We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Coffee Spot in Moonlight Beach Area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lofty Coffee

Lofty Coffee
Ranked #2 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Coffee Spot in Moonlight Beach Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

One block north of Encinitas Blvd on the corner of Coast Hwy & A Street, Lofty Coffee is the perfect coffee-stop in the Moonlight Beach area of Encinitas. The coffee is very good, the staff friendly and helpful, the store bright and airy at its corner location.

Parking can be difficult, and turning down A Street will give you more options.

With Bull Taco now open across the street next to Encinitas Surfboards, Lofty is a good place to meet and enjoy the day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbs92007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Coffee -- worth driving to find; Plus simple-clean eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was recommended by a friend who knew my wife & I love a good cup of coffee -- especially to start the day. This place ROCKS!! Corner location -- so easy to find. Parking could be a challenge, as it's all street parking.

We had Salted Carmel Latte's that were EXCEPTIONAL, and came with design in the foam

We came back the next day, had the same coffee -- but added their poached egg & French toast. AMAZING combination! Including gluten-free!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great spot. With a great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lofty Coffee is a great little coffee shop in a nice spot just on the edge of Encinitas – and right off the Pacific Coast Highway.

The food here is really good, and they make a nice hot chocolate in addition to their fine coffee. They have an interesting menu, and a very modern yet comfortable setup both inside and out on the patio.

The staff here is excellent. Hard-working, creative, fun and quite beautiful. They always keep things interesting.

The beach is just a few blocks away, as is downtown Encinitas. Parking can be found without too much trouble on most days, in the blocks all around the coffee shop. Access to the I-5 freeway (which I would not rate quite so favorably) is also just around the corner, right off Encinitas Blvd, about a block south of here.

Overall, this is an excellent spot. Go check it out. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Coffee could use some improvement!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Lofty Coffee was just down the alley from our lodging at the Moonlight Beach Motel. Convenient sure, but the coffee wasn't anything to write home about. Breakfast was OK, but for a place with 'coffee' in it's name, I was expecting better. The Starbucks instant I made in the room had a stronger flavor.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love Lofty Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had been looking for independent places to get a coffee in the area and just discovered Lofty Coffee in the Lofts work/live complex near Moonlight Beach. I like the emphasis on quality coffee, not tons of fancy add ons. That said I had a "special" (there were 3 listed in a chalk board), a salted caramel latte and it was incredible! No, not salty at all but a wonderful, toasted, not-too-sweet caramel essence. Nice seating outdoors or in, plenty of street parking. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lofty Coffee also viewed

 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Lofty Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing