We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Everything about this hotel is average or a bit below. If you aren't desperate, choose another one. No elevator, beds mediocre, breakfast mediocre, not real close to the beach, and the fridge hadn't been cleaned out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaybee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

We really apologize if you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We respect your opinion and in fact, we have discussed all the concerns that you raised on your review. The next time that you will come here, you will definitely have a great time. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 353 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms in the hotel, which helped ease the pain of being in town during San Diego's worst weather in years, raining all day the three days we were there. Great breakfast selection for the space they have available, only a couple blocks from the beach, and walking distance to a multitude of great shops (Lou's Records, Ducky Waddles, and Pannikin were some fav's).

A bit out of the way from downtown San Diego, but great as a base for heading south to there and north to Temecula if wine's your thing.

I'd gladly stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InkedGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity of providing your accommodation needs.
Your positive review assures us we have made a good effort to ensure our guests are comfortable and have great experience in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I spend about 40-50 nights a year in hotels across the nation, and this is the first time that I had zero complaints with the facility. The owners treated us like family and ensured all was perfect. They were quick to respond to all our requests. Closest easily accessible beach was less than a mile, there is one two blocks away, but, you have to go up alot of stairs. My only suggestion would be to add a business center and more pillows. But it is an econo lodge. good wi-fi- though.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alyvenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am so lucky to have staffs that enjoy their job and cares about the guests that stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed for 15 nights while in town for a two week yoga teacher training and everything was perfect: 4 minute walk to Stone Steps beach through a quiet neighborhood, friendly front desk staff, free Wi-Fi that always worked, super, super clean room, simple breakfast, quiet room which overlooked a neighborhood with trees (all rooms have screens and double paned windows).

The in-room coffee maker, microwave and fridge in the kitchenette were very helpful during my long stay. It was great to have the A/C, though I only needed it three nights out of fifteen. I highly recommend this hotel for short/long stays. I stayed in a top floor, off street facing room and would recommend that to folks who are light sleepers as the trains run across the street BUT they stop around 9:30PM so it should not be an issue regardless of which way your room faces unless you like to take naps in the afternoon :-)

The best part: you can walk along Stone Steps and Moonlight beach to downtown Encinitas in about 20 minutes - that's a great way to get there without the hassle of driving and trying to find parking.

Even recommended this place to a fellow yogini in the training and she had a great stay as well.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleanairgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you very much for the heart-warming review on our effort to implement further improvement in the services we provide for all our guests. Your input showed we have sufficed quality accommodation well deserved by all our guests for giving us your business. And thank you so much in recommending our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Great location but the beds are awful. Dirty room. Wash basin located in main room so that you had to go out of the bathroom to the main room to wash your hands after using the facility. Offers weekly rates to local transients. No TV guide on TV or in room so was difficult to watch TV. Outlets difficult to use for computer. Refrigerator did not work properly. Would not stay here again ever!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jalee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to share your views about our Hotel. Reviews such as yours are most welcome and it motivates us even more to further improve our services that our guests have enjoyed over the years we are in the business. It is unfortunate that we never had the opportunity of providing the accommodation to your exacting preference but we assure you that we are as well most capable of providing flawlessly, superb quality of service to all our valued guests. We appreciate your time in sharing your views about our hotel. We look forward to another opportunity of providing accommodation to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We had a great experience. Clean Rooms. Walking Distance to shops, restaurants and ocean. Friendly Staff. Nice Breakfast. Overall Great Value!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Your reviews are of utmost importance to us and we aim to provide nothing less but the best experience for all our guests as you all deserve to have high quality of services for giving us your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

I have a small, quiet, well behaved dog and have stayed here before without having any pet charge. This last time, the front desk was quite rude and charged us pet charge we had never paid in past. There was a pair of yappy little dogs living next door to hotel in a yard, and they never shut up. The walls are paper thin and we heard the neighbor's TV all night long. The lady at front desk was surly and rude. I'm taking this one off my list. I recommend the Best Western across the freeway as a much better choice. The people were much nicer, and the rooms were much, much cleaner.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank precipice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your recent stay in our Hotel especially when it comes to your pet. We assure you this will be properly evaluated and immediately addressed so that corrective measures will be implemented to ensure utmost attention to details is practiced. Thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about the facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Encinitas hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Moonlight Beach
0.4 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn - Encinitas
0.7 mi away
Best Western Encinitas Inn & Suites At Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#7 of 9 in Encinitas
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach

Address: 410 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-2529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range: $72 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Platinum Award-Winning Econo Lodge, an Encinitas hotel just 2 blocks to Encinitas Beach and the ocean. The Econo Lodge hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to Moonlight State Beach. This breath-taking wide, sandy beach offers swimming, surfing, fishing and picnicking along with fire pits for roasting marshmallows and hot dogs. This charming Encinitas, CA hotel is conveniently located near popular area attractions including all San Diego beaches, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Sea World, Del Mar Race Track, Del Mar Fairgrounds, Legoland, The Flower Fields at Carlsbad Ranch, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Quail Botanical Gardens, and La Jolla along with Marine Corps Base Camp Pendelton, Oceanside Harbor, and Cabrillo National Monument. Additionally, San Diego International Airport is 27 minutes from the hotel and McClellan-Palomar Airport is only 8 minutes away. Experience historic downtown Encinitas, established in 1881, featuring antique shops, art galleries, quaint pubs, surf shops, charming coffee shops and amazing restaurants along with historic landmarks such as La Paloma Theatre. Come experience this Platinum Award-Winning hotel’s newly renovated spacious rooms equipped with granite vanities, microwave, refrigerator, 37" Plasma TV and much more in every room. This is a 100% non-smoking facility and rooms are also available for the physically challenged. Senior, AAA/CAA, Corporate and Weekly rates are offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Encinitas
Encinitas Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing