We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular gardens with a wide variety from every region”

San Diego Botanic Garden
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore four miles of garden trails, enjoy restful vistas, flowering trees, majestic palms, and the nation’s largest bamboo collection. Thanks to our mild climate, plants from all over the world thrive here. Our diverse topography provides a variety of microclimates giving the visitor a sensation of going from a desert environment to a tropical rainforest, all within 37 acres.Located 30 minutes north of San Diego in Encinitas, California, San Diego Botanic Garden features numerous exhibits, including rare bamboo groves, desert gardens, a tropical rainforest, California native plants, Mediterranean climate landscapes, succulent gardens, an herb garden, firesafe landscaping, a subtropical fruit garden, and native coastal sage natural areas. In June of 2009, we opened the Hamilton Children's Garden, the largest interactive children's garden on the West Coast.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“spectacular gardens with a wide variety from every region”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is such a beautiful place to go and unwind and also learn about all landscapes for all regions. Has a Childrens Garden which is also very adult friendly. So many off the beaten path areas to see.Almost 28 different garden areas to see., No restaurant. Has a gift shop and plant shop also just a small snack kiosk so bring your own.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank monetkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    120
    17
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, friendly staff, worth a visit.”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We visited this Garden on a weekday, so there were no crowds and parking was available. The garden is beautiful, full of flowers. trees and fruit orchards. My only regret was that they won't let you eat the fruit! Some of the paths did not seem suitable for wheelchairs, as they were unpaved. There was a lovely children's garden near the parking lot, easily accessible for strollers. The shop is small but nicely stocked and the staff in both the shop and the garden were very friendly and helpful, If you like gardens, this is worth a visit.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ramblingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A beautiful delight”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This place was an unexpected surprise. We gave ourselves 2 hours to visit, but stayed 3 hours and could have stayed longer. The walks through the various regions of plantings from regions of the world that have the same cllimate as Encinitas area. The bamboo forest was amazing. We never knew that there were so many different types of bamboo. The banana grove was fun as well as all the other exoctic fruit trees and the usual fruit trees.
There were so many different plants to see and learn about from various climates--from dessert to rain forest. Overall it was a relaxing and informative adventure. We also got plenty of exercise walking through the gardens
Afterward we went to Jake's in Del Mar for lunch. Right on the sand. A great place.
We hope you get a chance to visit and enjoy the gardens.
daisyCalifornia

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected but wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Beautiful times 3! Excellent children's garden, my kids had a blast!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank busymama1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful little gem, esp for families visiting with children”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

San Diego Botanical Garden (aka Quail Botanical Garden) is not as big nor at the same level as some of the great gardens I've been to - Singapore Botanical Gardens and Kew Garden for example. But it is a wonderful gem nevertheless. it is a staple for families in the area and it is a great place to go for visitors worn out by the crowds at say Legoland or Sea World. Here, your child can play and wander among nature. The Hamilton Children's Garden offers a nice "tree" for clambering about, a stream for splashing in, and lots of other things to touch, feel and play actively in. The Seed of Wonders garden is for younger children and very pleasant. The bamboo forest as well as the edible orchard is great for exploring too. I took my child to Disneyland, which she enjoyed greatly. But I felt that she was happier playing monkey on the tree the next day. Highly recommended! There is onsite a small store for purchasing snacks. Little children's potty and little sink in the Seeds of Wonder. During Summer, there are special music programs in the evening.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank jaczxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing