We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service and extremely rude management” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonlight Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Encinitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonlight Beach Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service and extremely rude management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend while we were on vacation. It has a nice location but the location isn't worth the terrible service and rude management. The front office is not open 24/7 so if you get locked out after hours you will NOT be able to get back in until the police are notified. The police were at the hotel 2 times in one night, so obviously there are safety concerns. And if you smoke cigarettes you must leave the hotel (including the parking lot) to smoke. The rooms were trashy. The entire hotel is trashy. The management there are the absolute rudest people I have ever met. Seriously, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR YOUR TIME HERE!!!!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cowabunga005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    65
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
56
76
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san diego ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

My husband and I found this little motel on the internet and were attracted to the fact that it had an ocean view and was blocks from the beach for a very reasonable price. When we checked in we were impressed by the size of the room and the fact that it had a complete kitchen stove included and dishes for our use. We stayed two nights and the first morning we found a place a block or so away called Diner 101 for breakfast that was excellent. This room was everything the ad said it was the view was gorgeous the room was comfortable and the location was awesome...We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bugbeefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

If you wanta family friendly envoronment this place is for you a block from famous moonlight beach this is a quaint place to stay with a stove, fridge hell you could live there if you lived the life of a surfer!!! Vic c

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank captainvic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Title says it all - you can't be closer to Moonlight beach unless you set you tent right on the beach. The motel is quite old but still in good shape. Some appliances in kitchenette should be displayed in museum - the stove had buttons temperature controls (i think it came from 70's or something) but it did its job. The "breakfast included" consisted of muffins and coffee - 7 days a week with no variations.
Our one and only trip purpose was to spend all our time on a beach (and do nothing else) - and for that purpose this motel is quite suitable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SACTO052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Stayed two nights before Labor Day weekend. Pros: Friendly desk, 3rd floor balcony overlooking the ocean with a large 1br and kitchenette. Easy walk to beach, transportation and downtown. Cons: Charge for wireless internet, Continental Breakfast is a roll and cup o' joe but great alternatives a short walk away. Ambiance: family, early to bed quiet- better plan to party at the beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tacobender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

We found this by accident and booked for 2 nights but were so happy we stayed for 6 nights. Rooms are really clean, well equipped for cooking breakfast, close to I-5 freeway but not too close. and the beach is just a short walk away. Would recommend this unreservedly to anyone

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parkhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

I was going to book a room here for my husband and I for my birthday, till I was told we can't stay up as long as we want at night. If i'm going to pay over a $100.00 a night I don't need a mommy telling me when I have to go to bed. We stayed at the best western Encinitas just a block or so away form this motel. They have wonderful rooms with large ocean view balconies and kitchenetts. I went there last year and thats where we'll go again. I just wanted to be a little closer to the beach. Book on line, it,s cheaper

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank hjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
2.2 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Encinitas- Legoland Moonlight Beach
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Beach Motel

Property: Moonlight Beach Motel
Address: 233 2nd St, Encinitas, CA 92024-3272
Location: United States > California > Encinitas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Encinitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Beach Motel, located two blocks from Moonlight Beach in scenic Encinitas, California, is one of the few true "beach motels" left in Southern California … Referred to as the "American Rivera”, Encinitas has the charm of the past but all the amenities today’s travelers are looking for. There are so many wonderful restaurants, Whole Foods Market and boutiques within walking distance of the motel that you may want to leave your car behind … Locals refer more family and friends to this motel than any other hotel or motel in Encinitas. Its quaint 1970’s charm brings guests back year after year. Some things were just not meant to be changed … All of the rooms have kitchenettes. Whether a romantic getaway, a quiet retreat, or family vacation, make reservations early, we book rooms three months in advance, so you get a room that is best suited for your needs. We try and honor all requests for certain rooms and floors when making reservations, but we cannot guarantee ANY room or number. We will do the best to accommodate your requests … This is a “NO PETS” and "NON SMOKING PROPERTY" In all of the Rooms - Front & Back balconies, walk ways and the patio barbeque area … The office and patio barbeque area closes at 9:00 pm … Quiet hours are from 9:00 pm to 9:00 am in consideration of all the guests … We have the “Good Neighbor Hotel Policy” and do not allow gatherings or parties in the Motel after 9:00 pm. If we receive noise complaints you could be asked to leave and responsible for the room charges of neighboring guest. We look forward to you experiencing The Moonlight Beach Motel, in Encinitas California. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moonlight Beach Hotel Encinitas
Moonlight Beach Encinitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing