you through the landscapes from around the world. One of my favorites is the bamboo forest. Nearby there is a view tower to climb where you can see the ocean and surrounding hills. Hike to the waterfall and view it from several vantage points.

If you have children, the two children's playgrounds are amazing. There is a tree house to explore with rope bridges and caves. There is a man made stream for small children to play in.

There is also an exhibit building with art by local artists and another children's playground nearby.

The small shop always has plants and art for sale at great prices.

Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the Gardens during a business trip as the zoo was too expensive. The gardens are broken out into regions of the world. It was cool to see the plants from various hemispheres. They have both wide paths and small trails, so it immerses you into the feel of the area that the plants represent. All the plants are labeled and many have interesting facts, if you have time to read them. They have an outlook at the top of the hill and you can see the coast. In the center near the car park is a bathroom, gift shop and small food shop.

Thank scotttU2747HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great spot for kids - firs tTuesday of the month is free admission. Our two girls (4 and 6) love the kids play area. Huge treehouse with climbing rope and more. Huge building blocks and sand area with trucks etc. and we look at all the beautiful flowers and plants walking in

Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

enjoyed these gardens more. I found them to be interesting, but unkempt. The beauty
can be found for nature paths were all around. The plant sale was going on so entry fee was lowered. There were many fruit treees unmarked so many rotten fruit laid on the ground. I have visited many gardens this was my most disappointed one. Possible more volunteers needed for upkeep. Please note the paths are full of beauty.

Thank SidBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The gardens are superb. The plants are beautiful and well taken care of. My only complaint, and it is minor, is that more plants should be identified. That said, visiting the gardens is a great way to spend 1-2 hours. You could probably spend longer if you want to wonder off of the paved paths, but there is much to see and enjoy. Note, this is a desert garden. Lots of cacti, succulents, bromeliads, many of which were flowering. They also have a great gift shop.

Thank BT20812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

An expensive walk around a garden. Took the kids , Visting from out of town, save your money and go the zoo.
Looks like it's not getting the attention it needs, sorry San Diego , you can do better.

Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

A huge and varied botanical garden, you can easily wander around here all afternoon. Use the little map they give you. The place is very shady and very peaceful, with countless gorgeous trees from different parts of the world, and some amazing-looking plants you will not have seen before. There is also a great deal of interesting outdoor sculpture here.

Some of the garden areas are on slopes, so it is fairly good exercise to walk all around, and I think it might take two or three visits to see everything.

I love the Bamboo Garden, and the adjoining area of tropical fruit trees. The children's garden usually has a lot of butterflies and birds, especially when the butterfly bushes are still in full flower (October is a bit late for that).

Thank invertpaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

My wife and I wandered the grounds for a couple of hours. Watch the weather, by the time we left at noon, it was getting pretty warm. There are plenty of places to stop and rest and lots of shady areas. The children's garden is cute but really could be more whimsical (like the 4H Garden at Michigan State University or the children's area at Boutchart Gardens in Victoria). The gift shop is tiny and the stock is largely oriented to serious gardeners. This was very reasonably priced $18 for adults and $12 for active military and adults over 60 (parking included).

Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Off the beaten path. It is due east off I-5, about two miles. We got off at Leucadia. By mid-morning in early October it was getting very warm. Well worth the trip.

Thank zuchrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

You can travel the world in one place! From a bamboo forest, to waterfalls, to New Zealand shrubs, to cork trees....this garden has it all. It's fabulous. Best or all, there are sculptures sprinkled throughout, sculptures for sale (although I don't know how they come up with prices like $1010 or $981). For a delightful day, visit the garden!

1  Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews