We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer selection & daily specials”
Review of Fish 101

Fish 101
Ranked #2 of 296 Restaurants in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great beer selection & daily specials”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Get there early as they have happy hour fish tacos and a couple of other great items. Had one of the best porter beers EVER called Stone Smoked Porter! Huge bottle and had to drink it all there. Luckily my wife was driving. BTW she had the shrimp tacos and loved them. Evidently they are also locally well known for their oysters and have humorous t-shirts with "shucking" expressions written on them, but I'll leave that to your imagination.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMichaelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    122
    29
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
847 reviews
636 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Delicious fish and reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a very enjoyable family dinner. This is a very casual style restaurant. You order at front register and then food is brought to your table. I had the salmon with simple salad and asparagus. It was fresh and tasty. My husband had salmon too - and liked his as well. The staff was friendly and helpful. Be prepared to wait on line - very popular place,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff was great. The food excellent! The fish was fresh and prepared to perfection. A very easy going and relaxed atmosphere with indoor and out door seating. Both the food and drink selection was very extensive. Will be back without a doubt! I highly recommend eating here! The menu changes regularly so you always get something new.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Fish Ever!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Fish 101 is consistently amazing!!! I've tried almost everything on the menu at this point and I've never had a mediocre or bad meal. The fish is the freshest of anywhere I've ever been.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah_ANANAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grilled and grilled just right.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A small, order then sit down local place. Everything was amazing. The service was great. I will definitely go there again when I'm back in San Diego.

They had 3 specials of the day. I had one and chose 2 of the 6 or 7 special sides for my sides. I ordered the grilled shrimp cocktail for an appetizer. They also had desserts that looked great and 3 selections of oysters.

There's seating outside in the front, a large room inside and then a covered patio out back. My party sat out front because it was the most open area and the weather was beautiful as you would expect in San Diego. I really wouldn't want to sit in the patio area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 185miker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish 101 also viewed

 

Been to Fish 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing