We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach
Nearby Hotels
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
$159
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveler rating
173
150
48
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
150
48
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone stepsroom was cleanmoonlight beachbagelswalking distance to restaurantssmall hotelfarmers marketcontinental breakfastshort walkwould definitely stay here againgreat value for the pricebudget hotelnice staysan diegocoffee makerlate at nightfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 389 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This little gem is in a great location very close to the beach. Cleaning staff is superb. Rooms are dated and with minimal furnishings, but beds are comfortable and TV are large flat screens. It is quiet on the side away from the Coast Hwy. I have found no better accommodation in Encinitas (& lots of awful ones over the yrs).

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. There is no better reward for all our hard work to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience than to receive such a positive review.

We are very thankful that you found our location to your advantage and you were happy with our amenities and our quality of customer of service.

It was such a pleasure to have you with us. Please choose to stay with us again when you find yourself in this part of town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Room was very quiet lower level at the back of the hotel .the bed was just average but the room was clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The Continental breakfast was very poor and seemed to open late and close early. The breakfast consisted of coffee ,juice, yogurt fruit and very bad pastrys. Complimentary though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back where there is no street noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your review is important to us, as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures as well as identify areas that we do well at.

It is good to know that you appreciated how clean our room is and how accommodating our staff is.

We want to assure you that we have every desire to address you comment on the free breakfast we offer. We do want our guests to enjoy this most important meal of the day, as such we will be studying how it can be made more enticing and when to start offering it.

We certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again. Your business is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly, and it was in a nice location. It was a little noisy because the rooms are all inside and close to each other and the hotel is small. Breakfast could have been a little better. Overall, it was a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeygurl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

It pleased us to know that overall you had an enjoyable stay. We thank you for appreciating our immaculate rooms, our ideal location, and our hospital staff which all came with the reasonable rate you paid. Please know that we have every desire to address your comment on the breakfast selection, as we are always after guest satisfaction.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again. You can trust us to provide you with the same excellent accommodation and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Might still be a bit of construction going on, just call to check, The staff (family run by an Indian family) was very accomodating as I switched rooms several times during my eight day stay. Most rooms are pretty typical, but no matter what econolodge you go to, the rooms always seem out of date, especially the covers, which you are better off putting to the side and also the older blankets (cigarette holes). Just sleep under the sheet. You can walk to Stone Steps beach and even though the breakfast is minimal, there are four great places within walking distance including Pannikin and a bit further Mozy's cafe (great breakfast burro). Coffee with real creamer was usually pretty good. Very minimal noiuse, except for typical Saturday night crowd. Good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for insightful review. We are always after guest satisfaction, hence, your feedback is of paramount importance to us.

We wish to stress that we have every intention of addressing your comments to attain our primary goal of becoming the hotel on top of everyone's list. Please know that there are plans underway to make our rooms more attractive and more comfortable.

It would bring us great pleasure to welcome you back. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stopped in at Econolodge for one night ,ended up staying 4 nights we loved it so much.
Close to everything and walking distance to Moonlight Beach.There antique stores and art places
on north coast highway,also restaurants are few blocks away,it is safe area to walk at night

Room Tip: King beds face the quite side of hotel,which is west side
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Your wonderful review brought so much joy to us. We live for this kind of feedback. There is no better reward than to be greatly appreciated by a guest. Thank you so much for your kind praises which affirmed we are doing things right. It would please us tremendously to welcome you back to the hotel. We hope you will stay with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews