We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't care about you here!”
Review of Bucci's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bucci's
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“They don't care about you here!”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Been going often hoping for different results. Food is good, owner not friendly at all, even ignored us when we were the only one eating there by reading a newspaper at the bar. Why own a restaurant if you truly show no passion or appreciation. Had a bad meal recently, called the following Monday to complain, leaving a message for the owner. Never received a call back. Never again, and my business is nearby I often took clients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corbufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    11
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A neighborhood gem that's worth some travel”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Nestled nicely in a brick building with a 1900s industrial field, Bucci's is my favorite Emeryville restaurant. From its open kitchen comes soul satisfying food. From Pizza to the day’s fresh catch, every dish is cooked to exacting standards. The bar attracts a crowd of all ages - not too sedate - not too boisterous. Try the Sapori Forti - goat cheese and anchovies on the best piping hot bread imaginable. Bucci's wine list exhibits a professional restaurateur’s knowledge of the better values in wine. On a summer day have lunch on the patio. You won’t be sorry.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C2000Consulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A comfortable Italian bistro with a great bar”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We wish Bucci's was in our neighborhood; it is our favorite neighborhood restaurant--good food (pizza, steak, pasta, chicken--excellent fish); makes the best homemade hot fudge and hot caramel sundaes. Interesting wine list, good, moderate bottles/glasses. We also love the artistic, comfortable atmosphere. AND excellent bar. We often share dishes as portions are generous.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
“Service was insulting”
Reviewed August 24, 2008

My husband chose Bucci's to surprise me for anniversary dinner. He'd never been, but liked the looks of it from driving by during an evening.

We walked in (it was during the week), somewhat busy, stood at the reception area, waited, waited, waited - several waiters/waitresses pased us but never took the second to greet us and let us know when we'd be seated, but we waited some more, then after which my husband went up to the bar and told the lady at the register that we'd like a table.

She unapologetically told us someone would be right with us, and after about a total of 10 minutes, we walked out without anyone taking a minute to let us know when we migh be seated, even if at all.
This actually happend about a year ago, but we just drove by it this evening, and it reminded us of how awful our anniversary dinner started, but ended very nicely after a wonderful dinner at a restaurant where the people were actually respectful to their customers.

We in fact called the restaurant the day after this happened, and as it turned out, the lady at the register was the Owner. She went through the motions of offering an apology, but I wasn't convinced.

Our experience with Bucci's is inexcusable.

Helpful?
Thank tripyek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“this place has gone downhill in the last ten years”
Reviewed June 28, 2008

this place has gone downhill in the last ten years

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucci's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing