We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, clean place to stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel was nice, clean, and close to everything. Very nice Italian Restaurant within walking distance. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Price was very reasonable for hotel close to beach. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caligrl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are so delighted to hear that we succeeded in giving you a splendid hotel experience. Being that guest satisfaction is our paramount goal, this serves as a clear confirmation that we are on the right path.

Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you. Without a doubt, they will be overjoyed to learn that they were part of the reason that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our hotel. Thank you as well for noticing the cleanliness of our entire property and for recognizing the convenience our location provides to our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    123
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
106
95
54
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinconning, Michigan
Level Contributor
356 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I reserved this hotel on the day of my stay, and wasn't disappointed with my choice. The young woman at the front desk was very friendly, and was willing to recommend food options. I was checked in quickly, and went to the room on the second floor. It was clean and comfortable. I have no complains about my stay. It was also great to see the ocean from here. (I did get lost trying to find, it, though. There is also a 410 S Coast Highway!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are most pleased to hear that you were not disappointed with your choice to stay at our hotel. We are always after guest satisfaction, hence, this is fantastic news for the entire staff.

It wonderful of you to notice how efficient our check in system is. We value your time and do not want to unnecessarily waste it. Likewise, thank you for appreciating our staff's friendliness and readiness to help as well as our clean and cozy room.

We certainly hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town. It would a great pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean with a very nice TV and good fixtures. Walking distance to moonlight beach & local restaurants/shops. We didn't bother with the breakfast (with good restaurants nearby), but coffee was good with flavored creamer provided. Overall, we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowgirlteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
It pleased us immensely to read that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. It is wonderful to know that we were able to attain our paramount goal which is guest satisfaction.

Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you. Without a doubt they will be thrilled to hear that they were part of the reason you enjoyed your stay.

We wish to thank you for appreciating our great location and affordable prices. This means a lot to us since we take great pride in our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you with us. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel was in a good location & was nice & clean but the cleaning staff was clearly not trained in customer service & were on the rude side. Good value but saw 3 toilets right outside hotel in clear view.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We wish to thank you for finding the time to share your experience at our hotel.
It saddens us to hear that although you were impressed with our ideal location and clean and comfortable rooms, you were not entirely happy with our housekeeping staff. We are sorry to learn that you found them to be on the rude side. With our paramount goal being guest satisfaction, we value every guest's comments or opinion. Thus, we shall determine why you arrived at such a conclusion and shall implement proper corrective actions.

We are terribly sorry you had to see the toilets we removed and replaced with new ones. Rest assured, this will not happen again. We shall see to it that none shall be within sight of any of our guests.

We sincerely hope that you will visit us again. It would a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The employees were great. The room was great except for the smell!!! We had to buy candles and spray it smelled so bad. Also there were two toilets right outside our window sitting against the fence. REALLY!!!! Who does that??? Haul them away or at least hide them somewhere. Other then that very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are very delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel thanks mostly to our great staff.

We have a rule in place that no room should be surrendered for occupancy unless it has been determined that everything is in order and it is spotlessly clean. Hence, it is very disturbing to learn that the room you occupied had a terrible smell. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

We are terribly sorry that you had to see two unused toilets outside your window. We are in the process of replacing old ones. Rest assured, we will to see to it that no unused toilets will be within sight of our guests.

It was wonderful to have you with us. We hope you will come visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Az
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This little gem is in a great location very close to the beach. Cleaning staff is superb. Rooms are dated and with minimal furnishings, but beds are comfortable and TV are large flat screens. It is quiet on the side away from the Coast Hwy. I have found no better accommodation in Encinitas (& lots of awful ones over the yrs).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. There is no better reward for all our hard work to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience than to receive such a positive review.

We are very thankful that you found our location to your advantage and you were happy with our amenities and our quality of customer of service.

It was such a pleasure to have you with us. Please choose to stay with us again when you find yourself in this part of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Room was very quiet lower level at the back of the hotel .the bed was just average but the room was clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The Continental breakfast was very poor and seemed to open late and close early. The breakfast consisted of coffee ,juice, yogurt fruit and very bad pastrys. Complimentary though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back where there is no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your review is important to us, as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures as well as identify areas that we do well at.

It is good to know that you appreciated how clean our room is and how accommodating our staff is.

We want to assure you that we have every desire to address you comment on the free breakfast we offer. We do want our guests to enjoy this most important meal of the day, as such we will be studying how it can be made more enticing and when to start offering it.

We certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again. Your business is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
0.7 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
2.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#8 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach

Property: Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach
Address: 410 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-2529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Encinitas
Encinitas Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing