We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emeryville Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for 4 days and loved it. The free breakfast really helps save money and it offered a lot of food. The staff was very nice I just wish I had noticed that they allowed pets, however they didnt bother us. The view could have been better, but in turn there is easy access to downtown San Fran. The free bus is across the street and takes you right to the BART.

Room Tip: Free parking was nice considering every where else is so expensive. Higher floors have scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were in the middle of a cross country train trip and spent a quick overnight here. We arrived around 11pm on the Amtrak train from LA and had to catch the 9am train to Denver. The hotel was only a short distance from the station via an elevated walkway (with elevators) that crossed the tracks. It was a newer building in immaculate condition. Our only complaint - the shortest route into the hotel was via the back door (from the parking lot). It was locked, so we had to trudge around the rather large building with suitcases to enter on the front door. Possibly because I was grumbling to the front desk clerk about it we got a king suite on the top floor with a view of the Bay. Very nice and the rate was reasonable for the area. The included breakfast was also a step or two above the usual complimentary hotel breakfasts. We would definitely use this again on another train trip (which was excellent).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a top floor on the bay side. You'll get a great view of San Francisco bay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palmland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Decided to try this Hyatt after the last two hotels I stayed at in Emeryville were unacceptable. This was the correct decision! The room was large, the King Sized bed comfortable, it is within walking distance to Bay Street shopping, and the view of SF was great. To garner an excellent rating, management needs to pay more attention to details, particularly cleanliness. Nothing too bad, but scuffed paint, streaks on the windows, stains on the hall carpet, etc drop it down a notch.

Room Tip: Ask for a SF view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBJPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here two nights on our vacation to California. We traveled via Amtrak and this is so close to the station - literally across the street. Also close to Enterprise rent a car which I also recommend. The room was clean and spacious. They have a nice looking outdoor pool. Free breakfast was very good. Free wifi and good service from the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was very satisfied with my recent stay at the Hyatt House. After looking at the pictures on line, I was unsure if every room had a separate "living room" and kitchen area. However they did! The room was very clean and the beds were comfy.

There is a train that runs right next to the hotel I was concerned that it would keep me up all night but you barely hear it when the sliding patio door is closed.

My only complaint was at the front desk. We had at 1:30pm which we knew was earlier than check in. None of the rooms were available yet, which was fine. However no one at the front desk seemed to care to try to find a room in time. We had also told them to call us when one was ready due to the fact that we needed to get ready for an event at 3:30pm. No one ever called us. We happened to get lunch, come back and ask the front desk, and low and behold, a room was ready and they hadn't told us. Not a huge deal, but it was a little frustrating when we were under a time constraint.

Aside from the front desk experience, we had a very pleasant stay and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Although this hotel does not have any unique character, it does have more than one good thing to write home about. Our mini suite was large and clean. The living room furniture was a little worn out but the stove equipped kitchen and the bathroom were adequate.

The hotel features a very clean kid friendly pool, hot tub and a small gym. It's not a fancy pool with a view but the size is good and it's near the hotel bar.

At the time we stayed all guests received complimentary buffet style breakfast. The food is pretty good and the staff are friendly.

Location is perhaps the best thing about this hotel. The surrounding blocks are a little bit 9-5, but the neighborhood seems safe. It's only a short drive or a bike ride from Berkeley, and it's right next to Bay Bridge for a short drive to San Francisco. Oakland airport is probably no more than 10 minutes away by car. People with kids can tease their children telling them the Pixar animation studio is around the corner, but sorry, no tours are available.

When booking make sure you get a room on the west side. Freight trains rumble late into the evening on the east side. This may not be much of a nuisance if your room is on the upper floors.

Room Tip: Avoid the east side. Noisy trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lazybum02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our family was staying here while visiting family. We stayed in a single bedroom with two doubles and a kitchen. We would have preferred two queens since one child sleeps all over the bed but that is not available at the hotel. The daily breakfast was good with the usual fare. The kids enjoyed the heated pool. And the price we paid with the Costco discount was decent. Lots of free parking. My only complaint was that every evening when we returned to our room, we always smelled the food someone had cooked in their kitchen a few rooms down and the smell wasn't pleasant.

Be sure to bring your own lotion since it was not provided in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamahOF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
3.1 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area

Address: 5800 Shellmound Way, Emeryville, CA 94608-1912 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: $157 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel (completed May of 2015) is located at the foot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge near Oakland and Berkeley, California. Hyatt House Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area is within five miles of University of California Berkeley. Enjoy the beautiful views over the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Bay Street Emeryville Mall and MacArthur BART station. Emeryville offers a wide variety of retail venues and shopping destinations. The Bay Street Mall, East BayBridge Shopping Center and The Emeryville Public Market are all within a short distance from the Hyatt House. During your stay, you will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home, and our knowledgeable Front Desk Hosts are available 24 hours a day to assist with your requests. In addition, the H BAR welcomes travelers 7 days a week from 5pm -10pm, offering our new Sip+Savor Menu, featuring home-cooked comforts including gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new apps like the Tomato Mozzy Bread and more. A full bar is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Woodfin Hotel Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing