We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jessica and her weekend crew are awesome!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Jessica and her weekend crew are awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wow, this hotel was awesome even though under construction. It was noisy and smelled horrible of paint and chemicals, but the service exceeded my expectations therefore I will return! I stayed quite a few days and was immediately off to a bad start. My admin booked me in doubles near the elevator, I missed my connection flight due to weather conditions and to top it of, the airline lost my luggage and I had nothing to wear and had a very important business meeting with partners in the SF area early the next morning. The Front Desk Manager Jessica took care of me and went the extra mile. I would love to say that she did this because I'm a Diamond member, but I don't really know if she knew or not. Their shuttle wasn't running that night, but she drove me to target anyway at 10:30pm and saved the day!! That night was hectic, but she stayed level headed and seemed happy and eager to help me! She also gave me great recommendations for room service, which I never use. Garden Inn's never usually have good food but it was great this time! I actually ate in the room twice more during the week. The Mobley Burger was excellent. Thanks Jessica!! I know that I can be very demanding, but as a Hilton Diamond member I know my worth and your staff were excellent at accommodating me. The Evening/Weekend Crew were awesome. Ray, Mona, Felicia and Jessica were so fun and kept me laughing at check in and EVERYTIME I walked through the lobby I felt like an old friend!! . A great bunch of girls. It would be nice if the morning crew that I checked out with on Tuesday were the same. They were nice, but lacked the personality and interaction I received on weekends. Their heads were constantly in the computer and not much eye contact at all. All in all this hotel exceeded my expectations for a Garden Inn. It's a large property with great views of the city and bridge. I'll be sure to come back when I'm training again. Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BananaBread22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear BananaBread22, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. This is a fantastic story with a great ending. Our team members are constantly going out of their way to help out guest and most of the time, unless the guest calls me or comments on line, I never know about it. They just do it because they care.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you back real soon. Please stop by and say hello on your next visit.

Sincerely

Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    449
    203
    62
    62
See reviews for
297
266
105
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Good cozy rooms with wonderful views if facing the Bay Area. Good service and scrumptious breakfast.the sunrise views are breathtaking. Lots of hotels/choices in the areas but this one was definitely a good stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank vinitbhavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear vinitbhavi, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We do have a great location and great views! We appreciate your business and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here on my first visit to Emeryville for work. Room was recently remodeled, very clean, and included a nice micro/fridge and lots of space in my king, bay-view room.

The gals at the front desk had great recommendations for a quick after-work run....and wasn't it a super surprise to find out that from the hotel, around the beach path and marina (right to the end of the pier) and back by the road was a perfect 5K?

Restaurant and room service are standard HGI...but the Baja BLT is worth hanging out in the hotel. Yum!

Love the beds here. perfect nice and firm but not a rock.

Overly Picky Cons:
Nice views...only wish was for clean windows...but it had been rainy after a long drought, I'm probably being overly picky.

I did hear folks in either the hall or next door at 4 and 5 am...that was when my sound machine app had shut down. Halls are a bit narrower than in other HGI's I've visted.

Room Tip: I'm thinking a bay view is the only way to go...I'd think the other side would be noisy from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleInMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear MichelelnMD, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. It is always great to hear how our team members were very helpful to our guest. We do have a great team.

I do like hearing accurate and detailed critiques. It really does help us get better. We do have a window cleaning scheduled for this month as it was planned after the completion of the renovation.

Thank you for your business.

Sincerely

Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I just wanted somewhere convenient and clean to lay my head for a few nights. I was visiting the city to view Amaluna as well as visit family. Trying to find a midway point between San Francisco and Vallejo was getting challenging until........I found this little gem. The new face lift made excellent improvements on the hotel. The facility was beautiful. The angels that work the desk were awesome. Please forgive me I have forgotten the name of the hostess ( her daughter was studying for a Mandarin exam) that was one of the most genuinely nice people I've ever met. Breakfast was a nice addition to my stay.

The convenience of the location is ridiculous. Freeway accessible, shopping and dining within walking distance, and a nice stroll by the marina wasn't to bad either. This is my new go to spot upon my return visits. Traveling with multiple generations can sometimes be difficult when it comes to overall experience. Not with this wonder. The peace and quiet of the hotel suited the elders (my father and his mate), while the younger traveler ( myself) enjoyed the nightlife of the nearby dining establishments.

Let's vote, all in favor of returning .......unanimous!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divineinte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear divineinte, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. I am so glad to hear you call our hotel "a little gem". The property has a great location and easy and off on ramps in all directions. We are finishing up the last touches on our renovation and you can't say enough about the staff.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you back real soon.

Let me know if there is anything I can do.

Sincerely

Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The room had a great view, was clean, bed comfy (air adjustable), had been recently remodeled and the entire stay was very pleasant. The staff was extremely pleasant & helpful from service to front desk. Lots of great food nearby, Peets, transportation etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Toni H, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff was very helpful. We have a lot of great team members working here and they are very concerned about your satisfaction. So if you ever need something, please stop by the front desk or call them and they will help you out any way they can.

Thank you for business.

Sincerely

Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel was very modern. Large room with nice amenities. Functional business center with 3 computers and a printer. Nice fitness center with a walking trail near by. A good bar with a friendly bartender. Front desk staff was accommodating with things in the area and scheduling a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Keith S, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. I am so glad you are enjoying our "New" hotel. We will be 100% complete this week and our guest are loving it.

I hope to see you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

great clean rooms with helpful staff. Hilton hotels is my only choice of hotel. they always are willing to help. Specially the employees at the Hilton Garden Inn. great location easy access to San Fran. older hotel but well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Prashan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Prashan, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. This might be an older property, but with the new renovation we are just now finishing, it looks like a brand new hotel with the best views in town. And as you mentioned we also have a great staff willing to go out of their way to assist in any way they can.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Address: 1800 Powell St, Emeryville, CA 94608-1808 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge is nestled on the waterfront at the foot of the historic San Francisco Bay Bridge in Emeryville, CA and boasts panoramic views of the Berkeley Hills and the San Francisco Bay. The hotel is conveniently located minutes from Berkeley, San Francisco, and Oakland and offers complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge Hotel Emeryville
Hilton Garden Inn Emeryville
Emeryville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing