We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People are the difference!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night prior to taking the Amtrak train from California to Chicago. The hotel was very convenient to the Amtrak station. There was a bridge from the hotel parking lot to the train station. The hotel was close to shopping and restaurants. What made the difference for me was the staff at the hotel. They were very friendly and helpful. They greeted by name every time I passed through the lobby. One front desk member walked me to the gym to make sure I could find it easily. I stay at a number of hotels for business and pleasure and the staff here really made the difference.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We wanted separate sleeping quarters for our daughter and the one-bedroom accommodations filled the bill with a pull-out sofa in the living room. A small kitchen with fridge was adequate for a few essentials during our four-day stay. Breakfast was included, adequate, better than most free breakfasts. While our business was in the East Bay, this hotel would certainly be a more spacious and inexpensive alternative to one in San Francisco. The hotel provides free car service to the BART station.

Room Tip: The "bayside" rooms cost a bit more but are away from the Amtrak station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBCinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Whenever I visit family in the East Bay I always stay here (even when it was Woodfin Suites). The service is terrific, the full breakfast in the AM can't be beat, the gym is good enough and the pool is a nice touch in the summer months.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LessWork M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I visit the Berkeley area frequently to visit family. This is by far my favorite hotel in the area. (Have also stayed at Courtyard by Marriott, Holiday Inn Express, Doubletree, Hotel Shattuck Plaza, and a hotel right next to the Cal campus which shall not be named.) The suites are large, with a kitchenette, sitting area, large bedroom, and large bathroom. I was surprised to see how small the TVs were, although they worked fine. There was a DVD player which we did not use. I have had rooms on both the train side and the bay side of the hotel and I prefer the train side. We enjoy watching the trains come and go and the soundproofing is so good that we barely notice the noise when the sliding glass door is closed. (We are sound sleepers, though. If you're a light sleeper you should probably opt for the bay side.) Wifi and parking are both free - I hate paying for either! Didn't really like the bathroom toiletries but the beds are very comfy.

The included breakfast isn't fancy, but it's adequate and all I really want is oatmeal, fruit, and coffee anyway. There are also scrambled eggs, some breakfast meat, yogurt, cold cereal, English and mini muffins, bagels, and toast.

The location is excellent, right next to shops at the Emeryville Public Market and a short walk from the Bay Street shopping area and a very nice walking/biking trail next to the Bay.

The staff here is noticeably friendly. We walked past the front desk many times a day and were greeted by someone each and every time. The housekeeping staff were attentive and prompt in their room servicing.

I am done sampling the area hotels. I plan to make this my NorCal home!

Room Tip: If night noise bothers you, ask for the bay side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank threekidmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff at the Hyatt House was great. When I checked in, they gave me a number of options for local resturants that deliver as well which ones they frequent. The staff - great job on all fronts - check in, check out and at breakfast.
My room was spacious, just dated. If fell a touch below expectation, but I had a wonderful nights sleep in a very clean room. TV was smaller and not flat screen, but did the job.
Carpets need upgrading - an observation, not a reason not to stay.

Room Tip: The east side of the hotel has its back to the Emeryville Amtrak stop. Stay on the other side. Fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank bchalonergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family stayed here on an overnight trip to the Bay area. Excellent customer service throughout, from check-in to breakfast. The complimentary breakfast surprised me - plenty of fresh fruit and enough variety to satisfy the picky eaters in my family. The hotel is also close to the Public Market Emeryville for quick and cheap dining. The train does run along the back of the hotel, so if you're a light sleeper, you might want to reconsider. In my opinion, though, the noise was minimal. Would consider this hotel again when in the Bay area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel! The suites come with everything that you need and if there is something that you are requesting calling the front desk is efficient & the request is fulfilled immediately! Jennifer at the front desk was super nice! Her customer service was spectacular & she even called up to the room to make sure that I was pleased with the room! Never experienced that! Anyway we will definitely stay here again!
Ohhhh and get a room on the bay side view! It is amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrustDom1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
3.1 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area

Address: 5800 Shellmound Way, Emeryville, CA 94608-1912 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: $172 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel (completed May of 2015) is located at the foot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge near Oakland and Berkeley, California. Hyatt House Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area is within five miles of University of California Berkeley. Enjoy the beautiful views over the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Bay Street Emeryville Mall and MacArthur BART station. Emeryville offers a wide variety of retail venues and shopping destinations. The Bay Street Mall, East BayBridge Shopping Center and The Emeryville Public Market are all within a short distance from the Hyatt House. During your stay, you will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home, and our knowledgeable Front Desk Hosts are available 24 hours a day to assist with your requests. In addition, the H BAR welcomes travelers 7 days a week from 5pm -10pm, offering our new Sip+Savor Menu, featuring home-cooked comforts including gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new apps like the Tomato Mozzy Bread and more. A full bar is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Woodfin Hotel Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing