We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegan food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Native Foods Cafe

Native Foods Cafe
Ranked #34 of 295 Restaurants in Encinitas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vegan food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This restaurant is located in a neighborhood shopping center next to a Ralph's supermarket and near Trader Joe's. They are open for lunch and dinner with plenty of seating available so there's no need for reservations. The prices are around $12 per person. The food is healthy, fresh, appetizing and creative. The ambiance is casual, busy and happy although sometimes noisy. (Outside on the patio is better for conversation.) Definitely kid and even dog-friendly. The menu changes with the seasons and each holiday brings on a special dish. Desserts are lovely and non-guilt provoking. We've joined their buyers' club in order to get a freebie every so often. We're so thrilled to have a reliable vegan restaurant in the neighborhood!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Lots of people have bragged on this place - I did not find anything that was all that great. Average at best. Encinitas has a lot better vegan places than this. IMHO

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Food is bland. This place is good if your a vegetarian. If your a carnivore like me it's just so so.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MillerHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
458 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Gr8 Tasty, Healthy, Large Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I never knew veggies could taste so good. They have amazing items on the menu that even carnivores can enjoy. And thanks to my friends taking me there, I'll return.

We each ordered something different and I got to sample everyone's food, so I really had a treat.

The Native chicken wings are vegan, but fried in a well-seasoned batter and really do taste like chicken. The small salad is very large with yummy shredded beets, carrots, sprouts, seeds, etc. and is enough for the average person. The Sesame Kale bowl had brown rice, kale, sauerkraut, a grilled or baked seasoned tempeh with a creamy sesame sauce and seaweed salad. And the Portobello burger on a delicious whole-grain bun was to die for with caramelized onions and tasted better than many beef burgers. The lavender lemonade and watermelon fresca were amazing drinks, and they also serve craft beers & wines.

All of us took enough food home for another meal, so we didn't have room for desert.

You order at the counter, get your own drink, and they bring your food. The server was attentive checked to see if all was well and brought us take out boxes.

We sat out on the patio which is pleasant and possible most of the year here.
The only downside would be that it is very noisy inside the building with concrete floors.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Delicious food perfect service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stumbled upon this place the middle of last year. We looked over the menu to learn there were no animal products served at this restaurant. We ordered and the food nearly turned us vegan. We have been back multiple times and plan eat there time and time again. Also the service is perfect every time!

Helpful?
Thank goboltsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Foods Cafe also viewed

Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Native Foods Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing