We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach
Nearby Hotels
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
$139
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$338
$325
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$291
$189
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
173
146
47
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
146
47
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone stepsroom was cleanmoonlight beachbagelswalking distance to restaurantssmall hotelfarmers marketcontinental breakfastshort walkwould definitely stay here againgreat value for the pricebudget hotelnice staysan diegocoffee makerlate at nightfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 384 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Our hosts were kind and caring and treated us like family. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need. The baths are exquisite. I loved it that they open the windows when cleaning for some of that fresh ocean air. Very few places do that. Safe and quiet. I would feel very comfortable staying here if I were traveling alone. The hosts have set the bar high for other value hotels! Small lodge with 30 units. Good value. Walking distance to all the good stuff on Hwy 101. I will definitely stay there next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor if you can climb the stairs - rooms on west side a little quieter
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is such a pleasure that we have been great in providing you quality services during your stay with us. Our goal is to cater services to our valued customers like no other hotels can offer. We also make sure that you feel like at home where comfort and great accommodation are always our priority. We are looking forward to serve better on your next stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I was shocked that this motel listed it was "pet friendly". They did not list their fees, and when we arrived, they wanted to charge $25 for 1 night for 1 small dog.

This was and additional - and surprise 33% fee

We travel a lot and with our dog. When I reviewed the website the$25 fee is not posted. Had I known, At that high rate I would have chosen another motel.

I do think the $25 fee is excessive. But what I felt ripped off about was the rate was not published. I find this deceptive and lacks integrity.

In a service industry like tourism, integrity is key. I hope the owners take my comments to heart.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventureguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize that you felt inconvenienced and it is not our intention to mislead you regarding the fee. Our goal is to provide quality services like no other hotels can offer and we always make sure that our valued customers like you get the services more than what they pay for. We are also thankful for bringing this up on our attention and rest assured that this will be discussed on our regular meeting for us improve our services. We hoping that you’ll still leave your doors open for Econo Lodge on your future trips. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time! The rooms were nice and clean. Great to have microwave and fridge. Plenty of room for the 4 of us 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Very close to the beach and lots of places to eat nearby. Staff was awesome. We had room to park our long bed truck, which was nice, this close to the beach. We will be staying here again. If you have problems going upstairs be sure to ask for the first floor, did not see an elevator, not a problem for us. Nice big screen TV, we didn't spend time watching it though to many things to do.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the first floor if you have mobility issues, didnt' see an elevator
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLC1UT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

This serves as a motivation for us to provide constant quality services to our valued customers like you. We are grateful that you had such a great time during your stay with us and we are happy that we have provided you services more than what you pay for. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Needed a low-price alternative close to La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad for a wedding, and this EconoLodge in Encinitas was perfect. The staff was friendly, the parking was easy, the room was simple and clean, the bed was comfy (king size room), the air worked, the window cracked open a little for fresh air but not all the way (for safety), and the refrigerator and microwave were nice to have. Note that the refrigerator is unplugged when you check-in... so if you need it, plan on waiting for it to cool down. We missed the free breakfast, but there are lots of places to eat down the street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-biztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you really had a great time during your stay with us. This feedback serves as a motivation for to do more and give more. Our customer always matters to us and we always make sure that we are provide them the services that they truly deserve.We hope to see you again the soonest. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed here two times, every time it was an excellent experience. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room was perfect great bed, clean. The morning breakast was fine as well. If your in Encintas and need a place to stay try this platinum award winning hotel. Great job and hats off to their high standards.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your stay and for mentioning our location. We always provide to our valued customers like you an accessible location, clean, cozy environment and excellent customer service. We’re glad that we have provide these services to you. By this, we are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews