We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Nice place by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A very nice econo lodge,and fairly priced given that places near the beach are always more cost wise.The family who run the place seem very very nice,and you can see from all sides that they run a very tight ship.The place is very clean and safe.The room was small with one bed for my daughter and self,the bathroom was clean and appointed with granite shower and vanity top but for some reason the shower head was down very low,I am short,but had to kink my neck to get my head under it.They do night provide conditioner just shampoo.The bed was ok but the pillows were of the inexpensive puffy kind.After a wonderfully day at the beach we were happy to return here.There is a whole foods down he coast nearby.The breakfast is not their strong suit very minimal but eatable.I'd be ok with staying here again although there other places in the same price star range nearby that I would probably prefer,by the virtue of a bigger room.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Stevo3808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Guest
We really appreciate your time in making this review. We are happy that you have chosen to stay at Econo Lodge and the good thing is that you had a great time during your stay. We always make sure that our place is clean and cozy to make our valued customers feel like home. We will make sure that we will maintain the services that we have and further identify our flaws for us to better serve on your next stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 353 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We arrived in Encinitas much earlier than expected (approx. 1pm) and had no problem checking in early. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. I was a little concerned about the train directly across the street from the hotel but this was not a disturbance at all as the train is a commuter train with only 2 or 3 cars, it is very quiet and you only hear it slightly if your window is open (not at all if your window is closed and have the fan/ac on). Continental breakfast was sufficient and well maintained, hotel is located a very short walk thru a beautiful neighborhood to a wonderful beach that is not at all crowded. Hotel is very close (walking distance) to many restaurants and a very short drive or slightly longer walk to downtown Encinitas. Easy access to I5 to explore the San Diego area. Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time in writing this wonderful review. We would like you to know that we are happy that you had an excellent time during your stay. Our goal is to provide our customers great accommodation, affordable but impeccable service, clean and cozy location. We are glad that you have experienced that. We are looking forward on your next stay. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

At this time of year alot of the hotels near the beach are booked and very pricey. Even the "modest" hotel/inn we usually stay at was charging over twice as much. I felt pretty lucky when I found a room through AAA and so we were going to be able to escape the 107 degree heat for a couple of days.Front desk was very pleasant and welcoming. When entering room it didn't have that "Air Freshner" smell, the decor was cheerful, furniture was a pretty wood, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and both carpet and tiling was clean. Complimentary breakfast had some of the best coffee, fresh bagels, etc., was ample. another bonus was the cathdral ceiling as it's really easy to stand up your surfboard, if you surf, like my husband does:) Will return to this location, for sure, and hopefully, sooner than later! Janet H. Sun City,ca

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet92586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending some time in making this feedback. We are glad that we have provided you the services that you deserve. Our customer service staff is committed to provide you assistance all throughout our customer’s stay. It is also nice to know that you as our valued customer had a great time during your stay with us. We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel was fine. The room was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. It felt a little faded (i.e. carpets/bedding/curtains). The tiny swimming pool is in the parking lot in front of the hotel and adjacent to the main road, so not relaxing or worth using, especially since the beach is not far. It seemed a little overpriced. The rooms are bigger than the Days Inn, but it feels a little shabbier. The location is a little further out of the town, so not within walking distance of the Encinitas restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time in making this review. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. We assure you that this feedback will be discuss on our management meeting for us to identify our areas of improvement for us to provide quality services. Despite your experience during your stay, we are still looking forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here one night en route from downtown San Diego back up to SF Bay Area and was favorably impressed by how nicely maintained this hotel is. Looks like the rooms were recently renovated (carpeting, bathroom tiles, granite counters, and shower walls looked very new) and you get the sense that the management takes pride in keeping the facility in excellent condition. Front desk staff was very helpful and courteous.
Even though it's on a busy road, once we got in to our room (2nd floor, northwest corner) we were impressed by how quiet it was. Room felt spacious, beds were comfy. Short walks to restaurants and beach. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilyCatsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking some time in making this great feedback. It is so flattering to know that you really had an awesome stay here at Econo Lodge. We would always want you to enjoy our services, great accommodation and impeccable customer service staff that could provide you assistance all the time. Rest assured that we will maintain our services and improve what needs to be improved. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel was everything the previous reviewers said it was. The management was attentitive to our needs, the room was very quiet and very clean. We stayed there 4 days and felt like it was our home away from home. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A little noise from the AC, but certainly not something to complain about
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcoops160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are so thankful for this wonderful feedback about your stay at our hotel. Our customer service is our best asset here at Econo Lodge. We always aim to provide you a cozy and accessible location. We always prioritize your comfort and impeccable accommodation. We are looking forward to serving you again on your future trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is definitely the nicest Econo lodge I have ever stayed at. The room was big, the beds were comfortable and most important the room was clean. The breakfast was pretty good (cereal, juices, bagels, toast, and fruit). This hotel is a five minute walk to the beach which is fantastic and twenty minute drive to downtown San Diego. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are glad that you had a great time during your stay. Our goal is to provide our valued customers a cozy environment, accessible location and impeccable services. We assure you that this will be maintained for us to always meet your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Encinitas hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
0.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn - Encinitas
0.7 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
254 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#7 of 9 in Encinitas
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach

Address: 410 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-2529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range: $73 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Platinum Award-Winning Econo Lodge, an Encinitas hotel just 2 blocks to Encinitas Beach and the ocean. The Econo Lodge hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to Moonlight State Beach. This breath-taking wide, sandy beach offers swimming, surfing, fishing and picnicking along with fire pits for roasting marshmallows and hot dogs. This charming Encinitas, CA hotel is conveniently located near popular area attractions including all San Diego beaches, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Sea World, Del Mar Race Track, Del Mar Fairgrounds, Legoland, The Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Quail Botanical Gardens, and La Jolla along with Marine Corps Base Camp Pendelton, Oceanside Harbor, and Cabrillo National Monument. Additionally, San Diego International Airport is 27 minutes from the hotel and McClellan-Palomar Airport is only 8 minutes away. Experience historic downtown Encinitas, established in 1881, featuring antique shops, art galleries, quaint pubs, surf shops, charming coffee shops and amazing restaurants along with historic landmarks such as La Paloma Theatre. Come experience this Platinum Award-Winning hotel’s newly renovated spacious rooms equipped with granite vanities, microwave, refrigerator, 37" Plasma TV and much more in every room. This is a 100% non-smoking facility and rooms are also available for the physically challenged. Senior, AAA/CAA, Corporate and Weekly rates are offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Encinitas
Encinitas Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing