We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one flaw and it was probably temporary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I use the Amtrak station in Emeryville when visiting relatives in Berkeley. I do not have a car so the fact that the Hotel has a shuttle to and from the train is a real plus for me. The hotel itself is fine, room is fine, breakfast is good. Staff were helpful. When I returned from visiting an ill relative I must have looked upset because the front desk staff were extremely warm. They offered to comp me a breakfast and asked if there was anything they could do. So what was the one flaw? The shuttle was not available the morning I left which I understand...they probably should have paid for the cab!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear MWH31, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. Our team members are trained to deliver high levels of customer service. It was good to hear, that a team member saw you were not as they seen you before and wanted to reach out to make you happy. I hope it worked.

As far as transportation, we have limited service with our shuttle van, but there is also the Emeryville Go Around, which is a free shuttle provided by the city of Emeryville. We can also get you a cab at your request. Although we do provide transportation service in a 3 mile radius, we don't guarentee that it is available at all times. So sorry, this is an expense that you will have to consume.

Thank you for your business and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is nice enough, but two gentlemen displayed the worst customer service I've seen in a long time, both during our check-in and a week after the trip. We were there with a large group and were told by one of the hotel clerks that we had cancelled one of our four rooms. We knew we didn't, but he insisted repeatedly that it was our fault. Luckily, after 45 minutes, another hotel employee found the error (it was the clerk we had been speaking to who incorrectly cancelled the room). The error was not the problem, it was the attitude of the clerk - very rude and accusatory. The same type of customer service was displayed about a week later when one of the people in our group was called by another gentleman from the hotel and told that she hadn't paid for her room and was told several times that she "screwed up". That, again, was not the case - the hotel misplaced her paperwork and was going to bill the incorrect party. Very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Clinst, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. I also appreciate you calling me to give me details about your visit. We take these issues very seriously and we have taken steps to resolve these types of issues. I personally dealt with the team members involved. Again, I apologize for the treatment you received from two of my team members. If you ever come back to the area, please stop by to see me so we can make things right.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I used up some of the free points with Hilton on this stay on 3/8/13. It was a welcome quiet room as I requested. The room was clean and comfortable. I went to breakfast and only wanted an orange/croissant/coffee and they were very accomodating, especially the man who showed me to my table early on 3/9/13. Parking is $15/night to be aware of, which is less expensive than SF Hilton at $53/night. It's a very convenient drive over the Bay Bridge to San Francisco if you need to be in SF early in the morning. I'd stay here again. The room was smaller than other Hilton Garden Inns where I've stayed, but it didn't bother me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Mary R, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We always appreciate accurate details about our guest stay. As I mentioned with another guest, our parking rates are nothing compared to the city. Make sure you use all our amenities and enjoy our cookies in the lobby.

Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great option for the bay area, especially if you have a car. The rooms are clean and well-sized, it has a fitness room and small jacuzzi outside. The views are nice and even though you have to pay for parking, which is annoying, when you add that to the price of the room you still come out with a good deal. It's 10 minutes from Central Oakland and very accessible to the bay bridge-so easy drive to SF.

Room Tip: Bay side is nicer but if you want to save the extra dollars, you'll still have a nice view on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliswonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Aliswonder, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We really do appreciate the comment about the parking. It is minimul and only helps to pay for the up keep, security and it also keeps others out of our lots. Not to mention that the prices of parking across the bridge is 3 and 4 times more than we charge. We are the best value around!

We appreciate your business and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The service was perfect. The stay was magical. Breakfast was great. Internet Strong. Room perfectly designed and spacious. Coffee, etc in the room were convenient and the fridge. Workout facilities was top-notch. Convenient to everything.

Room Tip: The rooms are very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Steve M Littleton, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We have never been discribed as magical, but we sincerely appreciate it. We do have a great team that cares about your stay and comfort. We hope you come back and see us soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn Hotel is strategically located near major transportation corridors serving the greater Bay Area. The front desk and restaurant service staff were superb. They were attentive, helpful, and very accommodating. The rooms were well-appointed and furnished. If you reserve a room there, be sure to request a Bay side room. The rooms facing the freeway are subject to traffic noise that will bother light sleepers. The hotel did provide multicolored Lase Light foam earplugs to counter the noise.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the bay. The view is quite spectacular in the evening, especially with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Dr Spartan 58, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. You said it all, great location, great amenities with a great staff. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here one night while attending a conference. I was impressed by the size of the room, the cleanliness and how well maintained the hotel is. The bathroom had a nice granite counter, granite shower, and a curved shower curtain bar to keep the wet shower curtain from rubbing against you. The king sized bed was surprisingly comfortable and i slept well the first night, which hardly ever happens. The lobby is open with lots of comfortable furniture. They also had free cookies at the front desk. The conference room on the top floor has a spectacular view from all windows. My room on the fourth floor had a partial view of an adjacent building and a partial view of the bay. The view from the high floors are spectacular. All in all, this is a good choice and this could be a less expensive alternative to a San Francisco hotel.

Room Tip: I'd advise paying a little more for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Dr Dadrwp, thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We appreciate you describing your room and your stay. Don't forget the great location as well with just as great amenities such as free internet service.

We appreciate your business and your comments.

Hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
4.7 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge

Address: 1800 Powell St, Emeryville, CA 94608-1808 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: $107 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge is nestled on the waterfront at the foot of the historic San Francisco Bay Bridge in Emeryville, CA and boasts panoramic views of the Berkeley Hills and the San Francisco Bay. The hotel is conveniently located minutes from Berkeley, San Francisco, and Oakland and offers complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge Hotel Emeryville
Hilton Garden Inn Emeryville
Emeryville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing