We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hospitality as it should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kate Stanton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kate Stanton Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Encinitas B&B and Inns
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality as it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I won't claim to any expert, but I know when someone seems genuinely pleased to have you as a guest. I mean guest as in they'd like you to enjoy your stay. I mean guest in the most welcoming sense. While the accommodations were comfortable and arranged with great care and the breakfast was sensational, it was the attentive and welcoming spirit that made out stay one we will remember for a long time. Put it this way, if Liz and Carol ran a B&B in Pacoima, it would probably be worth a visit to spend a few days with them.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

As a native of San Diego, I was looking for a quaint and cozy weekend near the beach and away from the big hotels. We got that and much, much more! Liz made my husband and I feel at home with incredible breakfasts every morning and a glass of wine at sunset on the deck. Terrific accommodations and we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

How lucky for us. We needed a place to stay while visiting family and happened on this wonderful bed & breakfast. So clean. Such fabulous breakfasts and so convenient. We had so much fun with the innkeeper, Liz, and her co-worker, Carol. We met some interesting people during our 5 night stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeyecyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Liz and Carol are the lovely, laid back hosts of this quaint inn with a beautiful vista and a charming patio to enjoy it! I was in San Diego on business for the first time and wanted to stay somewhere convenient yet tucked away. What a treat! I literally felt miles away from it all and yet with Liz and Carol's guidance, found my way around completely effortlessly (Whole Foods, Yoga, La Jolla, etc.). My expectations were fully met and I felt like I was staying with friends. I had a perfect balance of privacy and time to chat and the glass of wine waiting for me in the evening was such a nice surprise. Not to mention waking up to Liz's breakfast which is literally a beautiful, delicious feast! I was truly spoiled my entire stay! Highly recommend and have already booked my return trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adriward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our 1yr old daughter and we had a wonderful time. Liz & Carol were extremely friendly and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The rooms were in great shape and the breakfast was wonderful. We really can't say too many good things about our stay here.

Room Tip: there is no pool but i don't know how to deselect it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haynietown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just stayed 2 nights at the Kate Stanton Inn with my husband and 11-month old son. To say they were gracious and welcoming is an understatement. From the moment we arrived, Liz felt like an old friend and we were completely at ease in her beautiful home. Traveling with a baby is usually pretty complicated, but this trip was different. Liz cleared out space in her fridge for our baby food and even borrowed a high chair from the neighbor for our son. Speaking of our little boy, he absolutely adored Liz and Carol (and let's not forget Kai the super pup!) We were able to feed him his meals on the patio with the breezes and the lovely view. He just started walking recently and was cruising all over the house with his little feet. He really had a blast and was genuinely sad to leave. The location is great, the home is spacious and relaxing, the breakfast was terrific... I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

In the late afternoon on a sunny day in Encinitas (aren't the days all sunny in the San Diego area?) we found ourselves relaxing on the patio at the Kate Stanton Inn enjoying the view of the Pacific Ocean stretching before us to the horizon and, by casting our gaze a bit to the right, the deep blue waters of Batiquitos Lagoon below, all the while sipping wine (or another beverage if you prefer) and tasting the fruit, cheeses and other snacks the innkeeper, Liz Clarke, had spread before us. It was quite a wonderful start to our three-day stay at the Kate Stanton Inn. In fact, our total experience of the Kate Stanton Inn made it one of the most pleasantly memorable of the many B&Bs we've visited. Liz Clarke's connection to the inn goes back over thirty years as she now lives her dream of being an innkeeper. When you meet Liz you understand why she is perfect for this calling and loves it so much. She truly enjoys meeting her guests and serving their needs while allowing them all the space and privacy they desire. In our case, our conversations with her became a special part of our stay that we looked forward to each day. When we stay at a B&B we consider breakfast to be the first item on our agenda for that day, as significant as the other things we have planned for the day. We look forward both to the breakfast the innkeeper serves and the conversations that occur among the guests. On both counts we were more than fulfilled. The guests were interesting and the conversations lively, and the breakfasts Liz, who is a wonderful cook, served were varied, generous and delicious. The inn itself is spotless and the rooms reflect Liz' homage to both her beloved grandmother (Kate Stanton) and her New England roots. We feel we have made a friend in Liz and found the place where we will stay whenever our travels take us to the San Diego area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
1.5 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.4 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.1 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas - Legoland Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kate Stanton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kate Stanton Inn

Property: Kate Stanton Inn
Address: 1904 Leucadia Scenic Ct, Encinitas, CA 92024-1138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kate Stanton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kate Stanton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing