We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is great for all our local surfers!”
Review of Swami's Beach

Swami's Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Coastal Tour of San Diego
More Info
$597.00*
and up
Private Coastal Tour of San Diego
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“This is great for all our local surfers!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We live here in Leucadia and will walk here to see our guys surf! This is a primo spot for our regular surfers as well as surfers from around the world! On year we were here at 3 am because the waves were to be huge due to some weather disturbance at the time. We met a surfer from Australia who came just to surf these almost 20 foot waves ! Took a lot of pic of him with his board. It is small entrance next to the famous Swami's Meditation center next door. They have long stairs to the beach. Comming up is a bi---! ha!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    44
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK beach”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

There were not many people which was nice. The sand is average, the view is average, the beach is average.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank doug s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Beach Walks”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

YOu can walk the actuall beach, which is below the cliffs, or walk along a sidewalk above, which runs along hwy 1 with quite a bit of traffice. Views are great. If you opt to walk on the beach, you would have to descend several stories of wooden steps at Swami's to reach the beach.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlmound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome awesome awesome”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

just about the best place on earth. having lived here my whole life i guess i take it for granted but can still say that this beach is one of the most beautiful around the north county coastal area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surfer's and Acro Yogis”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

A lovely beach with access down a steep set of stars to enjoy surfers and a long leisurely stroll along the beach and comb for shells or meander with your thoughts as birds fly overhead. The small park is exciting on Sunday with Acro Yogis and drummers. Parking is a challenge ,

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swami's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing