We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rates fluctuate by the hour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rates fluctuate by the hour”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is average, nothing special but clean and convenient for Amtrack travel. One night was 329 the next 285 and the third 100! I try not to stay places where they change the rates so drastically based on availability in the area.

Room Tip: Call ahead and use every discounting acronym you can think of AAA, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHM757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    388
    158
    50
    37
See reviews for
539
239
63
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Hotel looks nice from the outside, but when you look a bit closer, things are startring to fall apart.

As was mentioned in previous posts, the carpets are really stained. Not dirty necessarily (as I found the hotel to be immaculate), but stained. Also, everything about the hotel is old - circa 1985. Bathroom fixtures, shower stalls, shower heads, televisions furniture, etc. The place just needs a major overhaul.

That said, the rooms are VERY big with sleeping for 4 (in a King room) and easily room for 2 more on air mattresses. There is also a full kitchen which is nice for long stays. There are also 2 TVs (1985 20" models with a built-in VCR...woohoo!!!), 1 in the bedroom, and 1 in the living room. The bed was on the soft side, but fairly comfortable. Internet was decent, but variable.

They are are about 3 miles from the closest BART station, and although they do offer a shuttle, it only runs on the half-hour from 7-10 am and 4-7 pm. There is also a city shuttle (Emery go Round), but I usually ended up taking a cab to the BART station. Also, the BART station does not appear to be in the nicest part of town, so waiting for a shuttle at night may be a little iffy (not the hotel's fault...just mentioning it). All in all, if you are staying here and have plans to go into SF (or anywhere outside of Emeryville), this is not the best place to stay unless you have a car (and parking is free!)

Finally, the staff was very friendly, and they provided very good customer service. Breakfast was ok, (eggs, breakfast meat, potatoes, pancakes/waffles,etc., fruit, juices, hot & cold cereal mini-muffins & bread/bagels), although the commercially mass produced white and "wheat" bread, english muffins and bagels left a whole lot to be desired. Food in the restaurant for lunch/dinner (same as the room service menu) was not very good at all.

Note that my "value" rating of 1 was based on the fact that they were sold out, and charged me $299 a night...definitely not a $300/night hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We got to the hotel after midnight because of a late flight. There was plenty of free parking and check in was smooth. The room was large with a kitchenette and living room area. We were exhausted and got to bed as soon as possible. Five hours later, just before 6 am the smoke alarm in the living room goes off with an ear splitting beeping. We fought it for five minutes or so before calling the desk. They brought up a new battery which seemed to fix it. But it didn't fix the fact I couldn't fall back asleep and am now trying to get by on 5 hours of sleep.
On check out we complained to the manager. She offered us hotel points but we do not have access to a Hyatt back home, so they would have been worthless to us. She then offered to take about 20% off of our bill. I guess that more or less made it right.
The carpet did have some stains and was worn out. The shower had great water pressure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

While the best offering in the area - this hotel is definitely in need of an upgrade and some major improvements. My suite featured worn and stained carpets with cigarette burns (despite being a non-smoking hotel ---- and having to sign a waiver at check-in specifying as much), worn furniture (threadbare in spots), a couch that also included the bonus cigarette holes, and a very old technology television whose picture was fuzzy at best. These same amenities were also present in each of the three other rooms our group booked.

Now this hotel is close to the UC-Berkeley campus and obviously gets abused by local and visiting fans during football season. I understand this (and even expect a LITTLE bit of "roughness"). But I also have higher expectations for a Hyatt property --- and this one, sadly, disappoints.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank euroschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from Amtrak trip and used this hotel prior night before trip. Great location, can walk to train station. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

Our room was great no issues, bed comfortable, only thing we noticed is carpet needs replacing it had some stains.

Our room faced train tracks, but after about 10:00 pm no train noise until next morning so we did not find this an issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhkimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've never seen carpets like these. Covered in dark spots. Can't walk on carpet with barefeet. Don't understand how they can charge these prices with carpets like this. Other than that the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Was a little nervous about staying here after reading trip advisor but WOW! Firstly, the staff who greeted us ( jessics & uffe) so friendly and helpful! Secondly, the room, we were blown away by how big it was, on a 12 night stay we could really settle in and feel at home. The location couldnt have been any more perfect for us as we needed to see a lot of the area, not just san Francisco. Lovely breakfast. I really cant speak highly enough, we had a perfect holiday!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwright73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area

Property: HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Address: 5800 Shellmound Way, Emeryville, CA 94608-1912 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel (completed May of 2015) is located at the foot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge near Oakland and Berkeley, California. Hyatt House Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area is within five miles of University of California Berkeley. Enjoy the beautiful views over the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Bay Street Emeryville Mall and MacArthur BART station. Emeryville offers a wide variety of retail venues and shopping destinations. The Bay Street Mall, East BayBridge Shopping Center and The Emeryville Public Market are all within a short distance from the Hyatt House. During your stay, you will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home, and our knowledgeable Front Desk Hosts are available 24 hours a day to assist with your requests. In addition, the H BAR welcomes travelers 7 days a week from 5pm -10pm, offering our new Sip+Savor Menu, featuring home-cooked comforts including gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new apps like the Tomato Mozzy Bread and more. A full bar is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Woodfin Hotel Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing