We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and convienent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This Hilton is on Powell Street, adjacent to the freeway and close to the newly developed Emeryville shopping centers. AAA rates made it that much more attractive than the other options in the area.

The room is your standard hotel room, a bit narrow but deep. There is a small refrigerator outside that also contains a tray with the coffee maker, a welcome departure from the bathroom coffee maker set up (which is gnarly IMO). Sundries and snack items can be purchased downstairs or walk across the street to Trader Joes if you want to have water or snacks for your stay. The bed was a king, comfortable, with an assortment of different pillows, though the requisite divots in the mattress where people have slept are there. Hotels really should flip the mattresses to prevent this. No stains, clean bathroom (which used fluorescent fixtures so the light was on the harsh side, and no light in the shower either), Neutrogena and Bath & Bodyworks toiletries, and a Philips flat screen TV (32" I think) were present. The channel selection is on the thin side but the complimentary wired and wireless internet covered that gap. Finally, a chain that understands that people don't want to pay and extra $12- $25/day for internet! Thank you Hilton!

The location is convenient to SF if you are driving, though if you are relying on BART the nearest station is about 1 mile away. There is a Trader Vics restaurant down the street from the hotel and a waterfront Chinese restaurant at the end of Powell in the marina area, quite nice. And of course you have the typical offerings in the Emeryville center such as PF Changs and chain store shopping.

Overall the hotel is a nice bargain - 2 nights here will be equal or less than 1 night in SF, and if you are in the East Bay it can't be beat. Hotel staff was nice & parking (there is a charge for self parking, $10/day I believe) is available. This Garden Inn is a nice bargain and alternative to the pricey hotels of SF and in a much nicer neighborhood that the neighboring Oakland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the freeway. Despite the nicely insulated windows and curtains tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSpinnaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We appreciate the detailed account of your visit. A few things I wanted to clarify. Our king beds are not your regular mattresses. They are the Hilton Garden Inn Sleep System. The mattress is composed of air filled pockets of air that you as the guest can adjust to softer or firmer feel. If ever you need assistance, please call the front desk to ensure it is working properly.

This week we are changing our TVs in our rooms to a 37" LG Flat Pannel HD TVs. In addition to this upgrade, we now have an upgraded internet service and as always it is completely free.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here while on a trip to San Francisco with my family. There where six of us, so we needed two rooms and cost was an issue. The Hilton Garden Inn in Emeryville was a fantastic choice. They are within minutes of the city, the staff was knowledgable, friendly and very helpful. The rooms were very nice and the beds comfortable. The price was great at just a little over $100 per room per night - I felt like it was a deal. Parking was $10 per night, which was okay. We found the brunch to be delicious, but a bit pricey. However there is a Denny's a block away if you want something less expensive. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Annsianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We appreciate your business and we strive to being a price valued hotel. Our location is great with great amenities.

Thank you for your business and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Parking now up to $10 a night. Some rooms have amazing views. Others don't. Busy, so check in rushed and inelegant/impersonal. Oops, the woman at the desk forgot our HH Gold breakfast coupons. Breakfast fine, but I remember being impressed last time. Nice gym. Good location. Right on bay, near walking trails, a great pizza place (get the Olympic!), and good views. Convenient. Amazing? Decent Hilton Garden.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We are disappointed to hear that you did not receive the same great service you received on your previous visit. We do have some new personnel on staff and we are continuing to work and train with the entire team to ensure we have the very best service and we stay consistant. We recently promoted a manager to our front desk manager position and I am confident that on your next visit we are back to our normal exceptional service. If for any reason, you do not receive great service, please look me up so I can personally resolve any concerns.

We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

You have a car
You have a confirmed bay view room before you arrive, otherwise you will enjoy the views of the Shell garage roof on the other side
You don't want to order lunch after 1pm, it finishes then
You dont expect to have a safe in your room!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. I need to shed some light on how easy it is to get to our hotel with or without a car. The Bart is about 2 miles away. The city of Emeryville provides the Emery Go Around which is a free shuttle all around Emeryville. We also have a shuttle that goes to the Bart on a regular bases. And if you still need to take a cab, it is inexpensive. We also have the Amtrac train station that is two blocks away with the same transportation options, plus you can walk to the train. Oakland Airport, you will need to take a cab and it runs around $50-60 one way trip. But again you have other airport shuttles that will bring you here for much less.

We do provide breakfast, lunch and dinner at the property. Lunch does stop at 1pm and reopens at 5pm. We have our pantry that is open 24 hours a day that provides snacks, sandwiches, frozen foods that you can heat in your microwave in your room and of course some candy.

The property also offers safe deposit boxes at the front desk if you want to secure any valuables.

The hotel faces the Berkeley Hills and the back side faces the Bay and the SF sky lines. Yes there is a gas station near by that is not a preferred view, but looking past that you do have great views of the Berkeley Hills. We have guest that prefer both sides.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you back soon. I like to ensure that all the facts are presented and guest get the true picture of our property.

Please stop by and say hello on your next visit.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great hotel. Clean, comfy, and staff very pleasant and accommodating. We landed in Oakland Airport and rented a car, so driving into San Fran was easy from the hotel. Great option when you don't want to pay san fran city prices. I paid a little extra for skyline view of San Fran, which was nice. Also paid ahead for breakfast, which was very good. Lots of food options. King bed was comfy, room had micro and mini fridge. Wifi was included. Secure parking was $10/night. The only negative I can think of would be that the elevators were slow or possibly out of order. I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoVamominator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We are continuing to improve the property and the elevators are part of it. In the near future the elevators will be moderized. Other great projects in the hotel is we are currently doing a lighting retro fit that will brighten up the hallways. Next week we will be installing 37" Flat Screen TV's in all the rooms.

This is a great place to stay and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is located on the east side of the Bay Bridge. It is as close to San Francisco as you can get without staying in the City. You also will like this location if you are visiting U.C. Berkeley. True to the Hilton brand, this hotel is well maintained with comfortable beds. My room had a little refrigerator, free wifi, and a coffeemaker. There is secured parking onsite that costs $10.00 a night. There are nice trails that boarder the bay if you are a runner or walker. Just the other side of Hwy 80 from the hotel is a lovely shopping area called Bay Street. You also have easy access to a cool food court at the Public Market that you can find any type of food you desire in a casual and energetic atmosphere.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces Highway 80, if you prefer a quieter room ask for one on the side facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAS8721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We agree with everything you said!

We appreciate your business and hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed at this hotel a few times and always am treated well by staff. The rooms are very comfortable. The beds can be programmed for soft/firmness and the beds linens waste nice and fluffy towels. And each room has fridge and microwave. Also I love the location, it is just outside of San Francisco with easy access to the city. There are a lot if restraints and shops near hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwildlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal_soto, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge. We appreciate you being a repeat guest of ours. We continue to have improvements in the hotel and I would like your opinion on them. What do you think about the new internet service? Currently we are doing a lighting retro fit project that you will immediately notice in the hallways. Also, coming next week are new 37" Flat Screen TV's.

We value your opinion and would like to hear back from you.

Sincerely

Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
4.7 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge

Address: 1800 Powell St, Emeryville, CA 94608-1808 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: $106 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge is nestled on the waterfront at the foot of the historic San Francisco Bay Bridge in Emeryville, CA and boasts panoramic views of the Berkeley Hills and the San Francisco Bay. The hotel is conveniently located minutes from Berkeley, San Francisco, and Oakland and offers complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge Hotel Emeryville
Hilton Garden Inn Emeryville
Emeryville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing