We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moonlight Beach Motel
Nearby Hotels
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach(Encinitas)(Great Value!)
$79
$71
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$113
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
$102
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
$125
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$215
$189
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
119
67
8
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
67
8
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managersmoonlight beachwithin walking distanceseparate bedroomsand toysquiet hourssouthern endgreat beachthree generationsshower stallcool breezebeach volleyballshort strollfull kitchencoffee makerrooms are largethird floor room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 204 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2009

If you wanta family friendly envoronment this place is for you a block from famous moonlight beach this is a quaint place to stay with a stove, fridge hell you could live there if you lived the life of a surfer!!! Vic c

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captainvic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Title says it all - you can't be closer to Moonlight beach unless you set you tent right on the beach. The motel is quite old but still in good shape. Some appliances in kitchenette should be displayed in museum - the stove had buttons temperature controls (i think it came from 70's or something) but it did its job. The "breakfast included" consisted of muffins and coffee - 7 days a week with no variations.
Our one and only trip purpose was to spend all our time on a beach (and do nothing else) - and for that purpose this motel is quite suitable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SACTO052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Stayed two nights before Labor Day weekend. Pros: Friendly desk, 3rd floor balcony overlooking the ocean with a large 1br and kitchenette. Easy walk to beach, transportation and downtown. Cons: Charge for wireless internet, Continental Breakfast is a roll and cup o' joe but great alternatives a short walk away. Ambiance: family, early to bed quiet- better plan to party at the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tacobender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We found this by accident and booked for 2 nights but were so happy we stayed for 6 nights. Rooms are really clean, well equipped for cooking breakfast, close to I-5 freeway but not too close. and the beach is just a short walk away. Would recommend this unreservedly to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parkhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I was going to book a room here for my husband and I for my birthday, till I was told we can't stay up as long as we want at night. If i'm going to pay over a $100.00 a night I don't need a mommy telling me when I have to go to bed. We stayed at the best western Encinitas just a block or so away form this motel. They have wonderful rooms with large ocean view balconies and kitchenetts. I went there last year and thats where we'll go again. I just wanted to be a little closer to the beach. Book on line, it,s cheaper

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
5  Thank hjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews